We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take an Umbrella” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Gateway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Airport Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 Kirkbride Road | Auckland Airport, Mangere, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take an Umbrella”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The highlight of our stay was the airport pickup. That is where it finished. Checked in but then on the way through the rabbit warren to our room we had to dodge the drops of water coming through the ceiling. Found the rooms to be very ordinary and well below 3 star standard. Asked reception where to get a meal. They suggested the vending machine in the lobby as all nearby restaurants were closed. We found out on our return trip to another nearby motel that there is in fact a restaurant open until late only 200m away.
Finally got to sleep in a semi comfortable bed. Complimentary continental breakfast available in the dining room minus any tea bags but you could have a luke warm coffee. Cereal available as well along with dirty cutlery.
Also better put your Do Not Disturb sign outside otherwise the cleaning staff will come in unannounced anywhere after 8am
The best thing about the motel was the departure where we saw and noted the number of the motel across the road.
Pay a bit more and going anywhere else

Room Tip: Any that are not in this establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi ,

We are sorry for your unpleasant stay at our property. Your points are noted for future compliance and would be actioned upon in the restaurant.
We are in the process of renovating bathrooms and corridor carpet in next few months. We have already renovated one third of the bathrooms and this is unfortunate that you did not stay in one of those rooms.


Kind regards
Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    57
    81
    51
    88
See reviews for
55
119
62
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Booked this accommodation over the web. (Pics were a bit deceiving) Booking was made with wife and two kids, the booking included breakfast.

After arriving at the room was a bit shocked at the age/decor of the room. The wall adjoining the living/bathroom had significant water damage with paint peeling and stained carpet.

After flying all day we just wanted to relax with a few drinks in our room. Not having a shop close by I asked the bar maid if we could purchase a bottle of mixer (ginger ale) for a few drinks. The manager/owner advised her that I could buy one for $12......yes 1 litre $12.

The breakfast was a complete money grab. We got charged extra for our kids breakfast, $13 for a piece of toast and a yoghurt. My wife and I decided to upgrade to a hot cooked breakfast.....don't bother, it's a $5 downgrade.

Stay elsewhere......

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi ,

We are sorry for your unpleasant stay at our property. Your points are noted for future compliance and would be actioned upon. We are in the process of renovating bathrooms and corridor carpet in next few months. We have already renovated one third of the bathrooms and this is unfortunate that you did not stay in one of those rooms.

Kind regards
Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

this was by second time i stayed at airport gateway hotel and it was pefect again...we booked family for 4 room which was spacious for us and had a kitchen as well. Free parking and free shuttle is always a bonus. Staff was polite and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Considering that only 2 nights prior, I paid NZD$99 for a FANTASTIC room in the middle of the city, I was expecting something a little better for the NZD$75 or so I paid for this room... I knew it wouldn't be a Novotel standard, but for a motel near the airport (and with a somewhat "captive" audience), they are overcharging somewhat. I think NZD$45 would be fair. Seriously.

The staff were friendly enough (although the Porter playing card games on the reception computer at 5.45am isn't a professional look). The airport transfer is free, so that's a bonus.

But the room. Oh, I really can't say ANYTHING nice. The drawers in the bathroom were falling out. The furniture was old. I was close to complaining about the room next door and their TV up loud - thankfully they turned it off, as I was due to get up for an early flight.

It smelled like they had just painted, but it needs more than a paint job. It needs new carpet, new bathroom fixtures and fittings, and a professional in-room service directory. I was too scared to try the restaurant... And based on Google Maps / Around Me / urbanSpoon, etc., there was NOTHING close by... I was tempted to get a pizza delivered, but I just ate chocolate for dinner, watched the early 90's CRT TV (seeing as how modern small LCD TVs are about $199, even that would be an update!), and then played games on my iPad, whilst waiting for the noise from next door to die down.

Maybe I'm being a bit unfair... after all, it WAS only NZD$75, but I'm having to compare it to the previous night at The Scenic Hotel (see my review), which is RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE CITY! And was only about NZD$25 more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Dominic,

We are sorry that you did not have a comfortable stay at our property this time.
We are renovating the property in a phased manner and I am sure you shall have a better experience next time with us.

Regards
Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This review is very late sorry. 2 friends and I stayed here in December last year. We had the 3 bedroom unit. Great having the separate loo - what with being 3 more mature lasses and all!
We were blown away by the space. Lovely having the outdoor area - it could benefit from nicer furniture and a bit of a clean but was fine. There was lots of room for us and all our shopping and the kitchen was fully equipped with lots of extras!
Its nice having a good assortment of glasses etc and we could all get ready to go out without tripping over each other.

The shuttle service was efficient and helpful.

We really appreciated the care and attention at a very reasonable rate

see you again soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

we stayed here for one night before flying out to fiji... it was great for the price we paid, plus point for us was 14 days free car park. Room was clean and we had a dinner as well in the evening which was lovely too. Free shuttle was spot on time and staff was friendly as well. Will stay again on our next trip.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I rang to inquire if this Hotel was wheelchair friendly, the lady said it was? First wrong room, then we could get into the room but not the bathroom. Off to dinner and the toilet was needed, geting into the toilet was fine but to go to the toilet the wheelchair couldnt go through the door. There was no where else to go so the rubbish bin was used and emptied. A van was to be used to go to the airport, can't get up and no-one would use their own cars so our car was used. If they say they are wheelchair friendly it is NOT. Something has to be done about that. They still took our money?

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportgh, General Manager at Airport Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Ma'am,
We are sorry that you did not have a comfortable stay at our hotel last year. We have one room that has been modified for handicap use including the bathroom.
If it was not alloted to you then it must have been already booked out to another person wanting a wheel chair accessability, on first come basis.
Kind Regards
Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Hotel

Address: 206 Kirkbride Road | Auckland Airport, Mangere, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Airport Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Mangere
Hotel Airport Gateway
Airport Gateway Hotel Auckland/Mangere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.