We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Main Street Motel to your Saves list
Main Street Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   44 Main Street, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Personal and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well appointed, great value. Great little extras like provision of bucket and sponge to clean your car windscreen, who would have thought this level of service is still available. I was really impressed that a simple but sensible continental breakfast is provided. Not to be out done the jams provided are home made and local.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Owner at Main Street Motel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Stephen, thank you so much !!! Pleased you like my jam - trust you have a safe journey back home. Kind regards, Mary and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Main Street Motel for two nights and used this as a base for our Fraser Island tour.

Mary was lovely and very helpful with local information. The rooms were big, clean and looked like they had been updated recently. The shower was excellent.

The kitchen area was nice and so was the continental breakfast!

Location wise there is a Cole's supermarket within walking distance. Would recommend the Main Street Motel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Owner at Main Street Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello, thank you for your comments Sandra - we appreciate all guests remarks - very happy you enjoyed your stay here with us. Have a wonderful time here in Australia and travel safely back home. Kind regards, Mary and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Mary and Rob are the nicest motel owners I've met. We were made to feel at home from the minute we checked in. They were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Mary even gave us some of her delicious homemade hot cross buns! Mary's homemade jams in the continental breakfast packs were also lovely.

The rooms were spacious, clean and beautifully presented. The beds were comfortable and the area was quiet enough for a good nights sleep.

Loved the free bike hire. We cycled the full length of the Esplanade to the marina, it was beautiful.

Would definitely recommend the Main Street Motel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Owner at Main Street Motel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi Elaine, Thank you so much for your kind comments !! Pleased you liked the buns (it was my first attempt !!) We really do try hard to please our guests - love getting feedback both positive and negative (I think). Enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Kind regards, Mary and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We two Ladies shared a room whilst attending a function at the RSL Hervey Bay.
The rom was most convenient ,well equipped with continental breakfast included.
Spotlessly clean,good quality linen and good sized towels.
Serviced daily.
The owners were most helpful and very nice.
An added feature is the security.Gate locked at 9.30 pm ,with the room key to access lock .a great innovation.
Truly reccommend the Motel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: All ground level so any roomis ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Owner at Main Street Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
Hi Joy, Thank you ! We are trying to think of new ideas all the time, so we really appreciate your feedback regarding the gates. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Mary and Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Feel at home here, the owners are so helpful & friendly. They pick you up from your drop off point & advise you of the things to do. They are so helpful & courteous & go out of there way to help you, so you have a wonderful stay! The rooms are lovely, spacious & clean! Would recommend this accommodation to anyone. The owners Mary & Rob can't do enough for you!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Owner at Main Street Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
Hi Chris, Thank you so much - we really appreciate your feed back !! We love our "wee" Motel and enjoy looking after our guests. Hope to see you again one day - safe travels !! Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

We checked into Main Street Motel for three nights. Fantastic room, spacious and recently fully refurbished and clean as clean. Mary and Rob treated us like family nothing is too much trouble .Courtesy transport to and from transit stations. Continental brekky is very welcome. Bathroom pristine. Air con, free Wi Fi , microwave, kitchen sink, tea coffee bikkies were a great inclusion. Pool great and much appreciated in very hot weather. Free bikes to ride to the beach
Very handy to R.S.L club and local supermarkets. Bed fantastic and no night noises from outside the rooms. They will book your daily trips . We will not hesitate to rebook this very reasonably priced and friendly motel just to say hello to Mary and Rob once again. Happy bookings Mary and Rob.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Owner at Main Street Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Hi Carol, thank you so much for your review. We love our "little" Motel and try our best to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Mary and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

I have just checked out of this lovely motel after a two night stay. I can honestly say that I don't think I have ever encountered such hospitality from anywhere I have stayed in the past and I stay in a lot of hotels for work and pleasure.
The room was fantastic and clean to within an inch of its life. Bed was comfortable, decor great, wifi brilliant, bathroom spacious and the shower was lovely. Literally the only thing than niggled me was having to have the curtains closed a lot as it felt more private as the window was at ground level and people could see in. Though I hate net curtains they may have come in useful.
The best things about the place through were the owners Mary and Rob. So friendly and genuinely lovely people. I was sad to leave them. They picked me up from the Greyhound stop and dropped me at the airport and the lend of a free bike during my stay was most welcome.
If I ever have the good fortune to return to Hervey Bay I will be re-booking this motel for sure.
Thanks so much Mary and Robert.

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Owner at Main Street Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Hi there, thank you so much for your great review ! We enjoyed having you - our guests comfort is paramount ! Thanks for the idea about net curtains - we have been wondering what to do about the windows and keeping the curtains closed - maybe that is a good way to go. Travel safely back to the UK - we may meet again one day. Kind regards, Mary and Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Motel

Address: 44 Main Street, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Main Street Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality new REFURBISHED Deluxe units, with two family units. FREE continental breakfast and FREE Wi-Fi. All units have a microwave, toaster, kettle, crockery and cutlery, air conditioning. We have a lovely pool for your enjoyment. Centrally located in the heart of Hervey Bay, minutes from shopping centres, restaurants, clubs and Beach. We offer a free courtesy shuttle to & from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Main Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Motel Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.