We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well presented and located place and the service number one.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highway One Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Highway One Motel to your Saves list
Highway One Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   National Highway One, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Port Augusta
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very well presented and located place and the service number one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stopped over for a night on our way back to qld. What a pleasant place to stop over. The two Guys at the reception have a wonderful personality. The food was awesome. better still is the service by the girl looking after he guests at the restaurant. She is best I have ever seen in the hospitality business. She was the Barmaid, the order taker the lot. the only person on the floor and worked like clock work. We were six of us, She took our orders and and served us with our food without even asking who ordered what, she got each one's order spot on. Now that's what I call........I'm speechless. Good on you girl I wish you every success in your days to come. If the manager is reading this. Please pass on my wishes to that wonderful employee of yours!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
802paullk, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Thank you for the feedback and I will certainly pass on your great comments about our staff member. She will be very happy to hear that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
4
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you are needing a stop over room for the night, or spending a few days in PT Augusta , this motel is great, good rooms, great food, parking for long vehicles, camping, pool , most things you expect when traveling! It is the sort of place you can settle in after a day on the road, enjoy a BBQ area with friends, restaurant, order pizza and have it delivered, just a great place to get the day of travel behind you and enjoy your room.

Room Tip: If you are able to plan ahead and pre book for the night.... get rooms on the far side as truck exha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
802paullk, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Thanks for the great comments. It is really good to hear when people have a nice stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed at Highway One on our way back from a very rushed and emotional road trip from Perth to Melbourne
Reception staff are very helpful answering all questions we had
Accommodation was good be sure to get a room off the highway at the back a little bit more re price but much less noise
Food was great and again staff very pleasant and helpful
Great location when heading east as you are nearly out of Port Augusta right on the Eyre Highway
Would recommend highly

Room Tip: Get rooms set back off the Highway to eliminate road noise coming off the Eyre Highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
802paullk, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give your review on our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Had stayed here in 06 and today I was just as impressed. Travelling from NSW, tired AMD wanting a rest it was a quiet room and a comfy bed. Staff were helpful and reception open till 9:30pm was convenient. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
802paullk, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
We are glad you had a good rest with us Kristy. Thanks for taking the time to post your review about our motel. Travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumby Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

A convenient stop over on the way to Adelaide. Staff were pleasant, room was clean and restaurant food was good. This is not a 5 star motel but it is comfortable and priced accordingly. It is an excellent place to stop overnight.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
802paullk, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our motel. We are glad you were happy with your stay. Hope to see you on the return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Driving a rental truck full,of our household items from Perth WA to Victoria.
Pulled off highway after a long day driving on Nullarbor Plain . A nice greeting at reception. Manager offered for us to put truck at rear of building. We were relieved that there was a dining room and we could eat on site. However I have never sent food back. Ordered rib eye fillet steak as was starving. It came out not looking like a fillet, first look, overlooked, then the taste ! Discusting ! It was either beyond use by date, was over cooked in microwave then fried or cooked on a very dirty pan. "His" meal, a chicken stir fry came with rice plus fries all floating in juice.
The menu was full A la Carte - suggest number of dishes minimized and menu amended to fewer dishes and a bit of quality added.
For a truck stop - Room ok, pool ok, waitstaff ok

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paull K, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We have never had a problem with the Eye Fillets before to our knowledge. It couldn't be anything to do with the age of the meat from our behalf as we get deliveries daily as required from our local butcher. I have spoken to our butcher in regards to this and he was also surprised. We will do our best for that not to happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I recently stayed at this motel while at Port Augusta working. the staff on check in (Two guys) were friendly and helpful. the room was clean and tidy. The only down side was after working in the 43 degree sun all day the cold water in the shower was still about 38. This is due to the above ground water pipe into the town. I had a meal in the restaurant that was fantastic with very friendly waitress. excellent value for money in a standard room.

Room Tip: near the main road so a bit of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paull K, Owner at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thanks for giving us your review. We totally understand about the cold water not being cold during extreme hot weather. We wish this could be changed but unfortunately it is out of our control. We have some other Standard Rooms further to the back of the property which would be a bit quieter next time you visit. There is also our Deluxe Rooms which are double brick buildings, you won't hear any traffic noise in these. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highway One Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highway One Motel

Address: National Highway One, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Port Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highway One Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Highway One Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highway One Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.