We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming stay well run by a lovely couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Arlia Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Arlia Sands to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Arlia Sands
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   13 - 15 Ann Street, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Welcoming stay well run by a lovely couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here over the Christmas holidays in ground floor apartment No 4, we checked into the apartment in the afternoon and it was ready immediately with a nice welcome by the owners. On first impressions it looks quite sparse but it was very clean and well equipt its what you make of it so over the Christmas holidays we had everything we needed and made it like HOME FROM HOME (no oven but some do have them so mention if you want one) open plan lounge dining area large tv dvd patio doors to entrance with outdoor seating area & parking bay, kitchen has all we needed full size fridge/freezer which was great for all our beers & spirits, kitchen has a door leading to a outdoor lawned garden with clothes line, two double bedrooms one with double bed other with 2 singles, nice clean shower room with proper hairdryer air con to living area, ceiling fans to bedrooms. The highlight of our stay was Christmas Eve we had the family round and used the outdoor bbq area next to the pool there was quite a group of us so there was plenty room for dining with 2 tables the children & adults were able to swim in the lovely pool (heated) which also has sun loungers & tables & chairs, we had a lovely time which went into the evening the owners came out to join us and Brian brought out a stereo for our cds so we partied and played our Christmas carols before retiring to the apartment to wrap our prezzies for the day ahead. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners they were friendly helpful and know their stuff when it comes to customer service, we had a great time thank you both and best wishes on your Europe trip. Only negative is its a little far out of town, you would need to drive, the couple we were with have stayed in Hervey Bay before and their local is the Torquay so one of us had to drive to the Esplanade, however having said that the beach is as the bottom of the street and if you want a more peaceful location then its ideal. We would definitely return all the best for 2013.

Room Tip: If you require an oven it would be worth mentioning this on reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
22
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

we have stayed here a few times over the last year or so and have allways found the units very clean and the staff excellent. this weekend we stayed in a premium unit and it was very good. Large enough for 3 people and pretty much every thing in the kitchen you need.Only thing missing was a diswasher. A great location in easy walking distance to the beach. would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Appartments fairly clean at first sight but a bit run down and grubby and in need of a renovation. Kitchen clearly lacking a dishwasher as we had to rinse most of the dishes from the cupboards before being able to use them. Nice location close to Beach and Restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here for three nights and was very happy with the accommodation. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Everthing was provided and the surrounds were very quiet and close to the beach. Staff were very friendly and we were able to book our whale watching tour when we checked in. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed in U20, which was a one bedroom suite. It was more like an apartment though, with a full kitchen (the only thing it didn't have was a dishwasher).

The kitchen was modern, the linen was clean and fairly new and the furniture was comfortable and more than the standard hotel sized stuff (good to look at but useless).

This place was only a block away from the beach and would be great for backpackers, families or people like me travelling on business.

I would stay here again whether for business or pleasure.

The only niggle was that there was no soap in the bathroom on arrival - small thing I know.

