We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Lakeside Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Lakeside Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Alexander Lakeside Bed & Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Lido Parade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hervey Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hanover, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed the night before going to Fraser Island and it was a great stay, great location-very nice house, we felt like at home. We had a great evening at balcony and a wonderful breakfast with all what you can wish and a peacful view directly to the lake with lots of birds. Unfortunately we had only one night at this great place, hope we come back one time!!!
Thanks for all, Sharon and john and all the best for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
152
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wollongong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Faultless. calling it b&b is a bit of a misnomer,
Our apartment was huge with a peaceful outlook onto a lagoon, ideal for relaxation,
a class establishment run by down to earth people.
Generous breakfast and a well set out kitchen, dishes are collected washed and returned when you out, its just hassle free.
arthur d

Room Tip: Upstairs floor overlooking the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

great location - wonderful house - wonderful hosts - felt like at home - talking with john and sharon about god and the world while having breakfast!! GREAT hummer tour! i love your pets! thanks for this wonderful stay! see you again when we come back for whale watching!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed the night before going to Fraser Island and also stayed for a night when returning and left our car on the drive whilst we were away. This is really an impressive B&B to arrive at, and for us Brits, straight out of Grand Designs! We had the run of the downstairs of the house and enjoyed breakfast on the patio whilst overlooking the lake. Although we had the downstairs room, the upstairs rooms are exceptional, spacious and stunning. Sharon and John were very friendly hosts and good to talk to. Breakfast was very good and healthy. Nothing was too much trouble.

The B&B is a little way from the promenade and too far to walk, so we had to use the car in the evening to visit the restaurants on the promenade.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Not quite true, the land was first; my wife and I bought the land after deciding to move to Hervey Bay from Canberra where we have lived for more than half a century. Not that we don't love Canberra but the long cold winters don't agree with old bones - in fact Canberra is a greatly underrated TREASURE to live in or visit. Having to interview and select a builder we decided that we couldn't do better than stay nearby to get a feel for the area and meet some of the locals (its only 250m away).
We had 6 days at Alexander Lakeside; 4 days in the Lakeview Suite and 2 in the Sunrise Suite.Both are very comfortable with full kitchen, minibar and a great bed, as well as all the little touches that mark an excellent B&B. However, the view from the Lakeview Suite and the downstairs living areas is wonderful - there is nothing like a Lake edged with a variety of greenery and frequented by black swans, ducks, waterhens etc to provide a relaxing atmosphere. The turtles add a further dimension to the picture as they slowly glide across the watergrass beds.
Breakfast provisions are excellent and sufficient to provide the basics for a light lunch. Also, muffins to have with coffee and, sherry and chocolates after dinner or before bed complete the caring touch provided by Sharon and John (if,John IS his real name; he looks like Ralph Fiennes...."slumming in HB?") Lucky Sharon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed one night on our way out to the reef and thoroughly enjoyed this peaceful lakeside retreat. As others have said, Sharon was friendly, flexible and accommodating. We decided to stay in and order takeaway from a local restaurant - very easy thanks to the detailed information provided. We also thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Sharon was in attendance when we arrived and treated us to tea and cake. She explained that we would be unattended overnight (albeit with ample contact information) and that we should help ourselves to toast and the pre prepared breakfast items in the fridge. Loads of it. free chocolate too. We stayed one night, went overnight to Fraser Island and returned for another night. Sharon arranged the trip for us and it went without a hitch. We were able to travel light to FI since Sharon allowed us to leave the bulk of our stuff securely in her B & B and take the house key with us so it didn't matter what time we returned. The lakeside view and the wildlife were fantastic and we were made to feel very much at home and more as friends than guests.

Room Tip: Quietly yet conveniently situated. Lakeview rooms have the edge but the others looked OK (we peeked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Lakeside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Lakeside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 29 Lido Parade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alexander Lakeside Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh and revitalize at Alexander Lakeside Bed & Breakfast, the most awarded luxury boutique accommodation in Hervey Bay. Our Bed & Breakfast is nestled beside a tranquil, fresh water lake, teeming with native bird and aquatic life, where each morning you can enjoy a delicious breakfast basket for two by the lake and feed our resident turtles. We encourage you to utilise our expert local knowledge & booking services to arrange your tours to the World Heritage listed Fraser Island, Lady Elliot Island, one of only three island resorts on the Great Barrier Reef or an up close and very personal Whale Watching experience on one of the many professional whale watching boats operating in the Great Sandy Marine Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Lakeside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Lakeside Bed & Breakfast Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Lakeside Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.