We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Auckland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Auckland Airport to your Saves list
Novotel Auckland Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere 2022, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our last night in New Zealnd prior to flying home. This hotel is right across from the International Terminal at Auckland Airport. A ten minute walk and you are inside the terminal building. We were surprised to find out the hotel was two years old as it looks like it was only opened in the last six months. What surprised us was how quiet the rooms were. There was not an ounce of noise from outside, even though the airport runway is about 300 meters away. The windows are double glazed so this would be the main reason for the lack of noise.
A pleasant surprise was the bathroom featured a proper walk in shower and not one of the usual shower baths which I personally don't like. So this would appeal to older guests or those unsteady on their feet. Also as previously mentioned by another reviewer the frosted shower screen can be slid back and allows you watch the TV through the clear glass screen which backs onto the room itself. It's a quirky feature I have never encountered but we thought it was quite good. Other hotels we have stayed in have had a small TV screen in the bathroom itself but this was something different.
The hotel restaurant is open pretty much 24/7 although we only dined there for breakfast which was very good. The bar is well stocked and there is plenty of seating for those looking to have a quiet drink especially after a long flight. The rooms have their own minbar and there is an in room dining service.
The hotel would suite the business traveller and the holiday maker. Also businesses looking for conference facilities would be well catered for. A special mention for all the hotel staff who went out of their way for us. The service they provided was excellent.
Also there is a supermarket open 24/7 about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. The airport also has restaurants and other dining facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, General Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Kia ora Railmotor
Thank you for such a detailed review! It is a joy to read all of your positive comments, everything from how new our hotel feels, to the walk in shower and the quirky feature of being able to watch TV through the glass, to the good breakfast and even a mention of our conference facilities! The main comment which always puts a smile on my face to read is; ‘A special mention for all of the hotel staff who went out of their way for us’ – thank you for the recognition, I have emailed this to all of our team this afternoon.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards,
Paul Columbus – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,491
    860
    139
    34
    18
See reviews for
597
992
337
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed the night before an early flight and despite being only a few hundred metres from the runway and terminal we did not hear any noise at all, a marked difference from the upmarket hotel we stayed at in central Auckland. The room was pleasant, comfortable bed, room too warm but that seems to be the norm for hotels world-wide. Our tariff included buffet breakfast which was good quality and selection, Overall a pleasant surprise

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, General Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Kia ora walkergill
Thank you for your review – Fantastic to hear your stay was a pleasant surprise! It still amazes some of our team how quiet this hotel is as well! Great to see the room and breakfast was good. For future stays please do not hesitate to call our Guest Services Manager who will be able to assist in getting a desirable room temperature for your room.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Paul Columbus – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here twice with my wife and son on our trip to New Zealand and Australia. Modern, clean hotel. Great breakfast. The only thing that was a little weird was that the wall between the shower and the main portion of the room was frosted and transparent. Don't know I'm keen to allow others watch me showering.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, General Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Kia ora ahovagim
Thank you for your review. Great to hear you family enjoyed breakfast! You have a valid point about the bathroom - I can see that you stayed in June, we have since put blinds in all of our twin rooms, so that the frosted shower screen can be covered, as this was identified by our guests as a design aspect for us to review.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Paul Columbus – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is handy in the carpark of the Auckland International Airport. Its a brisk 10 minute walk following the painted line to the Domestic Airport. or a free bus every 15 mins or so can take you instead of the walk...

The hotel is lovely and newish ( build for the RWC last year) The decor was fresh and beautiful... with mod lamps and beautiful furnishings... the bathroom is the best I have ever been in.. modern and lots of glass...

No robes unfortunately. The room service menu could have been a little broader or with some more comfort food... after travelling for weeks on end you do get tired of restaurant food all the time and travelling and odd hours it would have been nice to have had scrambled eggs and gluten free toast at midnight...

I noticed that some rooms had great views of planes and tarmac. which would have been more exciting than my view east over the carpark... but lovely big windows and lots of sun!

I arrived internationally after midnight and flew out domestically 5 hours later... so a short lovely convenient stay!

Staff were lovely and helpful.

Room Tip: Request a room at the southern end of the hotel with views over the tarmac and airport side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, General Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Kia ora MerrySeaNelson
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review! For such a short stay you have managed to highlight some excellent points about out hotel! We are glad you like the decor - especially the bathroom.
I have passed on your room service menu suggestion to our Executive Chef for consideration, as you make a good point about travellers wanting simple dishes are travelling for a long time!
We do hope that your next stay will allow for a longer stay.
Kind regards,
Paul Columbus – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Yet again we were made to feel VERY welcome, staff welcomed us by our names on arrival (we have stayed before) which I thought very professional. Friendly staff in all areas of the hotel. I mentioned in my booking email the reason for our stay was a family birthday, and on entering the room there was a card waiting for us :) These small thoughtful gestures will make a customer come back time and time again :) Thank you for your kindness to our family and we certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling or even staying in Auckland as it is only a 15 min drive into town (bit longer in peak traffic of course) and there are regular buses from the airport to town center.The rooms are to a high standard and well sound proofed so you are not disturbed by the airplanes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, General Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Kia ora Sarah W,
First of all, you are more than welcome for the kindness – Thank you for the review! I am extremely happy to hear the team have made your stay a memorable one! We aim to make our all guests feel special, and a birthday is an excellent example of a way that we can do this!
Look forward to your family’s next visit.
Kind regards,
Paul Columbus – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when I was injured,We flew out the next day and didn't want the hassle of transfer buses etc. Well it couldn't be nearer,I'd say it's 100 feet to the terminal and all on the flat.The hotel is very new so everything is as it should be for a decent hotel. Tea/coffee equip. in the room, etc. Although it in the car park and so close to the runway there was no noise and the air con was brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, General Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Kia ora Edward G
Thank you for your review. Happy to hear our location was just what you were looking for! Also great to hear our facilities were brilliant!
We hope your injury will be healed soon and that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Paul Columbus – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Airport

Address: Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#1 Business Hotel in Mangere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located beside Auckland International Terminal and 30 minutes to the city centre, Novotel Auckland Airport provides the perfect accommodation solution for guests travelling in and out of New Zealand. Combining the beauty of natural landscapes with cutting edge architectural design, this hotel features 263 elegant rooms and suites, theatre-style conference centre, 10 meeting rooms, a restaurant and bar plus a fully equipped gym. Parking available at airport, fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Novotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Auckland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.