We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for what you pay, needs updating but for price n cleaness you can't complain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hervey Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
249 Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 hotels in Hervey Bay
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great value for what you pay, needs updating but for price n cleaness you can't complain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Is located near hervey bay waterpark so great if you want to spend time there or at beach. Stayed new years n had no probs with noise even thou bar and restaurant next door and it's handy for cheap meals or bottle shop. Things are tiered but kept very clean n that stood out that it was clean, pool kept neat n clean n rooms were large n aircon worked well. Great for what we payed. Just go there realising it's tiered but tidy and clean.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

For $80 we were impressed with the size of the room. There were two cane armchairs, the varnish of which was quite worn. The bathroom was tiny, with the shower over the bath.
The carpets need replacing in the lobby and corridors as they are threadbare and grubby..However, the carpet in our room was in better condition. In our bathroom the vanity counter had a large crack right across it. The surface was lifting on the side of the cupboard where teamaking was sited showing the chipboard beneath. The bistro of the hotel was handy and the meals very good, making it un-necessary for us to go into town. The night we were there they had the Tuesday special "buy one get one free meal deal". This made it a very economical stay. It was a good one night stop-over. With some upgrading it would be a lot nicer facility more in keeping with the outside appearance. We had a room at the front but were not bothered by traffic noise. The facility is a long way from town, being at the Point Vernon end of Hervey Bay. It is at the opposite end of the Bay to the Marina should visitors intend to go on the whale watching cruises.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

POSITIVE :
Nice location,close to the water and walkway along the beach area, BAR located at the rear of the premises if you like a drink and dont want to drive ,undercover parking when spot available. Fairly quiet if you get the front location however not sure about the rooms at the rear being so close to the Bar .

NEGATIVES.
Staff did not offer an upgrade (paid or completmentry)to a bigger room or room with a balcony, obviousley they were not full. The reception area in the least to say requires a major upgrade the Carpert was dirty and threadbare in most areas. Breakfast pack was available for purchase however would rather go to a local Cafe. The lift was old and the carpet again threadbare and getting to the part of being dangerous. I was situated on the 2nd floor and upon entering noticed that again the Carpet needed to be changed and further $100 of paint and some elbow grease would have bought the room up, I dont want to see paint peeling off the walls pay for a better painter next time. The small kitchen area was ok but the opening door for breakfast went out in the 70s a little upgrade there..
Its now the Digital age and TVs are not that expensive and better if the old ones you have work, had to call the desk and have the one changed which they did with another old TV.
The bedding and headboard needs to be bought into the 21st Century as the nostalgic look of the 70s is gone. The bathroom is ok and good size for the unit.
On checking out ,well I just dropped off the key to a lady who must have worked, but she was not not wearing any type of uniform or clothing that depicted her as an employee.

CONCLUSION.
To the owners, you have to spend money to make money, you have a great location and the rooms are a good size lets not cheapen out, you need to upgrade this property or you will go the way of the Dinasours. I was there for the Whale Festival and have now been looking for a new location for next year. Carpet is not expensive and painting is fairly cheap I am sure there is people out there to do it, charge an extra $5 per night per room and you will get it back 10 fold in the end.
MY RATING 2.5 STAR WITH GREAT ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very basic. The room & building are dated, frayed, and a bit musty.
The website boasts 'superb views of the bay' but my room had a view of the top of a palm tree and of the busy road that separates the hotel from a caravan park
Also, this is in no way 'centrally located', but a good 3km at least from shops/restaurants
For the money, and for one night only, it was just about acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort is a decent budget option.

The whole place looks a bit dated, especially the rooms. Our room was big and clean, but the carpet was pretty much worn out and the room looked tired.

Our room had a fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, iron, TV, airconditioning and a ceiling fan. It also had a balcony with a nice view over the ocean (although upon arriving we were charged extra for the balcony even though we had booked it). There is also a pool.

There is a busy road right in front of the resort, which can be noisy both during the day and in the early evening. Also, although the place has a pub attached (with a restaurant) you really need to drive to the other local restaurants, unless you enjoy long walks.

There's a caravan park accross the road from the hotel, so don't expect uninterrupted views of the ocean. However if you're on the first floor, you'll get a pretty good view of the sea.

All up, Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort is an ok place to stay if you're making a stopover in Hervey Bay. But if you're staying any longer, I'd suggest you stay at other accomodation in Hervey Bay

  • Liked — Good view of the ocean
  • Disliked — Being charged extra for our room, rooms need renovating
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Beachside Motor Inn
Beachside Motor Inn
#19 of 23 in Hervey Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Free Parking, I...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Hervey Bay Motel
Hervey Bay Motel
#18 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#3 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
3.9 mi away
Kondari Resort Hervey Bay
Resort hotel, M...
Show More
4.5 mi away
Boat Harbour Resort
Boat Harbour Resort
#1 of 4 in Urangan
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort

Address: 249 Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 hotels in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort to your Saves list