We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Hervey Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Hervey Bay to your Saves list
Mantra Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Maleny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

At check in we were told the lift wasn't working and we would have to carry our bags up the fire escape steps. We were on level 5, and were not offered any assistance. We ended up helping other people with their bags as well. Our room had a lovely view over the boat harbour but it was a bit run down. The kitchen light didn't work, the bedroom light kept coming on for no reason, and the lamp in the lounge was all bent out of shape. We discovered on the second day that there was no room service. We hadn't been told that previously, so we had to hunt around for toilet paper, as there wasn't much left for us to last three days!! We were disappointed with our stay, especially as we have stayed there previously, and it was lovely then.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear RuthMaleny,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. I must apologise for the inconvenience caused by the lift breakdown during your stay. The lift technician attended as quickly as possible and had it up and running once parts were received.

it is correct that we do not provide daily servicing of the rooms. However, we are always happy to supply extra amenities such as toilet paper upon request. Guests staying 7 nights or more receive a mid-stay service. There is also the option of a Mantra Refresh for a small fee during your stay.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    145
    93
    34
    25
See reviews for
61
201
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice location on the marina, but view of harbour slightly restricted due to location of unit, which was low down and also on the corner of the building

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Black799,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

On arrival to our rooms a pungent odour greeted us. It wasn't until we arrived back home and started to unpack that we relised the odour was all through our clothing in our bags. The water jug in the fridge was knocked on its side and when we opened the fridge for the first time all the water made a large soggy wet patch on the carpet. Bed was extremely hard mattress.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Mel H,

I'm sorry to hear about the wet carpet in your room, and the uncomfortable mattress. We are in the process of purchasing new beds for many of the rooms in the complex, so I hope to have this issue addressed for many of our future guests.

Thank you for providing us with a good rating.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Other than being a fantastic spot if you are here for whale watching, there is really no reason to book this resort. The rooms are not cleaned at all during your stay. No wonder shonachris says the rooms need a good spring clean! As far as I knew I booked a fully serviced 4 star resort!!. Internet kiosks in lobby did not work. When I asked the guy behind the counter if he knew when they would be put on line.. his response was ..." I have no idea, I have just had 2 days off". In 4 star I would have expected "sorry I don't know but I will try and find out for you". This was the general attitude of staff. I felt very unwelcomed. Room was okay. but very basic. Great spa bath. No mirror in the main room area, no drawers for your clothes. Because the room wasn't serviced, we had to wash out our own wine classes and coffee cups... but they didn't provide dish soap. When we saw the trolley in the hallway, we made sure to grab a roll of toilet paper in case we ran out during our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Bisbeesedona,

Thank you for providing detailed feedback on your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. Like many complexes on the Queensland coastline we operate as Self Catering accommodation, and are priced accordingly. For stays of 7 nights or more we offer a mid-stay clean. For shorter stays we are always happy to supply additional amenities such as toilet paper, shampoo, tea and coffee etc. upon request.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Travelled on Queesland Rail Tilt Train to Maryborough and bus connection on to Hervey Bay,Bus takes you to your Hotel. Good trip.
hervey bay has a lot to offer as hotel is situated right on the Wharf area. Tours to whale watching,Diving etc. Half and Full Day trips. Plenty to choose from as Tour shop there. Hotel is bit far from shops etc so need to make use of the Bus which leaves from outside the Boat Club close to Mantra. Can have a full day hopping on and off bus at many little shopping areas. Meals at Boat Club very good value Pokies also there.Bar etc. Food on the wharf varies fro cheaper fare to French cuisine.

Room Tip: Standard Studio room has few facilities. No room service no mini bar only Jug and cups for tea/coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Ellen P,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Mantra Hervey Bay. I am sure the information you have provided will prove helpful to future travellers.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This resort has all the plus'es for someone wanting to do the Whale Trips but thats about all. The room we had was smelly and looked as if it needed a really good spring clean. We have stayed on several occasions, but will be looking for somewhere else to stay in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Shonachris,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. Indeed the property is superbly located with the marina right at the front doorstep of the property. I'm sorry to hear that your room cleanliness was not up to standard. We conduct spring cleans of all rooms once a year.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Good:
Large room
Very close to whale watching boats

Bad:
Old fittings
Unable to accommodate request to be next to another couple, despite 2 months notice
Inflexible and generally unhelpful staff
Not within walking distance of hervey bay proper

Overall:
Unsatisfactory experience compared to surrounding options
Wouldn't stay again

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear M S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. I'm sorry that you did not get to stay in a room adjacent to your friends. We certainly try to accommodate all guest requests, however as September is the busiest month of the year it can become difficult to allocate rooms to suit all requests.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hervey Bay

Address: Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Hervey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located three and half hours north of Brisbane or just five minutes from the Fraser Coast airport, Mantra Hervey Bay offers a variety of resort accommodation perfect for your Fraser Coast holiday. Featuring 152 hotel rooms and one, two, and three bedroom apartments, our Hervey Bay resort features comfortable interiors and private balconies each with a view over Urangan Marina. Mantra Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast is the region’s only absolute marina front accommodation, offering direct access to the Great Sandy Strait as well as being one of the best places in Australia for whale watching. Hervey Bay whale watching tours depart directly outside the resort from Urangan Marina and take guests on the experience of a lifetime watching these majestic creatures migrate north. Onsite, there are a variety of facilities at our Hervey Bay hotel which ensure a memorable and relaxed holiday including an outdoor heated pool and sauna. Just moments from the resort guests will find The Esplanade, the dining strip of Hervey Bay where there are a range of restaurants, bars and bistros offering everything from casual cafe style meals to fine dining cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Mantra Hotel Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Mantra Hotel
Mantra Hervey Bay Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Hervey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.