We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Oasis Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Oasis Apartments to your Saves list
Majestic Oasis Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marryatt Street, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Port Augusta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kalgoorlie
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Real Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here on two occasions at the end of very hot, long driving days. It is a real oasis for travellers and an asset for Port Augusta. The staff are very friendly, the studio apartment modern, clean and well equipped. The complex has a security gate. We were greeted with a complementary cold bottle of water and the airconditioning already turned on. This was such a delight for two hot, weary and very grateful travellers!

Room Tip: Studio apartments are ground floor and perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear FionaKalgoorlie,
Thankyou for taking the time to post a review of our property. We appreciate that many of our guests travel long distances and therefore offering complimentary bottles of spring water and ensuring the air conditioner is turned on in apartments on hot days is a standard procedure. I’m glad you found our staff friendly and the apartment modern, clean and well equipped. Thanks again for your review and I do hope you stay with us again.
Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    97
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
88
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A very pleasant place. We had a one bedroom apartment, upstairs, looking out over the waterfront - so a great position.The staff were helpful, and the rooms clean and well equipped. The TV was massive! It was lovely sitting out on the balcony watching the kids swim and dive.

It was a great place to base brief journeys up into the Flinders, and some of the other sights around. It was useful to have the cooking equipment - Port Augusta is a bit odd if you want to go out; it's as though the town is dead, at all times of the day! Maybe we just went at a bad time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear PeterY2013
Thank you or choosing to stay at the Majestic Oasis Apartments and am glad that you found us very pleasant. The Waterview Apartments certainly are positioned well to give you a great view of the Gulf. Should you choose to stay with us next time our front office staff would be willing to suggest restaurants and venues for you to visit. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we do hope you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Oasis is the best in Port Augusta, but don't expect 4 star. As a previous reviewer stated, do bring your own pillow because the number and quality of pillows provided is atrocious. Bed linen isn't the best quality either.
But apart from that, they are in a nice location, handy to the supermarket and shops, and superficially look quite good. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again if I had to, but only because there isn't much else to choose from.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow (s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Lesley W
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Majestic Hotels have a big focus on ensuring our staff provide great customer service to our guests so I am delighted that you found our staff helpful and friendly. We supply two pillows per guests in our apartments; however should you wish additional pillows please contact our front office staff who would be more than willing to bring you additional pillows. We appreciate that quality of sleep is expected by our guests and we ensure our pillows and linen are replaced regularly. Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were generally happy with our stay in a ground floor waterfront apartment at the Majestic Oasis Apartments. We had a 1 bedroom apartment which didn't have much of a view due to the shrubs screening the apartment from the boardwalk and passersby. This didn't really bother us as we preferred the privacy. The upstairs apartments would have had a better view but were only accessible by stairs, great if you travel light (impossible for us with a baby).

The apartment had a small bedroom with a queen bed, a bathroom with a large shower (no bath), washing machine and dryer. The meals/lounge/kitchen area was spacious with a sofa bed, dining table with 4 chairs, 42in tv (free-to-air channels with okay reception), fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster, kettle, small stove and sink. With a little furniture rearrangement, there was plenty of room for our portacot in this open area and for the baby to play on the floor. The kitchen was fully stocked (cutlery, crockery, utensils, dishwashing liquid) and detergent was also provided. A bonus was the free wifi.

There was secure parking within the gated compound, the spaces are not allocated but there are plenty of them. The pool was small but pleasant, it was not for serious swimmers and was quite busy while we were there. The apartments are conveniently located opposite a supermarket and adjacent to a petrol station, and are a short walk to the town centre.

Peeves: Terrible shower head which sprayed water everywhere and could not be adjusted to give a less dispersed spray. The bed was a bit too soft for our liking, we prefer a firmer one. There is a 1.5% surcharge for payment by credit card.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear PamNord

Thank you for choosing to stay at Majestic Oasis Apartments. The layout of the Waterview Upstairs One Bedroom Apartments is identical as the Waterfront Apartments but as you have stated the upstairs apartments certainly do give a great view. All our apartment types offer a king size bed, washing machine and dryer. Should a bath be required I would recommend a Spa Apartment or if you are looking for a bath for your baby, baby baths are available on request from our front office. Free wi-fi is offered to all guests throughout our property and is also accessible in the BBQ and pool areas for your convenience. Thank you for bringing the shower issue to my attention and as a result of your feedback we are currently replacing all bathroom tap ware throughout the apartments. Once again I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We rented two waterside apartments here and found them to be clean and spacious. Reece prion, housekeeping and maintenance staff were all very friendly, efficient and helpful. The pool though small did not present any difficulties when we wanted to use it, though it is not for serious swimmers, they can use the adjacent beach area. The apartments were clean and well equipped with towels, kitchen crockery and utensils, though the two bedroom apartment only had four chairs to the dining table even though it is advertised as sleeping more than four, and there were only two chairs with the table on the decking, all the same as the oned bed apartment, quite strange. Security at the site is good and it is located close to shops and restaurants.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Packard, Manager at Majestic Oasis Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear hfba
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am delighted to hear that you found all our staff very friendly, efficient and helpful. I appreciate your review of the number of chairs in the apartments and on the decking. This occurs to ensure that the Apartment does not become over crowded with furniture. Our staff would be more than willing to provide additional chairs if they are required, simply by contacting reception. Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards

Anthony Packard
Manager
Majestic Oasis Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our way through from Central Australia. It was a pleasure to have such a comfortable room, such a great location and friendly helpful staff. Would recommend to anyone visiting Port Augusta.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stay here often on the trek 'south' - its always clean and very comfortable. i always stay in the studio apartments and having a washing machine and dryer (in the bathroom) is great after a few days on the road. Beds are comfy, big screen TV and usually you can get parking right out the front or very near by (an issue that is important to me). The worst thing is when i leave it too late and it is booked out - not sure what its like during the year but is certainly always busy at Christmas time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Oasis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Oasis Apartments

Address: Marryatt Street, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Port Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Oasis Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 2003, the Majestic Oasis Apartments are located 3 hours north of Adelaide in Port Augusta, South Australia, gateway to the Flinders Ranges and Outback. This 4 star property features 75 modern studio, one and two bedroom self-contained apartments overlooking the stunning foreshore development and waters of the Upper Spencer Gulf. The Majestic Oasis Apartments offer free and secure onsite parking, FREE WiFi, private laundry and kitchen facilities, direct dial phones, electric blankets, large screen TVs with cable and DVD players, electronic safes and 24 hour onsite security for your peace of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Majestic Oasis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Oasis Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.