We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport

Save Saved
You added Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Airpark Drive | Airport Oaks, Mangere 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Mangere
New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Better than most”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Like most Auckland airport motels and hotels, this is transitory accommodation and makes no pretence to be otherwise. Book-in is slick, as is check-out. The airport shuttle is always on time. There is no pretence at friendly customer relations, but efficiency and quick turnaround are paramount. After all, this is a business based on one-night stands, so caveat emptor prevails, and fair enough. All I needed was a clean comfortable room with reliable transport to my ongoing flights, and that is what I got.
The included breakfast was adequate, if a little shambolic, with undisciplined children creating mayhem. An earlier breakfast time would probably have been better.
The evening snack bar is a good innovation - but watch out for the wine prices. Two glasses of red cost more that the meal.
Overall, having sampled several other similar locations I would prefer Bella Vista. Efficient, no nonsense and precise. If you want loving care and ego stroking, go to Novotel!

Room Tip: First floor room suited us very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at the Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport. We are very much a transitory hotel dealing with overnight guests who fly in and out of Auckand Airport. We believe we are at the top of the mid range 3 star accommodation offering in the Auckland Aiport District and we don't pretend otherwise, we offer clean, comfortable, spacious and affordable accommodation and our team are genuinely friendly. Like you we believe that if it's luxury you are after, then Novotel or our Friends at Sudima at $50 - $100 more a night should be your first choice. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    286
    103
    38
    23
See reviews for
145
283
46
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Good points

Close to airport with free shuttle bus which was prompt, a taxi would cost $40
Beds are comfortable
Rooms and bathroom are large
The staff seem pleasant and polite, we arrived around 1am and they still got us a beer even though the bar was closed.

Bad points
The pool is in the car park...this is not detailed on their website, have uploaded a pic.
The high speed internet (£9.50 24 hours) is slow, very very slow. I had to ask reception to check if they had a problem with connection, they didn’t! There is Wi-Fi in the lobby but we needed the internet to research employment so needed it in our room. It also cut out a number of times so I lost what I was looking at.
The curtains and net curtains in the room are dirty
The aircon in the room didn’t work.
The breakfast room is small and badly organised so feels squashed, the options for food are 3 cereals, bread for toast with some preserves, canned peaches in a bowl and chocolate muffins, not sure which continent this continental breakfast is from but its lacks the ingredients I would associate with a European continental.

Wouldn’t want to come back here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feedback is an important part of our quality assurance and all comments are taken with the view of "How can we do things better"
It was good to see in your review that you highlighted the positives as well as it is also great to know the things we are doing well.

I was disappointed to read your comments about the internet. I can assure you that this is not a common problem and most guest find our internet to be well priced (only $9.50 for 24 hours) and reliable. As you also highlighted we do have free wireless in the lobby area as well as 2 computers guest can access free of charge. I apologise for the difficulties you experience as I know how frustrating this can be. I can assure you that it was a temporary issue and the internet is now running well.
In regards to the breakfast comments I was quite surprised as this is always viewed as a great service considering the value and convenience it adds to your stay. It is not the full continental breakfast you might find when you are paying between $15-$20 per person but the fact that it is complimentary and you can access breakfast from as early as 03.30 in the morning (for those early flights!) we know this is appreciated by the majority of our guests.
Again I would like to thank you for your comments and if you are visiting Auckland Airport again I hope that you give us another opportunity?
All the Best
Dean Nicol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Bella Vista Express Hotel was the perfect place to stay after a long overseas journey. While not the fanciest hotel in Auckland, it was clean, comfortable, and more than adequate for catching a few ZZZs with a fantastic location just down the road from the airport. The staff was friendly and helpful, the internet in the lobby was nice to "re-connect" with the world, and the free breakfast was great to wake up to in the morning. Certainly, a great value near the airport!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were recommended the Bella Vista Express by our Travel Agent for a one night stay before an early am flight. We had a room on the ground floor, just around from the lobby. Reception staff were disinterested to say the least. Issued with a card to get car into park without any explanation that the card expires in 10 minutes so after to-ing and fro-ing with most unhelpful staff we eventually got our vehicle parked in secure parking. Our daughter left her phone charger in our room (remember, this is on the ground floor, just around the corner from reception) so I phoned while we were in the shuttle on our way to the airport and asked the young, thin Indian male at reception if he was able to go to our room and pop the charger behind the counter for us to collect on our return. He said he couldnt do that (despite there being two reception staff) but would leave a message with housekeeping. As expected, when we returned, no phone charger - no note on computer system for housekeeping to get the phone charger either. This was a very simple request that would have made our experience at Bella Vista just a little more bearable. Besides the reception staff (who seriously need some customer service training) the double beds in room 128 were horrible and saggy and the shower/bath area needed de-moulding badly. The driver who collected us on our return nearly made me ill by belching heartily just before the shuttle left the airport and the product (stink!) of his belch was blown into the back of the van. Come on Bella Vista, if you want people to come back, you need to lift your game.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVExpress, Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Hi there

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Obviously I was so disappointed to read of your experience as it appears we have not offered our usual standard of customer service. For that I do offer our sincerest apologies.

Having spoken with a staff member this morning about it she did remember you on your return and advised that she was able to find a charger for you.

However she doesn't remember the exact date and having looked through our system I can't quite work out your booking name/details in order to be able to contact you directly.

Therefore, if you would be able to contact me, gm@bvexpress.co.nz, that would be appreciated as I would certainly like to be able to investigate further. Whilst I can narrow it down to staff it might be, to pinpoint the exact date/time would be helpful.

Thank you again for your comments and once again, our sincerest apologies.
Please be assured we will be following up on this.

Kind regards
Simone Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We needed a hotel close to the airport just for one night, it served us well and we had a free continental breakfast

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

As a family of 4 with 2 boys (age 10 & 13), we travel to NZ every 2 yrs and always stay one night at a hotel at the airport as we fly in late at night. Having tried a number of affordable hotels near the airport, this is by far the best, though I would still rate it 3 star. In my experience, most hotels near the airport are tired and in need of updating. We find the Bella Vista comfortable (the 4 of us share one bedroom with 2 Queen beds), rooms are clean and reasonably modern, the staff are very friendly and helpful, good location not far from the airport, hotel shuttle bus that will transport you to & from the hotel to airport, plus free buffet breakfast (limited selection) which is more than adequate. It is also very affordable and good value and perfect for an overnight stay. Ideal for families.

Room Tip: You may want to request a room not too far from reception as the hotel is quite spread out and you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Arrived at 01.00 at Auckland Airport and the shuttle arrived within 10 minutes. Check in was swift and we were soon showering after an eleven and then a twelve hour flight. Room was clean and modern. Breakfast was help yourself cereal and toast - all we needed.Good value airport hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport

Address: 14 Airpark Drive | Airport Oaks, Mangere 2022, New Zealand (Formerly Bella Vista Express Hotel Auckland Airport)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 5 minutes drive of Auckland International and Domestic Airport, Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport offers a convenient, comfortable, clean, affordable and spacious airport stopover accommodation solution for individuals, families or special interest groups. Other great benefits include FREE local phone calls FREE WI-FI in the lobby FREE airport shuttle pickups and drop offs, friendly and welcoming yet informal kiwi style hospitality. Our property features an outdoor swimming pool and spa, plenty of onsite parking, conference facilities, a breakfast room and a lobby bar serving light meals and refreshments. For a more subtantial food offering there are several eateries within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Hotel Airport
Ventura Hotel Mangere
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.