We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No taxi fares - It's directly across the road at AKL airport.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Auckland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Auckland Airport to your Saves list
Novotel Auckland Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere 2022, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“No taxi fares - It's directly across the road at AKL airport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This has to be in the Guinness Book of Records for being the closest hotel to any airport. Fantastic. Check in and everything is well oiled; quick and easy. Airport noise nil. The usual "To help us conserve water and energy" is a guilt inducing method of getting the customer to reduce the hotel's laundry bills. (N.Z has finally abolished paying departure tax locally at the airport - It's now included in the ticket).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    857
    138
    34
    18
See reviews for
597
989
337
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I booked this hotel because I knew my flight was going to arrive at crazy o'clock and I didn't want to be going into the city at the time. It is conveniently located next to the airport, walking distance. Check in was quick and smooth. Room was clean, equipped and comfortable. Good for stop overs, transit, and convenience to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear travelingsurfergirl,
Many thanks for your review!
Thank you for chosing our Hotel too! I am glad to read you have had an enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Warm Regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

It was a good, well organised place, ideal as it's on the airport - 50 metres from the checkin desk, yet not noisy.
However, it was too expensive. We arrived late and had a very early flight, so felt we couldn't use any of the facilities. A simple cheap bedroom would have been far preferable. We had a "discounted" price - 30% off, yet, it is 30% off a fictitious price, since the "normal" price is 20% off. Felt cheated - therefore, VERY bad marketing technique!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Kia Ora kevannstevens,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel!
I am sorry to read that you felt offended by our 30% off offer. I just wanted to take this opportunity to clarify the Hotel pricing. Our Best Unrestricted rate is always available, this is rate is dynamically priced and may vary daily. All our other rates & promotional offers are indexed on the Best Available Rate. Your "normal" rate or rate of reference is the Best Available Rate, not any other promotional rates.
As an alternative, you may wish to consider our sister property - Formule1 Auckland Airport which offers the best budget-accommodation at Auckland Airport.
Warm Regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The closest hotel to an airport i know. The staff are friendly, the restaurant for both diner and breakfast is fantastic. The rooms would have to be the best for blackout, and no noise from the planes landing! Not sure how they do it? If you want a large and well equipped gym then they have it.

Room Tip: Have stayed here a couple of times now, and any room is fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Treelessgeorge,
Many thanks for choosing our hotel!
Indeed the quietness of our room is something we are proud off - the boxing between the two double glazed windows acts as a buffer.
Delighted to read you have enjoyed your stays and look forward to welcoming you back!
Warm regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Perfect for that horrific 12 hour layover that no one should suffer through. Book yourself a day room and get the rest you need. Beautifully furnished and full of amenities, you will feel like a person again before getting on a long haul flight. And, best of all, you will show up at your destination relaxed and refreshed - priceless!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear themusicalnote,
Thank You for chosing Novotel Auckland Airport!
Delighted to read that you have taken full advantage of our Day-Room - indeed the black-out curtains & quietness of the rooms will ensure you feel refreshed & are ready for your next flight!
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Warm Regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel twice (on the way to and way back from Rarotonga).

The hotel has a lot of good features. The service was exceptional (even when Expedia stuffed up our confirmed booking but not letting the hotel now - thanks Expedia!). The staff on the door were also very friendly and greeted you with a nice smile.

The rooms are very small, but very functional and very tidy. The presentation of the hotel is excellent.

Given how close the hotel is to the airport (basically one minute walk from the front door), the rooms are exceptionally quiet and I did not notice the planes taking off and landing.

The only let down on this hotel is the quality of their beds. I would go so far to say I think the devil himself designed these beds. They are truely awful! Both my wife and I came away with sore backs on both occasions. This is disappointing as we would have used this hotel again but due to its convenient location, but will now look elsewhere.

We did have the kids with us so I am referring to the double double room configuration. The King beds would hopefully be better!

Come on Novotel, put in some decent beds for the family set up .... please.

If the beds had been up to scratch (actually, even marginally comfortable) I would have given this hotel a much better rating.

Let me know when you buy decent beds and I will be back!

Room Tip: Don't select a double double bed configuration use you want physio on your back the next day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Kia Ora Neilsnz,
Many thanks for your review,
I am sorry to read your comments relating to the bed quality, this is extremely unusual as you would have read on here a lot of guests have made fantastic comments about our beds.
I will drop you a private message so I can gather further information and this particualr bed inspected.
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Warm Regards,
Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Airport

Address: Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mangere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located beside Auckland International Terminal and 30 minutes to the city centre, Novotel Auckland Airport provides the perfect accommodation solution for guests travelling in and out of New Zealand. Combining the beauty of natural landscapes with cutting edge architectural design, this hotel features 263 elegant rooms and suites, theatre-style conference centre, 10 meeting rooms, a restaurant and bar plus a fully equipped gym. Parking available at airport, fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Novotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Auckland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.