We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Auckland Winery, Vineyard Cafe & Cellar Door

Villa Maria Auckland Winery, Vineyard Cafe & Cellar Door
118 Montgomerie Rd | Mangere, Mangere 2153, New Zealand
0064 9 255 0660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 restaurants in Mangere
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Villa Maria Auckland Winery, Vineyard Café & Cellar Door is open 7 days, serving delicious food and wines. Enjoy a glass of Villa Maria wine on the terrace which overlooks the Ihumatao vineyard, and share a platter or have lunch.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Close to airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great place to visit if you are between flights or have a spare hour or two. The wine is great, food is above average, but we did find the service slow. (Maybe a one off). We have been before and the service was great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    31
    17
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My parents organised our wedding reception at Villa Maria last weekend. We were incredibly impressed by everything they had to offer. The surroundings were picturesque and made for beautiful photos and the staff were attentive throughout the afternoon. The food was better than we could reasonably expect - the steak option melted in our mouths and the fish was beautifully cooked. The only place for improvement would be the dessert, but this is merely nit-picking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I surprised the wife for her birthday with lunch at Villa Maria, I had booked a table for 2 online without any fuss. The pricing was reasonable for the quality, meals and service were exceptional (we both tried the suggested wine pairing with our meals).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our visit to Villa Maria was an excellent experience the food was of a very high quality as was the wine we ordered to.The staff were extremly pleasant and most welcoming .Being a perfect day we dined out doors and the setting just added to the the experience.Certainly a place to revisit .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A last minute decision to pop in to Villa Maria Cafe for lunch turned out to be a wonderful experience. Lovely setting with the vines in the background and wild bird life passing by made for a very relaxing and delicious lunch. We both enjoyed our lunches and the staff were very attentive. However, I now have to replicate the Prosciutoo Wrapped Chicken Breast for my partner, he reckoned it was out of the this world (and it was, I tried some), however the poulet roti jus has me stumped, would Head Chef be willing to give up his recipe by chance???????? Otherwise we will just have to come back! No hardship there!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Maria Auckland Winery, Vineyard Cafe & Cellar Door also viewed

Mangere, Auckland Region
Mangere, Auckland Region
 
Mangere, Auckland Region
Mangere, Auckland Region
 

Been to Villa Maria Auckland Winery, Vineyard Cafe & Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Auckland Winery, Vineyard Cafe & Cellar Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.