We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island to your Saves list
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   181 Torquay Road, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Just what we were looking for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great twin ensuite, just what we were looking for after the drive up from Brisbane. Helpful, friendly staff, from the first enquiry to check out. Clean room, clean kitchen. Free WiFi too! Short walk to the beach and shops. Great little place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    51
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
46
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had a very relaxing time here. Clean, comfortable with friendly staff who could recommend great things to do in the area. I enjoyed the gardens (and the hammock), as well as the barbeque facilities. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homburg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just a few minutes away from the beach, this hostel is located on a very large site. The yard is very nicely arranged and the kitchen as well as bathroom and our room were all clean and nice. The wooden style of the whole hostel gives it a sort of atmosphere of, well, a woolshed. If you book your tour over the hostel you also get free wifi for the length of your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here a few times now and all I can say is that it's a great place to stay. Nice clean rooms with fresh linen, good facilities and the staff are very helpful with local information. Parking for my motorcycle at the rear was adjacent my room so very handy for off loading and security camera's made it a stress free night, although this is Hervey Bay so I doubt it has any crime at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Clean, friendly staff, cool atmosphere! Had a great stay! Would definitely recommend this hostel to others! There are only two showers but lots of rooms have their own! The staff are super friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

One of the quietest hostels I've ever stayed in but if you need a chill then this is def the best place. Rooms were really clean, as were bathrooms, and beds were comfy. No air con in rooms but had 2 ceiling fans which was more than enough. The kitchen was always spotless and had eveything you need to cook as well as free tea! The kitchen and common room area looks like it's a converted house so its quite cute. There's a couple of hammocks and other seating areas in the garden (which are really nice grounds) so just relaxing is easy!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recently travelled up the Queensland coast,stayed a week at the aussie woolshed,which turned out to be the best backpackers I stayed at on the whole trip,apart from being a great place from which to go whale watching and trips to Fraser island the woolshed is so laid back and friendly , which made it the perfect place to chill out for a while, I enjoyed my time at the woolshed so much that I returned there on my return south and stayed for another three weeks,the staff are friendly and helpful,rooms are clean and the gardens good to laze around in.
Thanks to Megan and her staff.
I hope to visit the woolshed again soon.

Room Tip: I stayed in several different rooms,found them all to be fine,clean ,comfy beds and mostly was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island

Address: 181 Torquay Road, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aussie Woolshed Backpackers is a small, family run hostel, that offers a wide range of very comfortable, cosy country style accommodation. All buildings are designed around an Australiana theme and set on a large property with tropical gardens. The hostel is right in the center of town, only 5 min. from the beach, supermarket, shops, restaurants & pubs. We offer ensuite doubles & twins, standard doubles & twins (aircondition optional), triple rooms & dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.