We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel

Save Saved
You added Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   144 McKenzie Road, Mangere 2150, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Mangere
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in Auckland, booked 2 ajoining rooms. No complaints from us. Rooms are comfortable and you can't pass the value for money.
Very impressed with the customer service, job well done. Our son left a little cuddly toy behind and after nearly two weeks, we contacted the hotel, the staff went out of their way to search the room and they found "Kangi"! Terrific work, our son was so happy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly staff as they are always look after our guest.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    60
    55
    32
    45
See reviews for
54
73
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Qld
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good value for an overnight stay, not meant to be luxury, shuttle bus a great plus, staff were friendly and helpful, restaurant closes about nine. Some condensation in rooms which would not suit those with respiratory problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better.

The condensation was due to continuous rain for last 7 days and the guest who stayed before kept the room open always.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and understand what our motel have to offer rather than traditional hotel rooms.

With Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling and low water pressure. Very small coffee cups so we bought our own. Limited cutlery. Tv was small and the remote was faulty. Poor housekeeping -bed not made properly and linen not changed. Worn bedding.(My wife was a professional house-cleaner once) Disappointing stay in my home neighbourhood after being overseas for 2 years. Details not being addressed.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed away from kids. We could hear children crying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Paratene,

Thank you for your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Head House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have. It would be helpful in rectifying the problem for future guests if you could provide me with your room number. My email is – shalend@vrgroup.co.nz

Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in different rooms in this motel recently a week apart. Had trouble with the showers both times. First time, after about 7 minutes, I finally got a dribble of scalding water if I turned the tap fully that way - if moved at all, it returned to cold. In the 2nd room, the same position of the shower tap went from scalding hot to cold without moving it at all...

Shuttle service is good to have, but only a car is used, so can't take many people at once - this meant we had to go on our 3rd choice of preferred time...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback which is very important for us to improve our service.

Unfortunately your stayed room had blown hot water system at the time of your stay which was repaired next day upon your notification with our reception.

Please accept my apology for this.

Regards
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
448 reviews 448 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night before flying to Bali. We had booked two rooms, 1 for my husband and I and 1 for friends. Our room wasn't too bad apart from dirty looking bedcover. But other room had similar bedcover and bathroom was in a terrible condition. Water damage to walls etc. Holes! Also even tho there was a security bar on window, when open it could still be accessed to open ranch slider! Also not happly with shuttle service. We had booked for 6am following morning, only for it to leave earlier and take one other person so that we couldn't get on it! Told to wait for them to come back. Thankfully another company was called to come and get us, after I complained. Then on arrival back in NZ, I phoned for pick up, gave names etc. We went to gate to meet them and they picked other people not us! Another heated moment! But we had to wait yet again! Overall not happy with this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking out your time on comment on your recent stay with us.

You had raise lot of issues which is a concern to me.Could you please email me your booking details on manager@aucklandkiwimotel.co.nz so that I can get the exact room wherein you stayed to have these issues attended.

Unfortunately our shuttle bus had a accident so have to replace 7 seated van which could not able to accommodate the demand on peak time.

Please accept my apology for your experience.

Regards
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel had been recommended to us by friends, at the low price I was not expecting much, but was pleasantly suprised. Complimentary pick up from the airport, speedy checkin, clean comfortable rooms, and breakfast included. Rooms basic but beds comfortable,and there were basic cooking factilities for a longer stay, and a coin operated laundry on site. Meals in the restaurant were inexpensive and very tasty. We were so impressed we returned to the same motel before catching our flight home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Gems151

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. We are very glad to hear that you had enjoyed our service on your stay. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Regards
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maffra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The location was great, close to the airport. The price was ok because basically the room was fairly clean, except something splattered on the wall near the TV I didn't want to get close to. My main problem was that when you share with others you want to have YOUR pillow, every day we came back we had the pillows on different beds, I had 2 pillows , yet each day I would come back and the bed next to me had 2. I like my freinds but not enough to share their pillows! Oh and the free shuttle , be careful it's only for one! Even though the room was booked and beds for 4! The internet was terrible, you pay for it, well that's ok but it's a hit and miss if it worked well, gather it's because how many others are using it, but if that's the case it should be free.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back, not because of road noise but late comers with luggage .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalend P, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear BelAraratAustralia,

It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our airport location.It is disappointing to hear that our WIFI service did not work as it should have. This is something we will address and fix – perhaps there may have been a weak signal in the room you were staying in – none the less if you could please email me your room number it would be helpful in rectifying the problem for future guests. My email is – shalend@vrgroup.co.nz.

We are looking to have free WIFI service provided to our guest soon.

With Thanks
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel


We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel

Address: 144 McKenzie Road, Mangere 2150, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel Mangere
Kiwi International Airport Mangere
Hotel Kiwi International Airport
Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel Mangere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.