We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location, but close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Save Saved
You added Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   166 Urraween Road, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WHALE WATCHING Packages
Ranked #4 of 24 hotels in Hervey Bay
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Peaceful location, but close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

What a charming and generally peaceful location. We stayed for one night on our journey south along the Bruce Highway. After three very disrupted nights, this was much quieter and relaxing - just a little evening noise from neighbours smoking on their verandah (although this did not go on late), and some morning traffic noise from the road.
Room with kitchenette - generally well equipped.
Owner very helpful suggesting local places to see, and to eat.
Wish we could have stayed longer - and this would have allowed us to go whale watching - but on a tight deadline to see friends in Brisbane.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi Montbelle,

Thanks heaps for your review and positive comments. A shame you didn't have more time to spend with us this time, but hopefully on your next trip you can budget 2 or 3 days to explore our fantastic region.

We would love to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    35
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
70
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed 7 nights and were very happy with the accommodation, the service was excellent, Rob is a wealth of information. He had been such a help when we first started booking our Hervey Bay holiday and was able to recommend tours and places to go, that in the end we booked our entire itinerary with him, which included Lady Elliot Island, Fraser Is and Whale watching. Everything worked our wonderfully and we enjoyed our time there immensely. We had a family room which was spacious and very comfortable. Would recommend having a car for getting around Hervey Bay however there is a very good limo service available if needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi Sharon,

Thanks for your great comments and endorsement! I'm so glad you had the opportunity to spend some time in the region and experience everything that makes this great part of the world amazing!

My aim is to make travel to our region easy and hassle free, by providing some great packages and by organising complete itineraries for my guests. I am so glad that I managed to get a great package together for you and make your travel easy.

It would be great to see you again.

All the very best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A one night stop travelling North. Immaculate room and very friendly reception, Rob was very informative and helpful. Its a bit out of town if you want a few beers but taxis were no problem. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi Richie,

Thanks for your review - I appreciate it!

Its a pity you only had the opportunity for 1 night with us, but maybe next visit you can budget some time to see the World Heritage listed offerings in our region.

We would certainly love to see you again.

All the best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Aus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This motel was a great find. We stayed for 3 nights. Amazing value with a resort type room . The king size bed was amazingly comfortable ( weve stayed in other places that cost triple for the night and the bed hasnt been as good), and it was quiet and the motel is in a lovely green environment. It is out of town, but this is not an issue if you have your own car and we did fraser island and whale watching where we were picked up by the tour companies so it wasnt a problem.
There is a pool, bbq area, a good laundry and good basic kitchen facilities.The room was very clean. The owner was also helpful in suggesting tours and things to do in the area.

Room Tip: Superior room was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi Robrod,

Thanks so much for your great review!

I have spent a great deal of my life travelling, and I know personally the importance of a great bed!! The bedding in our rooms is our biggest investment, and we have a policy of replacing beds at a maximum of 3 years (we donate the beds we replace to local charities). Our King size beds are REAL king beds - not those zip together ones where you disappear down the middle. Our king beds have duck down toppers that ensure the perfect sleep.

I'm glad you got the opportunity to experience Fraser Island and the whales - so next time you come back I can organise a trip to Lady Elliot Island to see the reef!!

I hope we get the opportunity to see you again soon.

Regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Previous reviews led us to stay at Emeraldene. We were not disappointed. The gardens were a delight – so much nicer than looking out on car park. The room was spacious and clean. We appreciated the mini kitchen and the fact that we could leave the doors (screened) on each side of the room open for cross ventilation. There is road noise during the day but at night it was very quiet.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi Lird,

Thanks for your review - I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We designed our rooms to reflect the true Australian lifestyle of enjoying the outdoors and our magnificent climate. As you say, our rooms have a locckabe screen door at the entrance and at the garden balcony so you can leave the room open (but locked) and enjoy cool and fresh cross ventilation!

I hope you get the opportunity to visit us again. We would love to have you with us.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had a couple of nights at the Emeraldene last week. I chose it based on TA reviews and found it to be worthy of all the plaudits and its ranking. It is a lovely quiet location, in a tropical garden setting. As others have said transport is essential as it is a little way off the main drag. The Superior room with king size bed was excellent. Rob, the owner, was great, friendly and helpful. An excellent spot and I shall return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi Dogsrock,

Thanks for your great endorsement! I'm glad you enjoyed our Superior Rooms.

As from the start of this month we have installed ceiling fans (in addition to the existing air-con) in our Superior Rooms, for the added comfort of our guests. The Superior Rooms also now include free WiFi (as well as the usual plunger coffee and bottled water).

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and I do hope we see you again soon.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night in August. It is a lovely setting and the rooms are large and very clean. We would recommend it to any couples or families. You are some way from Hervey Bay main town so will need a car if you are staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldene, Owner at Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi BuddhaSolihull,

Thanks so much for your review.

I am so glad you found our rooms to be spacious and very clean, as I am particularly obsessive about presenting the highest quality of cleanliness and service!

I'm sorry you only had the opportunity to stay with us and within the region for one night, but maybe you can budget some more time with us next trip. We would love to see you again.

Best regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge

Also Known As:
Emeraldene Hotel Eco
Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Address: 166 Urraween Road, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge is a peaceful and relaxing eco-resort offering modern and impeccably presented accommodations. It is located in the peaceful Pialba region of Hervey Bay, and features 14 rooms set amongst two magnificent acres of natural bushland and landscaped gardens. This family owned and operated boutique resort provides true Australian hospitality with a commitment to ensuring friendly, personalized service and reliable local advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, T4B, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emeraldene Inn & Eco-Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.