We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge to your Saves list
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   166 Urraween Road, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Whale Watch Packages
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
GreenLeadersSilver level
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
179 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in September 2012 and enjoyed the place. We were welcomed by very friendly and got some information about the place. The room is big and has everything you need and we had a great little couch outside to enjoy the evenings with a cold drink. Some birds and frogs joined us. It is very good value in my opinion at just 95 AUD for a double room. The only disadvantage is that it is a bit out of the action in Hervey Bay, but basically few places are walkable in Hervey Bay as it is spread out over many kilometres.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi Michael,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience - and I'm glad you got some time to chat with our native birds, frogs and wildlife!!

As you suggest, most visitors don't realise that Hervey Bay is not a small village, but spread out over 16 kms, with no real centre of town. It is a difficult town to navigate without a vehicle regardless of where you stay.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    52
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
95
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

What a charming and generally peaceful location. We stayed for one night on our journey south along the Bruce Highway. After three very disrupted nights, this was much quieter and relaxing - just a little evening noise from neighbours smoking on their verandah (although this did not go on late), and some morning traffic noise from the road.
Room with kitchenette - generally well equipped.
Owner very helpful suggesting local places to see, and to eat.
Wish we could have stayed longer - and this would have allowed us to go whale watching - but on a tight deadline to see friends in Brisbane.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi Montbelle,

Thanks heaps for your review and positive comments. A shame you didn't have more time to spend with us this time, but hopefully on your next trip you can budget 2 or 3 days to explore our fantastic region.

We would love to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed 7 nights and were very happy with the accommodation, the service was excellent, Rob is a wealth of information. He had been such a help when we first started booking our Hervey Bay holiday and was able to recommend tours and places to go, that in the end we booked our entire itinerary with him, which included Lady Elliot Island, Fraser Is and Whale watching. Everything worked our wonderfully and we enjoyed our time there immensely. We had a family room which was spacious and very comfortable. Would recommend having a car for getting around Hervey Bay however there is a very good limo service available if needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi Sharon,

Thanks for your great comments and endorsement! I'm so glad you had the opportunity to spend some time in the region and experience everything that makes this great part of the world amazing!

My aim is to make travel to our region easy and hassle free, by providing some great packages and by organising complete itineraries for my guests. I am so glad that I managed to get a great package together for you and make your travel easy.

It would be great to see you again.

All the very best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A one night stop travelling North. Immaculate room and very friendly reception, Rob was very informative and helpful. Its a bit out of town if you want a few beers but taxis were no problem. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi Richie,

Thanks for your review - I appreciate it!

Its a pity you only had the opportunity for 1 night with us, but maybe next visit you can budget some time to see the World Heritage listed offerings in our region.

We would certainly love to see you again.

All the best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Aus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This motel was a great find. We stayed for 3 nights. Amazing value with a resort type room . The king size bed was amazingly comfortable ( weve stayed in other places that cost triple for the night and the bed hasnt been as good), and it was quiet and the motel is in a lovely green environment. It is out of town, but this is not an issue if you have your own car and we did fraser island and whale watching where we were picked up by the tour companies so it wasnt a problem.
There is a pool, bbq area, a good laundry and good basic kitchen facilities.The room was very clean. The owner was also helpful in suggesting tours and things to do in the area.

Room Tip: Superior room was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi Robrod,

Thanks so much for your great review!

I have spent a great deal of my life travelling, and I know personally the importance of a great bed!! The bedding in our rooms is our biggest investment, and we have a policy of replacing beds at a maximum of 3 years (we donate the beds we replace to local charities). Our King size beds are REAL king beds - not those zip together ones where you disappear down the middle. Our king beds have duck down toppers that ensure the perfect sleep.

I'm glad you got the opportunity to experience Fraser Island and the whales - so next time you come back I can organise a trip to Lady Elliot Island to see the reef!!

I hope we get the opportunity to see you again soon.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Previous reviews led us to stay at Emeraldene. We were not disappointed. The gardens were a delight – so much nicer than looking out on car park. The room was spacious and clean. We appreciated the mini kitchen and the fact that we could leave the doors (screened) on each side of the room open for cross ventilation. There is road noise during the day but at night it was very quiet.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi Lird,

Thanks for your review - I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We designed our rooms to reflect the true Australian lifestyle of enjoying the outdoors and our magnificent climate. As you say, our rooms have a locckabe screen door at the entrance and at the garden balcony so you can leave the room open (but locked) and enjoy cool and fresh cross ventilation!

I hope you get the opportunity to visit us again. We would love to have you with us.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night in August. It is a lovely setting and the rooms are large and very clean. We would recommend it to any couples or families. You are some way from Hervey Bay main town so will need a car if you are staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi BuddhaSolihull,

Thanks so much for your review.

I am so glad you found our rooms to be spacious and very clean, as I am particularly obsessive about presenting the highest quality of cleanliness and service!

I'm sorry you only had the opportunity to stay with us and within the region for one night, but maybe you can budget some more time with us next trip. We would love to see you again.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
5.1 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#3 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#2 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#15 of 23 in Hervey Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa
Oceans Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Urangan
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
5.6 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.7 mi away
Main Street Motel
Main Street Motel
#4 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Address: 166 Urraween Road, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge is a peaceful and relaxing eco-resort offering modern and impeccably presented accommodations. It is located in the peaceful Pialba region of Hervey Bay, and features 14 rooms set amongst two magnificent acres of natural bushland and landscaped gardens. This family owned and operated boutique resort provides true Australian hospitality with a commitment to ensuring friendly, personalized service and reliable local advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraldene Hotel Eco
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.