We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Save Saved
You added Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   166 Urraween Road, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WHALE WATCHING Packages
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Hervey Bay
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for one wet Saturday night after a drive up from the Gold Coast. Rob was very welcoming and we were able to check in straight away despite arriving early. We had a superior room with kingsize bed which was very comfortable. The room was clean and fresh. We didn't get a chance to try the pool as it was raining so hard. The hotel is only 5 mins drive from the esplanade and Rob gave us directions to some nice watering holes and restaurants. Being located a few streets back from the esplanade the hotel is very peaceful and relaxing. We will definitely return for a longer stay as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Snurglefarb,

I'm thrilled you enjoyed our Superior King Rooms and enjoyed your brief stay with us despite being here during the worst of the recent deluge!

I certainly look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip, and I have a lot more great suggestions for eating, drinking and entertaining to share with you!

Hopefully we will see you soon for a longer stay with some sunnier weather.

All the best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
74
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Alan helped me make my reservations (Emeraldene, Fraser Island Tours (excellent too, particularly Annie our tour guide) and Lady Elliot Island (also excellent, particularly staff)) and Rob was there to greet me when I arrived. No restaurant on site, but they will deliver a good breakfast to you the night before and recommend restaurants, some of which also deliver. It rained all but one (fortunately at Lady Elliot so I could get some good pictures) so I really didn't see the beauty of Emeraldene until my last morning and wished I could have stayed there for another day, too. Wonderful place and wonderful people!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Janet,

Thanks so much for your kind words and great review.

I'm glad you had the opportunity to experience and appreciate both Fraser and Lady Elliot Islands on our Eco-Adventure Package, but i'm sorry we couldn't organise some more sunshine for you!! Thankfully you missed the worst of the rain that struck the region, and had the adventurous spirit to enjoy these wonderful experiences despite the weather!

We would have loved to have had you stay for another night - maybe next time.

All the best for the rest of your travels and adventures, and hopefully some sunny day we will see you again in our great region.

Kind regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Emeraldene in January and like previous reviewers used it as a base to visit Fraser Island and Lady Elliott Island. The rooms are clean, spacious and have very comfortable beds. The grounds are well kept and the outdoor swimming pool was a great treat after a hard day’s exploring!

What sets the Emeraldene apart from other places we have stayed in is the level of customer service. Rob was very friendly, personable and always on hand to recommend places to eat, drink or visit in the local area. He seems to have a great relationship with neighbouring restaurants, attractions and tour providers.

As the lodge is a little out of town it may be more appealing to guests who have their own transport but this should not put you off, as Rob can organise a taxi to wherever you need to go at the drop of a hat!

Jess the dog also needs a special mention for her warm welcome and company by the pool!

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area. Keep up the good work Rob!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi JC,

Thanks so much for the awesome review - I really appreciate your positive feedback.

We do have some great relationships with our local tour operator partners, who work with us closely to provide great tours for our packages, and to ensure our guests have a seamless and unequalled experience in our wonderful region. We only deal with and recommend operators who share our passion and focus on customer service and experience.

I'm glad you appreciated our rooms and facilities, and Jess is thrilled she got another Trip Advisor mention!!

It was a pleasure having you with us, and would be wonderful to see you again.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We arrived a day late because of the cyclone: Rob had been so understanding about the delay and had rescheduled or trips out to Lady Eliot Island and Fraser. Hervey Bay is on odd place but Emeraldene with its lovely gardens was a true Oasis. Rob was so helpful with suggestions for eating out and was a wonderful host; highly recommended. The hummer tour and the flight to Lady Eliot also worth doing as the package. Oh and there's a friendly dog !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Jacqueline,

Thanks for your review and kind words. I am glad we were able to change your bookings and you then had the time and flexibility to complete your trips.

Our Fraser & Reef Package is very popular and it does give you the opportunity to experience both Fraser Island and the Great Barrier Reef in a short period of time. I'm thrilled you enjoyed both experiences so much.

Oh and Jess really appreciates her TripAdvisor mention!! She takes her role as "Head of Guest Relations" very seriously!

All the very best and hopefully we may see you again at some stage in the future.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Emeraldene inn and lodge in Hervey Bay for 3 excellent nights. It is a beautiful place to stay and with a pool and BBQ area it is pleasant to spend a few hours in the Emeraldene just relaxing. We got Rob to book a few tours and did the Lady Elliot and Fraser Hummer experience which both were amazing in their own way. It is a little far from the sprawling Hervey Bay centre and it may be best to have transport but there is a shuttle from the local boat club which did run in the evenings if you wanted to leave the car at home.

Rob was a excellent host and his service and his staff made this one of the best places we stayed whilst in Australia. It is immaculately clean the photo's make it a little dated looking but it is the colour scheme. It is very new and modern, just not the typical sterile white walls of most places.

Definitely stay in Emeraldene if you are considering spending time in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Bronagh,

Thanks so much for your kind words and praise. It really was great having you and Jonny stay with us during your honeymoon in Australia. I am also happy that you got some great experiences on Lady Elliot and Fraser Island despite the little hiccup !

I hope the rest of your honeymoon trip to Australia was awesome, and that you always have some special memories of the Fraser Coast.

It would be great to see you both again - maybe a return trip for your 10th wedding anniversary???

All the best for your future together.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Remember what it was like when you went to a motel/hotel anything and the person behind the counter was happy that you were in their business.... Well go to the Inn and you will remember. We were actually greeted and given maps and information and made to feel welcome. The room was clean and well appointed. Very happy to recommend for a stay in Hervey Bay. Thank you Rob.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Travelbug,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and I am thrilled you appreciated my attention to customer service. We have some wonderful sites, restaurants, tours and things to do in our incredible region. I am very proud of what we have on our doorstep, and I am passionate about sharing this with our visitors. Its all about everyone leaving the Fraser Coast with great experiences and beautiful memories.

I do hope we get an opportunity to have you stay with us again.

All the very best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at the Emeraldene Inn and Eco-Lodge the night before our excursion to Fraser Island. It was exactly as advertised and I would highly recommend it. Located away from the Esplanade it is an ideal rest stop in advance of a Fraser Island adventure or for anyone choosing to spend some time in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Chuck,

Thanks for your review and positive comments.

As you suggest, the information and images of our property and facilities on our website are exactly as they appear. I endeavour to update our images regularly (and personally take all images) - the rooms and facilties are exactly as they appear.

I am very glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Australia.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Address: 166 Urraween Road, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge is a peaceful and relaxing eco-resort offering modern and impeccably presented accommodations. It is located in the peaceful Pialba region of Hervey Bay, and features 14 rooms set amongst two magnificent acres of natural bushland and landscaped gardens. This family owned and operated boutique resort provides true Australian hospitality with a commitment to ensuring friendly, personalized service and reliable local advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, T4B, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraldene Hotel Eco
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.