We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for ocean facing room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Oasis Apartments

Save Saved
You added Majestic Oasis Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Oasis Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marryatt Street, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Port Augusta
australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ask for ocean facing room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 nights here without ever having been to Port Augusta before and after camping and travelling for a week. Firstly, if you don't have to stay in Port Augusta, don't; just keep on driving, as there is really nothing to see here and nowhere decent to eat.
After arriving at the apartment complex I was initially impressed with the secure complex, good parking, friendliness of reception staff and proximity to the waterfront, however, was soon disappointed to discover that our room and small patio area faced the car park and the ONLY door and windows (so only source of natural light) also did, meaning that if we wanted fresh air or daylight we had to trade for privacy (some sheer curtains at the very least would have helped this but there werent any). The 'apartment' itself was more like a well furnished donga, but did have a huge LCD tv, DVD player and small kitchen and was clean and modern.
After camping for several days we were craving a shower and were most disappointed to find that the shower rose consisted of one of those ones that is more like a faucet coming out from the wall and just sprayed water all around the outside, meaning you had to virtually run around to get wet and hair washing etc was very difficult. I informed reception about this straight away, in the hope that they would have someone replace the shower rose, but was told that they would have
maintenance look at it next week; hardly any use to me.
Another thing that bothered me was the cutlery and crockery in the kitchenette which consisted of 2 of everything, which might seem okay given it is a two person room, but is really frustrating when you are actually trying to cook anything and have to keep washing forks and spoons to re-use, and really, I think this is just a little cheap. No way you could have someone over for coffee with just 2 cups.
On the upside of things, the pool area was nice with a BBQ and lovely wooden seating area overlooking the port. Most of the apartments do face the water and I imagine these would be really nice being able to have the door open and a glass of wine on your small patio overlooking the water. The airconditioning in our room worked well, the bed was quite comfortable with good quality linen and an electric blanket was supplied (not that we needed it).
I don't think this was really worth $149 a night, but then I wouldn't stay in this town again if someone paid me $149 a night either.
If you have to stay in Port Augusta this is probably one of the better places, but insist on a sea front room.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    65
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
56
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A nice way to break our journey to the Flinders Ranges. The apartments are enclosed in a gated complex a short distance from the water. Our self contained one bedroom apartment was comfortable and well set out, with separate living and sleeping areas. The bed was comfortable, a good sized bathroom and really nice shower. There was a flat screen TV and free wi fi available. The kitchen area included a cook top, microwave and large fridge and was stocked with a good selection of cookware. There is also a small dining table and chairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Aussiguys

Thankyou for your review of our property.

I appreciate that you found the apartments comfortable. Our Executive One Bedroom Apartments and our Waterfront apartments all have seperate Living and Sleeping areas. in addition to the amenities and facilities that you mention, all our apartments are fitted with a Washing Machine and Dryer.

Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We always find this motel a clean comfortable stop on our way to Adelaide. Having just driven 1200km from Alice Springs it was a joy to enter a clean, comfortable and well appointed apartment. The secure gated car park adds to your peace of mind.

A recommended stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Bigmalus

Thankyou for again choosing to stay at Majestic Oasis Apartments.
Port Augusta is an excellent stop to make after travelling long distances, either as a stop over or to expore the many attractions that the region has to offer.

Our gated complex does provide peace of mind to our guests, especially if guests are travelling with a boat, trailer, camper Trailer, Tradesman ute, etc.

Once again thankyou for staying with us and taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Majestic Oasis apartments while visiting Port Augusta for a few days.

These apartments are a little older, but they are being kept up, and they have parking inside the apartment's security fence which was good to find.

The washer came in handy, there is lots of room and they are in a really convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear JeannieTexas

Thankyou for your review of the Majestic Oasis Apartments.

The Apartments are now approaching 10 years since being built however the maintenance and upkeep of them is of our highest priority to ensure they are well maintained.

Every room on our property has a Washing Machine and a Dryer included in the Bathroom. Complimentary Washing Powder is supplied.

Once again Thankyou for your review.

Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sensational service nothing is too hard and great rooms and pool...excellent stop over
Gated motel with good pool second time we stayed and will be definietley back...we slept in and the staff were quiet happy to extend our check out

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear tsmith733,

Thank you for staying at Majestic Oasis Apartments and posting a review.
I appreciate that you found our service Sensational along with the rooms and the pool.

Once Again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you stay with us.

Kind regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Staff were great, the rooms and grounds were simple, neat and tidy. Having the need for such security is a little concerning, even though they handle it quite well. Close to foreshore, shops, restaurants, etc, makes it a good place to stop and take a break.

Room Tip: Not much shade for your car... it gets quite hot in Port Augusta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear ASKAND
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our property. I appreciate your comments that you found our staff great and the grounds neat and tidy. Our property is fenced for the “peace of mind” that it offers our guests; you should not be concerned or alarmed about it.
I appreciate that it can get very hot in our Region so during the summer months you will find that we supply our guests with bottles of water on arrival and that the air conditioner will be on in your room.

Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Majestic Oasis several times, and were a bit disappointed this time. There were ants over the towels in the bathroom, and the sheets were bally and so thin that you could see through them.
However, the grounds are very secure, and an easy walk to the shops/restaurants. We will give them another chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Tracy B
Thank you for choosing to stay at Majestic Oasis Apartments and for being a regular guest. It is unfortunate that you were disappointed with this stay. As advised in the post below, Bugs are certainly a challenge within the region and as such we do have regular control measures in place for pests such as ants etc. Following the feedback we have recently received we will be increasing the regularity of these measures to ensure we minimise the impact of pests such as these to our guests.
The linen on our property is regularly inspected and replaced. As a result of your feedback I have arranged for an interim audit of all our linen to be undertaken.
Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Majestic Oasis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Oasis Apartments

Address: Marryatt Street, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Port Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Oasis Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 2003, the Majestic Oasis Apartments are located 3 hours north of Adelaide in Port Augusta, South Australia, gateway to the Flinders Ranges and Outback. This 4 star property features 75 modern studio, one and two bedroom self-contained apartments overlooking the stunning foreshore development and waters of the Upper Spencer Gulf. The Majestic Oasis Apartments offer free and secure onsite parking, FREE WiFi, private laundry and kitchen facilities, direct dial phones, electric blankets, large screen TVs with cable and DVD players, electronic safes and 24 hour onsite security for your peace of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Majestic Oasis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Oasis Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.