We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Hervey Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Hervey Bay to your Saves list
Mantra Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The mantra is a great place if going on a whale watching tour as u don't need to travel to get to the boat. Night markets are very small. Great food available in a number of restaurants and great for families. Rooms are of a decent size with kitchen amenities so can do own cooking if you don't want to go out.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear smrhennessy,

Thank you for your feedback. Indeed, Mantra Hervey Bay is in terrific location to base yourself for whale watching trips and excursions to beautiful Fraser Island.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    145
    93
    34
    25
See reviews for
61
201
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Hadnt stayed for years so thought woukd give another try. Bad move from the beginning. Very unfriendly reception, even on the phone when booking. No light on the desk or above it, so had to move a bedside lamp to the desk. Obviously not catering for the business traveller. You would think in tough economic times hotels would be trying harder to impress their guests but this place has a very "we don't really care" feel about it. Room was tiny, can get much better value and appreciation elsewhere. Won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Aussieworld,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. I'm terribly disappointed to hear that the staff at front desk did not provide you with the friendly service that they normally do. Obviously, we want to make a positive first impression on our guests and this must not have occurred on this occasion.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After reading some of the recent reviews on Tripadvisor, we were pleasantly surprised. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist (Stephanie) and we were very pleased with the room we were given on the 4th floor. There was a good view over the marina and the carpet, mattress and furnishings appeared to have been recently renewed. We had a spa suite for only 2 days so we didn't get to use all the appliances but the ones we did use worked OK. The flat screen TVs seemed to be quite new and we had no trouble getting a park in the secure area.

It seems that the people who complained about their rooms here were usually booked into hotel type rooms and the manager seems to have had some problem getting the owners to upgrade the furnishings. Presumably those rooms that haven't been upgraded don't get allocated to paying guests except in peak times.

We particularly appreciated the free internet in the foyer but with only 2 computers, it would probably be difficult to get a turn in peak season. During our recent trip to Europe, it was common for hotels to offer free WiFi in hotel rooms which would certainly overcome and problem with access to the computers.

We met another couple while we were staying there and they mentioned that they were initially allocated a room with no view except a billboard. Fortunately they were able to change the room for one with the advertised view over the marina but we were surprised that these kind of rooms were not offered at a reduced tariff.

We only had two minor gripes. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2.00 pm and given that another recent reviewer indicated that there was a strict $10 fee levied on guests who didn't vacate their room by 10.00 am, no mention was made of any discount offered to guests who weren't able to access their room by 2.00 pm - presumably we could have extended our check out by the amount of time past 2.00 pm that our room was unavailable. We didn't do that but it's worth noting that these type of issues should cut both ways.

Our other gripe was that we were required to sign a pre-sale on our credit card for $100. When we asked what we could possibly charge to our room account for $100 we were told by Michael that it was a surety against room damage. We have only been asked to do this twice before - both times in Australia and both previous places had restaurants so there was probably some justification for covering any restaurant charges that may have been left unpaid. While we don't doubt that there are occasions when certain types of guests cause some property damage, levying every room with the $100 is a bit over the top and have to assume that there is some other reason for levying this amount. We do concede that the $100 was refunded promptly on our return home.

The Mantra has a unique position so close to the marina for whale watching and travel to Fraser Island. It is a pity that the shopping area around there has fallen on tough times but there are still a couple of good eating places as well as the Club nearby without having to drive somewhere else to eat.

We would stay here again and we hope that future guests can look forward to a room of similar quality to the one we were allocated.

Room Tip: Book a suite rather than a hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Ozitravel,

Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. It is always very rewarding for team members such as Stephanie when they see positive feedback regarding themselves on Trip Advisor.

I'm sorry to hear that your room wasn't ready at the advertised check-in time. That is an unusual occurence, and I certainly agree that where possible we should then provide you with a late check-out to an equivalent time.