Room Tip: Take a suite and save money making your own breakfasts and dinners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Arlia Sands Resort is in Ann St, in the suburb of Torquay in Hervey Bay. It is located one block back from the seafront and all the shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance.
Walking distance is relevant in Hervey Bay as it is a large town on the coast at the northern tip of Fraser Island approx. 3 hrs north by road or train/bus from Brisbane. A car is ideal in Hervey Bay as there are many local towns and villages to visit, and if you are into fishing Hervey Bay itself, Toogum and Burrum Heads are close by. There is also a large Boat Club and RSL Club but not within close walking distance.
Arlia Sands is toward the southern end of the bay but it is a beautiful walk, for a good 10kms if you are so inclined, along the sand and returning along the beachfront. The walkway has been landscaped along the sand dunes and there are many public toilets and BBQ areas incorporated into the beachfront. There are also three large caravan aprks along the foreshore and a total of seven in Hervey Bay.
The other side of the road is basically accommodation, of all types from backpackers to 5 star resorts, and shops and restaurants. There is a large variety of restaurants and all seemed to be open even though it appeared to be relatively quiet for this time of the year. August is Whale Watching month in Hervey Bay and it is normally very busy with many operators offering whale watching cruises.
There were two supermarkets, post office, banks and ATMs close by and two hotels and bottle shops all along the beachfront. With a car there is every major retail outlet available in Hervey Bay within 10 minutes’ drive as well as the clubs and medical facilities. All told it is well set up for a pleasant holiday, particularly at this time of the year when the weather is not too hot.
Arlia Sands is a resort complex of two main buildings on either side of a central driveway. On the left hand side there were two buildings joined by a wooden “bridge”. On the other side there was one large building. Each unit has its own parking space, either under cover or under a shade cloth awning. There were 24 units of either one or two bedrooms. At the road end there is a swimming pool and BBQ area, again under a shade cloth awning. The reception staff were pleasant both on arrival and departure, and other than that we had no need to go there. There is a coin operated laundry and dryer room and clothes lines along the outside of the property. Clothes baskets and clothes pegs were available in the unit.
We were in an upstairs two-bedroom unit. It was quiet, except for the last two days when a group with children moved in to units past us. Their only access was across the wooden bridge mentioned previously. Unfortunately the boards weren’t secured and, kids being kids, they ran back and forward constantly which created a large banging noise every time they ran across. That said it was the only complaint we had all week and we were leaving the next day so we coped. Just try to avoid unit 11 or 12 as they would be the only ones affected.
I would suggest that the resort had been renovated not long ago. The paintwork was clean and neutral and the furnishings looked relatively new. There was a lounge opening into a reasonable kitchen, bathroom with shower and toilet and two bedrooms, one with a queen bed and two singles in the other. The beds and bedding were comfortable and there was air conditioning in the lounge and fans in the bedrooms, not that we needed any of it with a pleasant 24 degrees most days. Might be a bit different in summer. The units on our side had sliding doors and flyscreens opening on to the balcony, however I noticed that those on the opposite side had swinging doors and no screen doors.
There was a digital TV, CD and a DVD player. The TV also had some pay TV channels.
The kitchen was reasonably well equipped with a large fridge/freezer, dishwasher, gas cooktop and microwave. The only noticeable absence was any form of oven or electric frypan. There were ample utensils, glassware, crockery and cutlery, all in good condition.
There was also a quantity of cleaning material and a starter kit of coffee/tea etc.
We had booked through our timeshare so I can’t comment on the costs of the units but for what they offered they were good value and centrally located only a block from one of the nicest beaches you will come across. There is a sailing club, outrigger club and surf club along the foreshore if you want to get physically involved as well as a fitness trail.
However the highlight had to be Sunday breakfast at the restaurant on the seafront looking out over a calm sea with a crystal clear sky overhead. Well someone has got to do it!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 11 and 12 on the top floor next to the footbridge because of the noise of people crossin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

There are many fine areas of this accommodation but it really is overpriced for what you get. A $145 for a one night stay - because it is "whale season" and everything is supposedly in high demand (all evidence to the contrary!!) - is a bit rich. We tried it but there is better value elsewhere.

The staff were accommodating - asked for a ground floor unit and got and early check in and little later check out. Can't complain about their efforts.

Rooms are a reasonable size but small kitchen area. Some places advertise these units as self-contained ... But there is no laundry in them - there is a pay per use version in the complex. Bathroom was a little run down but clean.

Bedrooms are a decent size but it was a reasonably cold night when we were there and the location of the reverse cycle air conditioner in the kitchen meant the bedrooms were extremely cold. Only one extra blanket was in the room ... Which of course was not realized until bedtime!

The biggest complaint ... And I don't know why accommodation places do this .... White holland or roman blinds on the windows. They do not block out the light effectively and there is a gap on each side so you never get a really dark room to sleep in. Making it worse, outside unit 6 where we were was a light that stayed on all night. It meant it was hard to get kids to sleep and they woke up early in the morning .... Not ideal! Some curtains to black out the rooms would help - summer would be a nightmare!!

Overall the units are okay, management outstanding, but value for money is poor.

Thanks for our stay but we will only be back after exhausting other options!

Room Tip: The further away from the road the better .. The hoons in Hervey Bay have no problem with making noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Arlia Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Arlia Sands

Address: 13 - 15 Ann Street, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Arlia Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Esplanade at Torquay, Arlia Sands is the perfect location for a quiet relaxing holiday. Beautiful Shelly Beach is only 75m away. One and two bedroom, air-conditioned, self-contained apartments with Cable TV, CD/DVD player and undercover parking. Enjoy our 11m heated pool and BBQ terrace with friends and family. Close to shops, restaurants and bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Arlia Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Arlia Sands Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Arlia Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.