We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport Location w/24 hour shuttle service!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   205 Kirkbride Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pay with VISA & Save 10%!
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Airport Location w/24 hour shuttle service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great for staying overnight in Auckland. Management very good!!!
Clean Room. Free Shuttle to Airport 24 Hr service. Restaurant nearby. Hop on Hop Off Bus will pickup here. 24hr notice needed.Good rate thru priceline.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi, thank you kindly for the review. Glad you enjoyed your time and found the area convenient.
Thank you for staying with us :)

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    101
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
40
103
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and were very happy with the room and service untill check-out time when we were charged $40 for the linen (duvet,sheets etc)to be drycleaned!!! Never ever heard of that before!!! have stayed in many accomodation places and have never been charged extra at the end of our stay for drycleaning.So if you do stay make sure you ask about that before paying!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukhi P, Owner at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hi, thank you for your review.

To clarify about any extra room charges:

Food soiled sheets are not a problem as we hire a laundry company which takes all used sheets away and delivers fresh ones every day. We do not charge extra for cleaning sheets, soiled or not.

However, extra cleaning may be required to remove food stains and smell from our duvets if guests spill anything on them. It is standard practice for all hotels to charge extra for room soilage (this is why they take a credit card as security, or otherwise a cash bond). Some may charge $80 or more this type of thing. We keep our soilage charge very reasonable. We explained this to the male guest who was also staying in your room and he understood and was ok with the $40 charge at the time of checkout.

Glad you otherwise enjoyed our hospitality.

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Overall a clean and friendly place to stay by the airport. Ceiling fan was nice to have as there's no air conditioning(most hotels we stayed at in nz didn't have AC). I wouldn't say it's a great value though. We stayed at the sudima Auckland airport hotel for not too much more with breakfast included.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi, thank you very much for the review. Glad you enjoyed our tidy facilities and service. We do have a number of rooms with air-conditioning and updated furnishings, these are the rooms labelled "Superior". We try to keep our rates competitive, as there are many hotels in the area. I believe they would have been a little higher as we were very busy around the start of the year.

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nothing was a problem, courteous staff, Airport pickup and return, comfortable accommodation, we would stay there again without hesitation. A very good restaurant was recommended to us just down the road and was great, thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi, thank you very much for the kind review. It is our pleasure to provide clean and convenient facilities topped off with friendly service :) Glad your enjoyed the restaurant down the road, there are a couple of good ones there, as well as a cafe, which our guests enjoy, and we highly recommend. Hope to see you again some time.

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here on a very warm night before a flight out of Auckland airport next morning. Had a family room with a queen bed in separate bedroom and double bed in lounge room just near the outside stairs to the upper level. The room was spacious, very clean and functional - a bit dated. The room also had two large recliner chairs, dining table and chairs and a spa bath/shower plus full self catering kitchen facilities. Unfortunately the bed in lounge room is not the quality of the main bed and tended to sag in the middle. The outside light problem mentioned in previous review is still an issue and we found it shone too brightly through the blinds. Being a motor lodge it does tend to by noisy with cars and people arriving and departing from outside rooms, however the noise did settle later in the evening. To keep the noise out we shut the windows and put on the fan which again could be updated as it only seems to have one speed and a noisy wobble. The owners are friendly and keen to help. Free wifi - a bonus. Very convenient to Auckland Airport.

Room Tip: Request room away from outside security light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for the review and feedback, it is very helpful. My apologies about the exterior light through the curtains problem. It is still to be fixed as we have budgeted for this and some other improvements to be complete in time for our upcoming quality assessment. We also provide a block of updated "Superior" rooms which offer full air-conditioning if guests prefer, at a small additional cost.

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Due to travelling when all the students were flying out to start at Uni I needed to take an early flight on a Saturday morning. Instead of traipsing across Auckland it was easier to spend the night before close to the airport. Arranging my free shuttle to the airport for 6.30am was no problem & the free wifi to clear emails the night before was a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for the review. Glad you found everything to be comfortable and convenient. Our free airport shuttle service is available 24/7, on demand, so it is not a problem to transfer guests any time they like :)

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I arrived at the airport at midnight, and needed a place to crash till my morning flight. I called the Best Western, and in 5 minutes I was in the manager's car headed for the hotel only 5 minutes out. The room was a bit dated, but perfectly clean and an excellent choice for what I needed. In the morning I was courteously greeted by Rukhi and Ramesh, and enjoyed a smooth and friendly trip back to the airport.
In short, an easy choice: half price of the Novotel, friendly and personal service, and clean room. Good job!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rukhi P, Manager at BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi there, thank your for your kind review! Glad you found everything to your liking, and it is our pleasure to provide tidy facilities and friendly service :) Hope to see you again next time.

Your Hosts,
Rukhi & Ramesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge

Address: 205 Kirkbride Road, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#4 Family Hotel in Mangere
#5 Business Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 4 minutes from the Auckland International Airport, New Zealand, Best Western BKs Pioneer Motor Lodge offers you quality, affordable accommodation. As our guest, you’ll enjoy our 24 hour courtesy airport shuttle service for the International and Domestic terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bks Pioneer Motor Hotel Mangere
Bks Pioneer Hotel
Bks Pioneer Motel
BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge Auckland/Mangere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN BK's Pioneer Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.