We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport to your Saves list
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Airpark Drive | Airport Oaks, Mangere 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Shoeburyness
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stopped here for two nights (not consecutive) whilst touring NZ. Arrived and left from Auckland, hence this hotel. Arrived very late on the first night and the staff were excellent. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. On our second night we were given a free breakfast! Only slight downside is the lack of eating facilities either in the hotel or locally. Very easy to find from the airport with the hire car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are pleased to hear that your stay met your needs, that you found our rooms were clean and comfortable and that you were met with friendly staff.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    358
    126
    43
    28
See reviews for
177
356
66
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krasang, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here before and liked it and the same this time - it is very clean with spacious comfortable rooms and the service very good. We slept so good here that we missed the breakfast !!!! We will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We also think that we are great place to stay, we offer comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation options, a convenient free shuttle service and welcome all of our travellers with a friendly smile. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed overnight at bella vista, the hotel is a short shuttle drive away, check in went smoothly, i had a basic room which was very clean. There isnt a restaurant there as such however they have a small bar area in the foyer which provides basic meals and beverages. Whilst i didnt eat there, it always smelt of deep fried fatty food (like when you drive past a KFC...). There is a pub in walking distance, around 5 min walk, there are also some outlet shops near by too - Ice Breaker is one of them.

Whilst i was traveling with a group the location was fine, the room was basic and clean and cheap. I didnt actually eat there, some people in my group had the breakfast which looked okay. The people at the front counter were friendly, the shuttle drivers perhaps not so friendly.

If i needed to stay closer to the airport i would probably stay at Novotel which is across the road from international airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are located within 3km of Auckland Airport and offer a 24 hour scheduled shuttle service, we are an express product that offers hotel standard accommodation without the trimmings thus allowing us to keep our prices down offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation options. We are pleased to hear that most staff you encountered were friendly and appreciate knowing when we do a good job and when we need to make improvements.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I used this hotel for a layover. Price was very affordable and free shuttle from airport was efficient. Room was nothing special, though larger than most. Quiet in room but for minimal, muffled street noise. Nothing useful within walking distance, though other shuttles available to places of interest. There is also a pool and spa available, but I never went to check them out. Signs of wear and tear. Elevator nearest to my room wasn't working. There was a jacuzzi tub, but no way to plug the drain to use it. (though I wouldn't rule out this being operator error) Overall, ideal for the short stays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport, we are delighted to hear that your stay met your needs and that your found our product to be good value for money. We appreciate knowing when we get things right.

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were flying out early the next morning so excellent for over night stops. Free shuttle bus even at 4.40am. Room double & single bed with tea & coffee making facilities. Clean. Pleasant staff. Only fault is we had a bar meal and it was so cold in that seating area every time the hotel doors opened the cold wind blew in. Good basic meal. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are pleased to note that the majority of your stay met your needs and expectations, as an express hotel product, we offer hotel standard accommodation without the trimmings that allows us to provide an affordable airport accommodation solution. We will take note of your comments in regards to the doors and can assure you that this is something we are addressing. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

had a interview close to airport so was great location but hidden away in the industrial area where you wouldnt think a hotel is but not a bad thing - nice and quiet. Very close to airport and free shuttle to and from was a bonus esp late night arrivals, just call and picked up within 10mins. no complaints, staff were nice to hold my luggage for a few hours, not too close to city or food outlets but if you have a car thats not a problem. but overall experience was great. would stay again if i need somewhere close to airport again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport and for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us met your needs and expectations. We hope that your interview went well to top off your stay with us!

Kind regards

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night arriving in at 11pm after a 14 hour flight from South America . We were told that as soon as we arrived to phone and the shuttle bus would be there to pick us up. We did this and were told to wait outside and the shuttle would be 5 minutes. We did this in the cold and it took thirty minutes to arrive. We then sat in the shuttle for a further 10 minutes in the cold waiting for other guests. The driver then got underway. It was only a short drive to the Bella Vista but we all had to endure the horrible Indian music that was been played on the radio. Upon arrival we had to wait other fifteen minutes to get our room key. We were also moved from our original room to one that was next to the motor way so got no sleep at all. The room was average size and first floor. The bathroom was clean though. Front desk was a joke and not very helpful and the staff were very hard to understand. We had a continental breakfast included in the price and when we asked if we could pay the difference for the full breakfast we were told that we had to pay the full price over and above the one we had already paid for. The continental breakfast was a joke as well and not what we would expect for the price that they charged. We have stayed in other Bella Vista’s before but have never endured the service that we got from this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport and for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay. We are disappointed to learn that your stay did not meet your needs or expectations and that you found our faciltiies and services below par. If we were given an opportunity to rectify any of the issues you encountered at the time and we were unable to do anything about it, then I wish to extend my deepest apologies. I can understand that as a tired and weary traveler all you want is a welcoming smile and a comfortable nights rest without any hassle. We are usually very good at delivering on both of these. Our shuttle pick up service is sheduled on demand as explained in the shuttle information available from our website, there can be a waiting time of up to half an hour depending upon what time you called for a shuttle. Again we are sorry if this was not communicated clearly. Thank you once again for providing feedback, we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards

Anne Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport

Address: 14 Airpark Drive | Airport Oaks, Mangere 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 5 minutes drive of Auckland International and Domestic Airport, Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport offers a convenient, comfortable, clean, affordable and spacious airport stopover accommodation solution for individuals, families or special interest groups. Other great benefits include FREE local phone calls FREE WI-FI FREE airport shuttle pickups and drop offs, friendly and welcoming yet informal kiwi style hospitality. Our property features an outdoor swimming pool and spa, plenty of onsite parking, conference facilities, a breakfast room and a lobby bar serving light meals and refreshments. For a more subtantial food offering there are several eateries within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Hotel Airport
Ventura Hotel Mangere
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.