We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan but meets basic requirements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget Auckland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
2 Leonard Isitt Drive | Auckland Airport, Mangere 2150, New Zealand (Formerly Formule1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Mangere
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Spartan but meets basic requirements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location is great being adjacent to airport with free shuttle bus plus a 7X24 supermarket next door. Rooms is basic but meets needs. Watch your head if there is a bunk overhead. No security chain on door but bathroom door can be opened against main door to fulfil this function. Reception and common floor area is Spartan but functional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    484
    311
    78
    43
See reviews for
293
369
282
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This really is just a bed and bathroom and the bed barely fitted. For a quick sleep before a flight, it is perfect but not a destination by itself. The staff were excellent. Polite, well trained and efficient. Check if you can leave your hire at the Motel. The free shuttle means you can check in quicker without car parking hassles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Clean, fresh feel, friendly receptionist, 24 hours, free shuttle to airport, great cafe and bar next door, and the room compact, but functional, nice facilities. Superb for early morning getaways for overseas travel. For a Formule1 hotgel, this is the best we've stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

NZ$59.00 is hard to beat for a clean, safe, quiet hotel near Auckland Airport. It is an easy, flat 10 - 15 minute stroll from the Airport if you wish to walk in either direction and don't have too much luggage. But you can take advantage of the regular free Shuttle Bus instead!

Of course you could stay at the Novotel which is located 30 STEPS from the Airport Terminal but you'd be paying a lot more money and you would NOT have all the shops that I had at my disposal. For those of you who are setting off on a journey around NZ, the shops opposite the IBIS Hotel will supply just about everything you might need. Easy!

ROOM SIZE: for one person it was excellent. For two, I think it would be 'cosy'. For three, a tight squeeze but you could do it!

Transport to the IBIS: I caught the AIRBUS from Downtown Auckland. It departed from outside the Ferry Terminal, not far from the Britomart Train Station. It was about a 45 minute pleasant journey to the Airport. Drop off was at the Domestic Terminal which is beside the International Terminal. I then 'strolled' back up to the IBIS. Easy even in the rain!

I stayed at the IBIS in order to take advantage of a cheap EARLY flight back to Sydney. In the long run, I probably didn't save any money BUT... I'd definitely do it again!

FYI: I couldn't hear the planes going over! There was a microwave in the dining area that you could use. It cost NZ$10 for two hours continuous internet access i.e. you couldn't stop and start. Bit pricey but nevertheless, available.

Don't hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was surprised by the cleanliness and quality of the room. It exceeded my expectations. This is a budget hotel so the room is small and facilities limited. What was there however was clean and in good condition. The bed is a king size which is a bit big for the room, a queen would be fine giving some more space for bags.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I only booked here as I couldn't get into my usual hotel at Auckland Airport.
I was very pleasantly surprised. Yes the rooms are small but are more than adequate for an overnight stop. Bed was comfy and rooms were very quiet. It is within walking distance of the terminal and there are coffee shops nearby.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location, takes all the stress out if an early start flight. Only disappointment was that the shower had gunk on the walls, very visible so it looked like the walls had not been cleaned. Also the bedside drink stand had unwired drip stains on it. Other than that, good cheap choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Budget Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Auckland Airport

Address: 2 Leonard Isitt Drive | Auckland Airport, Mangere 2150, New Zealand (Formerly Formule1)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best value accommodation at Auckland Airport. Ibis Budget is the ideal choice for transit guests, located within walking distance to both the Domestic and International Terminals. Complimentary on-site parking and complimentary airport shuttle available. 125 contemporary rooms, vending machines, breakfast and internet access available. Adjacent to the hotel is a range of shops and outlets including cafe, supermarket and casual dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport Mangere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Auckland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.