We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Hervey Bay

Save Saved
You added Mantra Hervey Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Hervey Bay
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We decided to spend one night here on the spur of the moment and, as always, we had a great time. Having asked for a quiet room, we were on the top floor and heard nothing from check-in to checkout. Beautiful view (the ocean was the deepest turquoise I've ever seen) and the Boat Club is right next door for a meal and a few drinks. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Jenny T,

Thank you for your review, and also for being a regular guest at Mantra Hervey Bay. It certainly is a terrific experience when you can walk back from the Hervey Bay Boat Club after a meal and drinks and sit out on your balcony and take in the stunning views of the Great Sandy Strait.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    125
    69
    26
    23
See reviews for
54
163
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Clearly my experience of this hotel was quite different to others. Although the front desk staff try their best, ultimately if the room is not clean, then the hotel experience is not good.

Someone needs to closely monitor the cleaning and maintenance of this hotel. I can't recall being in a room that smelled as bad of felt as dirty as the room I had at this hotel. The lining of the bed was ripped and falling on to the floor. The glasses were filthy and covered in some kind of thick residue. It actually looked like layers of salt spray but could have been something nastier.

I will not stay here again. There are plenty of better places close by and at comparable prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear seaview088,

I must apologise that you have experienced a clearly sub-standard stay with us at Mantra Hervey Bay. The room should never have been presented in such away as to leave you feeling like it was smelly and dirty. I can only imagine that somewhere along the line we have made a mistake with the inspection process for this room. I am sorry that this impacted on your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We just stayed the one night on our way to Lady Elliot Island and they were very accommodating and allowed us to leave our rental car in their secure parking for the duration of our stay at Lady Elliot free of charge.
The room was clean and very well equipped and would be suitable for self catering.
The reception staff were very friendly, we arrived ahead of check in time but it was no problem and we were able to go straight to our room.
Good view from our room.
We were pleased with our choice of accommodation at Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear smandkjc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. Quite a few guests use Mantra as an overnighter on their way to and from the beautiful Lady Elliot Island.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our reception team. They certainly aim to please.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

this place is lovely, we got a free upgrade to a swim up room which I didnt realise they had but definately worth getting, we had two children Miss 4 and Miss 2 and they loved being able to jump in the pool from our balcony. We travelled in Aug so it was very quiet but the heated pool was warm enough to swim in, also great restuarants nearby and beautiful view of the marina. Next time we are in hervey bay would definately stay here again and would pay the extra for swim up room. Also the staff customer service was spot on.

Room Tip: if travelling with children request swim out room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Damojo07,

It is very pleasing to continually hear feedback about the good customer service our guests are experiencing at Mantra Hervey Bay. Our front office team have been focusing on being consistent with their delivery of a positive guest interaction.

Whilst we don't have many swim-up rooms, they certainly are in high demand. It is a real bonus being able to get in and out of the heated pool from your own room. I'm glad you made the most of it.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights so we could go to Fraser Island and were really pleased with our well equipped apartment overlooking the marina. Comfortable living and dining area with good TV and radio reception. As we had been travelling for over 3 weeks it was great to be able to make use of our own personal washer and dryer to do our laundry and prepare our meals and pack lunches in the kitchen. I loved swimming in the large swimming pool. Great to have free on site parking. Very helpful staff at reception. Perfect location to pick up Fraser Island tours at the marina whale statue just next door.

Room Tip: Go for a room on 5th or 6th floor with a view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Comefly1,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. It sounds like you made the most of the space and facilities provided in our apartments. Our front desk team always appreciate positive feedback so I will be sure to share your review with them.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. We were able to checkin approx 11am, so that was a nice bonus. Reception area is nice, with pleasant staff.
Our room was OK, yes did get views out to the marina. But only a very small balcony.
The whales had stopped the week before, but no one told us that at time of booking, is this not the reason you come here, it certainly is the main attraction we were told. So the staff then get 2 weeks off before they do the dolphin watching cruises, and yes, we got the 2 weeks off part. Bother, bother bother.
Curtains in our room did not close together properly, really needed a peg in the middle to keep closed, if we pulled them to close together the ends come away from the wall, these needed fixing, as we got woken up with the sun early each day. Beautiful sunrise though.
Only had half a toilet roll for the entire time, we did get a good deal, but I did expect to get more than half a roll of loo paper. So our first thing to do was go out shopping for loo rolls.
No close supermarkets. We felt the location was too far away from the action.
All tourist buses do pick you up, so that was good, and a booking place 50 mtrs from hotel. Just watch they put correct date on any trips you book as they mixed one of ours up.

Room Tip: Take a spare toilet roll, saves having to go out to shops on first day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear sandraNewZealand,

Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. Also, thank you for highlighting the service that our staff provided.

I am sorry that even though you had a relaxing time, there were a few small issues with your stay. If you get the time, could you possible email me with the room number that you stayed in so that I can have maintenance attend to the problem with the curtains. My email address is at the bottom of this response.I would certainly like to ensure that the curtains are fixed so as not inconvenience other guests that may stay in that room.

People travel to Hervey Bay for many reasons, but whale watching is certainly the most obvious reason for coming here. There is no definite date to the end of the whale watching season each year as it very much depends on when the majority of the whales have left the Wide Bay on their migration back to the southern oceans. The various whale watching operators try to keep the hotels informed of when they think there are not enough whales left in the area to guarantee a special experience for customers. Having said that, if our staff are aware that your motivation for staying with us is to go whale watching then I would certainly expect them to highlight the risks of booking in early to mid November as there is the risk that the season will have finished. I do apologise if this was not communicated to you.

I am disappointed to hear that there was only half a roll of toilet paper in your room upon arrival. That is certainly not the standard for in room amenities. I should point out however that we are always happy to provide additional amenities including toilet paper, shampoo, soap, tea and coffee etc. from the reception desk during a guests stay with us.

Thank you for your review, and hopefully we can welcome you back a bit earlier in the whale watching season next year.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel had a lovely reception area and is located in a lovely part of the Marina. Staff were very helpful and the rooms were very clean and well presented (our room had a great jacuzzi bath too which was fantastic!).
Free internet in the reception area also proved really helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Beckyn81,

You have highlighted some excellent features of a stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. We do indeed have two internet kiosk computers available for our guests to use free of charge between 6.30am and 9pm each day. Also, all of our Hotel Rooms have the added benefit of a lovely spa bath.

Thank you for reminding Trip Advisor readers that the rooms are clean and that the staff offer good service.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hervey Bay

Address: Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Hervey Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located three and half hours north of Brisbane or just five minutes from the Fraser Coast airport, Mantra Hervey Bay offers a variety of resort accommodation perfect for your Fraser Coast holiday. Featuring 152 hotel rooms and one, two, and three bedroom apartments, our Hervey Bay resort features comfortable interiors and private balconies each with a view over Urangan Marina. Mantra Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast is the region’s only absolute marina front accommodation, offering direct access to the Great Sandy Strait as well as being one of the best places in Australia for whale watching. Hervey Bay whale watching tours depart directly outside the resort from Urangan Marina and take guests on the experience of a lifetime watching these majestic creatures migrate north. Onsite, there are a variety of facilities at our Hervey Bay hotel which ensure a memorable and relaxed holiday including an outdoor heated pool and sauna. Just moments from the resort guests will find The Esplanade, the dining strip of Hervey Bay where there are a range of restaurants, bars and bistros offering everything from casual cafe style meals to fine dining cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mantra Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Mantra Hotel Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Mantra Hotel
Mantra Hervey Bay Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Hervey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.