We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport convenience with 5 star quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Auckland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Auckland Airport to your Saves list
Novotel Auckland Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere 2022, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Airport convenience with 5 star quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was arriving on a midnight flight so rather than putting family out with a late night drive, I booked the Novotel Auckland airport. The hotel is located directly outside the airport from the arrivals hall so it was literally a walk from the plane and into bed (just with a few security checks along the way ;-). Check in at reception was fast and friendly with the essentials explained before heading up to my room and going to sleep.
Even though the room looked straight on to the airport, the double glazing does a great job of eliminating all noise, so had an uninterrupted sleep. The room is slightly larger than average with a king size bed, useable desk, lounge and a unique New Zealand design and feel which makes the room less than ordinary for a hotel room.
I used the gym in the morning and was really surprised at how good it was. It reminded me more of the fully equipped and staffed gyms you encounter in larger U.S. hotels, certainly not a small afterthought room and location in the hotel.
I had no complaints with any aspect of my stay and would recommend staying to anyone. My experience makes me feel more comfortable taking early flights or arriving late from Auckland knowing that the Novotel and her attentive friendly team will be there to make travelling easier.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room if you want to do some plan spotting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Daniel_Kelly_NZ,
Many thanks for your lovely review!
Delighted to read you have enjoyed your stay & most importantly that you had a good rest before continuing your travels.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,488
    857
    138
    34
    18
See reviews for
597
989
337
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Certainly so easy to walk across the road and into bed......
Next morning back across the road to the airport & pick up the rental car
Foam bed felt damp both nites and no frig in our room on the last nite

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Kia ora & Thank You for your nice review!
Indeed - we are very conveniently located right outside the International Terminal...
Many thanks,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed one night in the hotel and found it to be friendly and very helpful. I needed to make a long telephone call to Air New Zealand, and they very kindly let me use the phone in the lobby at no charge. The call was longer than half an hour and was no problem to the staff.

Whenever we are flying out of Auckland Airport, we book into this hotel which is right on the grounds of the international airport. That way we know we will be on time for either domestic and international flights.



The restaurant staff were also very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Kia ora Traveller345612
Many thanks for your review.
So glad to read you have enjoyed your stays with us & that teams have looked after you so well!
Next time, you can call the TOLL FREE number for AirNZ 0800 737 000 from your room at no-charge too!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel was modern, clean and comfortable. It is so very close to the airport terminals that it couldn't have been easier. I arrived late at night and left first thing the next morning. My room was opposite the lifts, but I neither heard people going to and from their rooms and the lift, nor any airport/plane noise whatsoever. I need their sound proofing tips for my house! Can definitely recommend this hotel for those travelling through Auckland, as I was.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Kia ora MelbourneTed,
Many thanks for your nice review.
Great to read that you noticed the Hotel's soundproofing & its efficiency!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in Auckland just before midnight & booked the Novotel based on the advice of others. The hotel is less than 50metres from the International terminal so no need to worry about waiting for shuttle buses. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, free wi-fi in lobby (30mins), late checkout at 11am. Breakfast was quite pricey so we just wandered back to he airport and had breakfast at McDonalds. Would recommend especially for those with early morning flights or those arriving late at night as we did.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Kia ora Tracey C,
Thank You for your lovely review!
Glad to read you have enjoyed your stay with us - Our Continental breakfast is NZ$27 & our Full Buffet is NZ$32 - From time to time, we offer Breakfast inclusive packages online as well as prepaid discounted Breakfast online too.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karratha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

What can I say... This hotel is top class!!! Friendly, efficient, professional staff. The convenience of being a pedestrian crossing away from the airport entrance. The room we stayed in was modern, clean, and a good size room. What a nice touch.... when you turn on the tv your name is displayed on the screen with a greeting. The bathroom has a huge shower and that toilet seat!!! You'll know what I mean if you stay there...Finally that bed... Wow... That was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. We will definitely be staying there again, every time we fly back home in fact. Will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Kia ora sc0rpi056
Many thanks for such a lovely review!
Sounds like you had a great stay with us..
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We needed to stay in Auckland to make a connection for an early flight to Australia and this was a logical and useful choice. An easy walk from domestic terminal on arrival (or by shuttle bus by those not wantin to walk)and then literally a hop skip and a jump to international the next morning made our stay easy. Although not a cheap stay it is nicely appointed and the staff were welcoming, very helpful and polite. The rooms are not huge but the floor to ceiling windows and a stunning view from the 10th floor out towards Manukau Harbour before it got dark made for a pleasant experience. The beds are not big doubles so we decided to sleep in a bed each seeing as our room had two beds-they were comfortable. The shower was great although the side of the bath was high and made access tricky. Most of the hotel information seems to be accessible only via the TV and it would have been nice to have a book to refer to. We had a light meal in the restaurant and that was fine although we were pleased we had made a booking as it was quite busy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors facing out to the west have a great view of the Manukau harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMNovotelAKLAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Kia Ora silverthreads101,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed the views from the room and the location sutied you nicely. I see you had a room with one of our luxury baths, we appreciate that the sides can be a little high for some guests and therefore have rooms with rainshowers only, you are most welcome to ask for a preference on your next stay. Once again thank you for sharing your experience look forward to seeing you next time.

Warm Regards

Kristen Pirie
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Airport

Address: Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#1 Business Hotel in Mangere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located beside Auckland International Terminal and 30 minutes to the city centre, Novotel Auckland Airport provides the perfect accommodation solution for guests travelling in and out of New Zealand. Combining the beauty of natural landscapes with cutting edge architectural design, this hotel features 263 elegant rooms and suites, theatre-style conference centre, 10 meeting rooms, a restaurant and bar plus a fully equipped gym. Parking available at airport, fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Novotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Auckland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.