We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   468 The Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The rooms are lovely and spacious. The hotel has great pool and gym facilities and is located right across the road from the beach. There is no restaurant on site but there are a couple of restaurants right next door.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieb171, Manager at Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Well, thank you, lovely review, we really hope we can welcome you here again. Always rewarding to us to receive such nice feedback on this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    37
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
64
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We visited in Feb and Hervey Bay was very quiet. Friendly check-in and we negotiated an upgrade to an apartment overlooking a nice pool. Apartment was big, clean and had everything we needed. There is no room servicing (sheet or towel changing) which we hadn't expected, but staying for just 3 nights this was not an issue. Lovely pool with a small number of sun chairs (bring your own towels).
Located midway (15-20 mins walk) between Torquay where there are a small number of restaurants and a small supermarket and Hervey Bay which has fewer restaurants. Good base for a Fraser Island trip, but otherwise quiet and if you don't like walking you will need a car.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieb171, Manager at Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, we like to think Allegra is positioned well in Hervey Bay having so many restaurants nearby or just a short walk along the Esplanade as well as several boutique style businesses and food outlets. Our heated pool is quite beautiful with surrounding sun loungers and dining settings. If there were more sun loungers guests would be unable to have their own comfort zone. The safety issue could be raised if the area is cluttered. Hope you consider Allegra for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We booked the Allegra apartments thru our Accor advantage plus card and got a great rate for the penthouse.
We flew into Hervey Bay from Sydney flying Virgin Australia and picked up a hire car which was very easy....got our bags within 10 minutes and into car within 25min.
Drive out of airport, turn left and takes about 10 minutes to drive to apartments.
We were meet at reception by Derek the Manager/caretaker and checked in.
We had been informed earier about the condition of our penthouse spa pool whick was not working....and offered discouted rate at size per night for the trouble. To us a family with a 6 year old daughter not too much hassle.
Apartment was great...queen bed and ensuite and 2nd bedroom with 2 singles with great size lcd tv in living room and smaller lcd tv in master bedroom. Balcony just outside living room with table and chairs which is nice for meals/drinks/relaxing or head up internal stairs to penthouse where there is a great area with tables and chairs, 2 loungers and spa pool....alll with views over beach.
Pool area was great at front of hotel and did not use any other facilities.
Underground car park was good as was elevator to all floors.
We drove to local shops for supplies and kitchen was well stocked with everthing needed for meals including stainlees bbq on penthouse roof.
We found the italian restaraunt out the front and turn right the best pizza we have ever had...other meals 4 to 5 star as well.
We tried the indian to the left of hotel and the mexican which were both ok.
Overall a good place to stay with Hervey Bay offering alot or nothing to do.
We did full day Fraser Isalsnd trip with hummer personal tours...well worth the extra with Fritz providing a good day out with all the trimmings.
We also di the sunset crise with blue dolphin adventures and found quite good.

Just a side note....pilllows were the most uncomfortable i had ever encounted....but did not deter from a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I recently stayed at the Grand Mecure Allegra Apartment, Hervey Bay. We had a two bedroom penthouse apartment which was very clean and spacious. It was easy to keep clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property to one and all. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very nice apartments, very new, well appointed. Air conditioner compressors noisy and kept me awake even though we turned our air cond off. Torquay is in the middle of the Hervey Bay
region, so you need your car to get around, or to shop at Woollies. Overall we enjoyed our week at Hervey Bay, especially out 4wd trip to Fraser Island.

Room Tip: Ground florr pool access apartments are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

As four adults having spent a week in a camper van, we were absolutely thrilled with our penthouse apartment.

The furniture, fixtures and fittings were all top class and the parking arrangements were ideal. Our linen was changed and the apartment was cleaned once during our 8 day stay, which we thought was adequate and we quite liked the fact that we were left to our own devices for the rest of the time.

However, the absolute highlight for us was the huge private roof terrace with sea view, barbecue, dining table and our own spa bath. At the end of a busy day nothing beats having a large glass of wine under the stars in the warm spa bath with the sound of the waves in the background!

Would have no hesitation in recommending this property and particularly the penthouse to anyone looking to treat themselves to a touch of luxury.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay

Address: 468 The Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3.5 hours drive from Brisbane, Grand Mercure Apartments Allegra Hervey Bay is the ultimate paradise escape. Situated on beautiful Shelly Beach, Grand Mercure Apartments Allegra Hervey Bay is your gateway to Queensland’s World Heritage listed Fraser Island and where humpback whales holiday not just swim past. Offering luxury apartment accommodation on the Esplanade overlooking the magnificent beachfront, the 49 apartment hotel features tropical gardens, lagoon pool, gym and sauna and is just a stroll from boutique shopping, cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.