We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left me blue” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Planet Aquarium

The Blue Planet Aquarium
Jacob Fortlingsvej 1, Kastrup 2770, Denmark
44222244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Kastrup
Attraction details
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Left me blue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

So disappointing, visited after reading reviews. This is put the record straight. This was the major disappointment on our trip to Copenhagen. Getting the bus from Central easy and cheap, the 5A. The driver even told which stop to get off. This is just a large collection of fish tanks, a glorified aquarium. I would estimate you could the whole site in under an hour. Only go if you are really interested in fish and can afford the overpriced entrance fee.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    45
    37
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great aquarium, albeit slightly expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a great time at this aquarium, especially with a one-year-old in our group.
The tanks were huge, and there was a massive variety of different sealife, with heaps of interesting information available written on signs and boards, and also spoken by staff to crowds.
The most prized fish appears to be their hammerhead shark!

We also ate at the cafe, which was surprisingly nice, as you would expect aquariums not to be that good: I had the chicken salad sandwich which was lovely, and served quite nicely too!

The staff were all very helpful at the aquarium. However, the place was very busy and too crowded, so we had to take breaks outside a few times. Although slightly expensive, the trip turned out to be a great time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg,sweden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Magnificent aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

With 2 five year old boys it was hard to keep track of them in the dark, it was so crowded and muggy inside. But the aquarium is so beautiful and very interesting. Will try to visit in a off season time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I went here during lay over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

It's only three bus stops form the airport. A nice spot on the sea. It has a great overhead tank that is amazing. It is a little expensive. When I got home I saw that it costs me $29.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We plan to visit again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Buying tickets online saves time getting in.
We spent around three hours in the aquarium, including lunch in the large cafeteria. Food is made to order, and tasty, so it takes a while to get ready for pick up but in the meantime you can go outside on the terrace and see them train the three female sealions, if you get there at around 2 oclock.

Highlights for me includes the piranneas in the Amazonas section. We all liked the feeding of the cold water fish in the bottom of the puffin enclosure. The Ocean tank is quite small compared to one in Lisboa. I look forward to seeing it again when the sharks have grown up to match the biggest of the stingrays. It was a nice Friday afternoon, we are thinking of inviting more family next time :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Planet Aquarium also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to The Blue Planet Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Planet Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.