We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel at the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Auckland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Auckland Airport to your Saves list
Novotel Auckland Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere 2022, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel at the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel before we flew out early morning the next day. The hotel is very conveniently located opposite the hotel departure area. The room was great and it was done nicely. We did not eat at the restaurant and only had a night cap. We ordered a glass of wine and a cocktail. There was a need to improve the taste of the cocktail.
The service was good and check out time was really fast.
Parking was very expensive based on their quote. We ended up booking airport long term parking over the internet and not using the hotel's service.

Based on this points, we still think that the hotel is very conveniently located at the Auckland airport and we will use the service again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,654
    959
    149
    39
    21
See reviews for
646
1,117
374
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed 3 nights flights got cancelled.
No Sky/ TV guides or Hotel information in the rooms only Dinning in Menu.
3 people told me we would be sent up the TV guide, after 24 hours and a 4th person I was told they did not have any. No airport flight times on TV in rooms just one at reception.
Only left 1 towel to share after the 1st night. ordered a cappuccino got a hot chocolate.
we could hear people walking around in the middle of the night not sure be maybe the room above us. Parking $35 no self park.
Internet very expensive 60mb for $20. breakfast $28 for a continental or $32 for buffet. One last thing beware of the revolving door at the main entrance we witnessed one gentleman smash into the outside, its very hard to see the glass surround, he was knocked out lying on the ground cuts to his head, another lady nearly was caught between the door and the surround someone stop her walking into it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Megabby

Many thanks for taking the time in posting a review of our Hotel. I am alarmed to learn you have experienced difficulties with some of our team members during your three night stay with us. Can I firstly apologise for any inconvenience caused as It is disappointing to read that we have not been able to provide the high level of service we strive for. All of the highlighted issues have been discussed with the Team and re-training has been scheduled.

I would also like to take this opportunity to clarify some concerns raised by you:

- Hotel information: is available on the TV screen, this is as part of our environmental commitment in order to reduce printing and paper usage.
- Valet parking: we offer valet parking at $35 for the first night, the nightly cost reduces if you are staying two nights or more. I will gladly look into adjusting this for you if you have been incorrectly charged.
- We have a variety of internet connection offers - complimentary i-Mac computers & wireless connectivity in our lobby for up to 30minutes (8MB) per day per room, in-room wireless or broadband - 24hours (300MB) for $29.90.
- Guest incident: I am glad to report that the gentleman in question is well and has returned to his home country. Because of this incident we have arranged to install larger, brighter glass transfers to minimise such an incident being repeated.

Thank you once again for taking the time in posting your feedback.

Warm Regards

Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

The room as nicely layed out
TV large size, hotel common areas very modern nice
The best part is right across from the airport
btw (you will need it cause NZ does not seem to have any web check in service, you really need to be there 2 hrs before for international if you don't want to see any the back of the plane, given you are in first or business class)


The service was ordinary, the attendants would end their shift in the middle of check process, not particular professional feel, except for the hardware surroundings
The web site is miss leading and on occasion I was booked into the hotel with day rate via web site, received email then saying it was day rate, then even though a phone call to hotel assured me it was for over night, the price went up by 25% when I arrived.

Air conditioner does not turn off, has a Max of 22C, so I woke up with a very dry feeling.
Also the curtains did not slide over 100% so, you don't need a night light to get to the bathroom. Also if you use the TV, there is a limit on the volume which is not excessively loud, you better sit close to the TV, or use wire heading phones.

I did submit my dissatisfaction on the card provided, but yet to have receive a reply. I would recommend my second choice not far down the road or some where else, think it was Bella vista something ...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMNovotelAKLAirport, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Adminate,

Many thanks for taking the time in posting a review of our Hotel, I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your room’s layout & the hotel in general.

It is disappointing that we have not been able to provide the high level of service we strive for. I have communicated your review to all Managers for immediate action within their departments.

With regards to our website, I have reviewed the current on-line information and found that it is clearly indicated that you have selected a “Day rate”. I do however regret that your phone call to the hotel was not sufficient to resolve the misunderstanding. I will gladly look into this further if you wish to email me details of your booking directly – I am contactable on H7485-fo01@accor.com

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Mathieu Le Besq
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Hotel is very new and modern. Rooms are small but quite OK for a night. Only point I find outrageous is the NZ$ 29 charge for Internet per 24 h…. BUT it gives you only 300 MB…. Whilst this price is somewhat international standard for 24 h Internet fee it is unacceptable to limit to only 300 MB… after that it is either reeeealy slow… or another $0.10 per MB…

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Auckland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Airport

Address: Ray Emery Drive | Auckland International Airport, Mangere 2022, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mangere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangere
#2 Business Hotel in Mangere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located beside Auckland International Terminal and 30 minutes to the city centre, Novotel Auckland Airport provides the perfect accommodation solution for guests travelling in and out of New Zealand. Combining the beauty of natural landscapes with cutting edge architectural design, this hotel features 263 elegant rooms and suites, theatre-style conference centre, 10 meeting rooms, a restaurant and bar plus a fully equipped gym. Parking available at airport, fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Auckland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Airport Hotel Mangere
Novotel Auckland Airport Mangere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Auckland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.