We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Short Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Hervey Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Hervey Bay to your Saves list
Mantra Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Bargara, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Short Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at Mantra Hervey Bay. As we live only 1.5 hours drive away from the hotel we were not looking for a travel experience. We discovered a very nice,clean hotel room with a lovely view out to Fraser Island across the marina. THe room had all facilities that we required inluding a spa bath.The promenade was a source of lovely restaurants and a pleasant place to just sit a while! The balcony of our room was also a nice place to rest and take in the wonderful view, The location is excellent as there is no need to take the car out at night to eat. We dined at the Boat Club just 50 meters or so away and found the food superb and real value for money. A few drinks out on the deck in the evening breeze wasnt a bad addition to the evening. We will definitely be returning to the Mantra for whale watching and a trip to Fraser. We may just return also to do nothing but enjoy the view and have a nice meal nearby...time out! Very good value!

Room Tip: For us a room with a view to marina and Fraser I salnd is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Allanandcarol2,

Thank you for your kind words. The Hervey Bay Boat Club is a fantastic location for a bite to eat, and the drinks prices are fantastic. Also, Cafe Balaena is located adjacent to Mantra Hervey Bay and offers terrific meals and regularly has live acoustic music playing. It's great that you took the opportunity to enjoy some relaxing time in Hervey Bay.

We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    147
    93
    34
    26
See reviews for
62
203
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra due to the Pat's Mate's rates. The 2 bedroom unitwas clean and tidy, perhaps on the smaller side. I feel if paying full price I would expect an ensuite. Pool was lovely. Staff were friendly Didn't really spend any time at the unit as we were at a carnival but thought if you were doing some whale watching tours etc it would be a good place to stay. My overall rating is above average.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear MHooper8,

I'm pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Mantra Hervey Bay. Due to our location at the marina, it is indeed the ideal base for whale watching trips.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Colin Mcintosh

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Getting a room with a view of the marina is the best option - make sure you check this when booking.. The rooms are very clean, spacious, spa bath in some rooms is great, staffbare friendly and helpful. The view however is magnificent, well worth the stay. Cafe Balena next door is a perfect place to eat, the pool and gym are benefit as well. Take advantage of the specials they have on and relax!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Judy G,

It is always great to see return guests at Mantra Hervey Bay. It is reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this time, and I am glad that the experience was an improvement on your previous stay. We are actively working to ensure that we provide the best possible experience to all of our guests.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary recently here. Our five night stay was just what we needed. So relaxing, sitting on the balcony watching the water, the boats and anything and everything go by. We thoroughly enjoyed the short walk to the shops and restaurants, all within 5-10 minutes. A great place to stay and we can't wait to spend some more time here, to help deal with the stresses of life.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay on the side facing the marina, lots to see all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Gail H,

Congratulations on your 25th Wedding Anniversary. Quite an achievement. I am pleased to hear that you had such a relaxing time at Mantra Hervey Bay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra for one night in a 3 bedroom setting. I booked before I read the reviews and then was unsure I had done the right thing as it has mixed reviews. I found the Mantra to be fine it was clean and easy, we had no problems at all. It may be getting a little older now but thats no reason the give bad reviews. We could not fault it at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Joelene21,

I am so pleased to hear that you liked the property and that it was clean and well maintained. Please come back in whale season so that you can enjoy some of the natural wonders that this part of the country has to often.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra, Hervey Bay for a different Christmas experience. We arrived to the ease of checking in to our room, received our key cards and parked the car. On arriving in the lift, carrying all our Christmas goodies on the supplied dumb waiter, we opened our door to the most magnificant apartment. The separate Adult's Retreat had it's own small and quaint balcony overlooking the marina. The other entrance from the room's foyer took us in to a well equiped apartment with a great glass top dining table for 8 people, two single bed room and a queen size room with mirrored built ins. The well equiped kitchen (with dishwasher) overlooked the lounge area out through the sliding doors to the balcony overlooking the Marina. Everything was provided, including the soap for the washing machine and dishwasher (although two sachets were not enough for thre three night stay, but a visit to the reception area provided us with housekeeping to restock our supplies). There are a few cafes along the boardwalk, although a few have closed down. A short walk along to the esplanade will take you past beautiful protected beaches and on to the jetty for an icecream. I would thoroughly recommend this accomodation for either a romantic getaway for two, or a family vacation full of relaxation and poolside fun! Have a bbq in the afternoon by the pool (glasses are not allowed) or a morning bacon and eggs brunch, if you can pull the kids out of their morning swim.

Room Tip: The sixth floor may entail a ride in the elevator, but it is worth the view. Use the dumb waiter fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Traceandhilly,

Thank you for your kind review, Im glad that you appreciated the spacious layout of the rooms. Our 2 Bedroom Apartments and 2 Bedroom Dual Key Apartments both allow some privacy for the adults during a family stay. Hopefully we will see you next Christmas.

Kind Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed there about a year ago, it was the most uncomfortable bed we ever slept and it was so dirty. Don't stay there!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraHB, General Manager at Mantra Hervey Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear S K,

If you did stay at our hotel, then I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. However, I would like to point out to readers that you are the second reviewer in a row that has posted there one and only TripAdvisor review, a year after you supposedly stayed at the property.

Regards

Colin McIntosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Hervey Bay

Address: Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Hervey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located three and half hours north of Brisbane or just five minutes from the Fraser Coast airport, Mantra Hervey Bay offers a variety of resort accommodation perfect for your Fraser Coast holiday. Featuring 152 hotel rooms and one, two, and three bedroom apartments, our Hervey Bay resort features comfortable interiors and private balconies each with a view over Urangan Marina. Mantra Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast is the region’s only absolute marina front accommodation, offering direct access to the Great Sandy Strait as well as being one of the best places in Australia for whale watching. Hervey Bay whale watching tours depart directly outside the resort from Urangan Marina and take guests on the experience of a lifetime watching these majestic creatures migrate north. Onsite, there are a variety of facilities at our Hervey Bay hotel which ensure a memorable and relaxed holiday including an outdoor heated pool and sauna. Just moments from the resort guests will find The Esplanade, the dining strip of Hervey Bay where there are a range of restaurants, bars and bistros offering everything from casual cafe style meals to fine dining cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hervey Bay Hotel Hervey Bay
Mantra Hotel Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Mantra Hotel
Mantra Hervey Bay Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Hervey Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.