In regards to the $100 pre-authorisation that is taken on your credit card at check-in. I'm sorry that you were provided with the incorrect information. The pre-authorisation is indeed to cover any incidental charges that may be charged to your room such as phone calls, in-house movies, internet, restaurant charges (Cafe Balaena), and tour bookings.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I am sure other potential guests appreciate the information that you have provided.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were basically looking for a two night stay in a comfortable, not 'over the top' priced hotel with the convenience of a central location in Hervey Bay and what we found was all of the above and more! So close to the airport but didn't once notice any loud aircraft flying over, the ground floor room was spacious, clean, comfortable, light filled, a sliding door invited you out to an outdoor table and chairs in which to view the beautifully positioned pool and spa, of which access could be obtained by security gates. The long rectangular pool was clean and inviting, with a heated area and a separate spa. Banana lounges, tables and umbrellas line either side of the pool area and provide you with a not overcrowded area for sunbaking and relaxing.The optional buffet breakfast was ok. Nothing exceptional. The position of the hotel was perfect. A walk directly down the road out front took you past a quaint caravan park to the Marina - the Surf Club is great for a meal and to sit out on the balcony with a beverage and take in the fresh sea air and the sights of assorted boats, yachts, catamarans and plenty of dreaming of only if... kills half a day or night. The motel provides bikes for hire ( full day $10). Its the best way to get around to the shops and follow the bike paths along the waters edge, travel along the longest pier in Aus or check out the locals if you don't have a car.
Fishing is great fun. If you have a rod, take it down to the rocks and throw in a line. There are plenty of fish to be seen, even local dolphins if you are lucky...we were. thoroughly enjoyed the two night stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor with a sliding door that exits to a table/chairs and gate access directly to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel (17th, 18th Oct) in order to do the Fraser Island tour. We only booked the hotel the Saturday before and got it for a very resonable price, we were even more delighted when we arrived and told we had got one of the swim up rooms (bonus!)

The room was clean and bathroom had jacuzzi bath which again was great for the price we paid. The pool was lovely and warm and a pleasure to get into (some other hotel pools are so cold its a big effort to get in)

Staff at reception were friendly and helpful.

Both nights we ate at the boat club which was right beside the hotel. The food was lovely and resonably priced, as was the drink.

We had got the Greyhound up from Brisbane, it stopped at Stockland in Hervey Bay so we had to catch one of the local buses (Route 16) that brought us to the Marina (about 20 mins on bus)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Gwni,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. I am so pleased that you had a lovely time with us. The swim-up rooms are a fantastic room type that offers guests something a little bit different.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our second stay at this location and still think it is just great overlooking the Marina especially being able to watch the various Whale Watching boats coming and going right from our apartment. We stayed there this time in order to show our overseas visitors around Hervey Bay for a day before heading to Fraser Island early the next morning. One night was just not long enough to appreciate the resort and its facilities properly and vow to return for a longer stay as soon as possible even though we only live a short distance from Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you Quickbeds Traveller,

Mantra Hervey Bay is certainly a good base for exploring Hervey Bay from. I hope that your international visitors enjoyed the natural beauty of Hervey Bay, and that you all return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hervey Bay

Address: Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Hervey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located three and half hours north of Brisbane or just five minutes from the Fraser Coast airport, Mantra Hervey Bay offers a variety of resort accommodation perfect for your Fraser Coast holiday. Featuring 152 hotel rooms and one, two, and three bedroom apartments, our Hervey Bay resort features comfortable interiors and private balconies each with a view over Urangan Marina. Mantra Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast is the region’s only absolute marina front accommodation, offering direct access to the Great Sandy Strait as well as being one of the best places in Australia for whale watching. Hervey Bay whale watching tours depart directly outside the resort from Urangan Marina and take guests on the experience of a lifetime watching these majestic creatures migrate north. Onsite, there are a variety of facilities at our Hervey Bay hotel which ensure a memorable and relaxed holiday including an outdoor heated pool and sauna. Just moments from the resort guests will find The Esplanade, the dining strip of Hervey Bay where there are a range of restaurants, bars and bistros offering everything from casual cafe style meals to fine dining cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Mantra Hotel Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Mantra Hotel
Mantra Hervey Bay Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Hervey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.