We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Shelly Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Australis Shelly Bay Resort to your Saves list
Australis Shelly Bay Resort
466 Charlton Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This property is directly across the road from the beach which makes it convenient for beach access and lovely views. It is also within walking distance to restaurants. We stayed in a one bedroom appartment. My only gripe was that the bed was so hard that I would wake up stiff and sore. Very friendly staff and very clean property.

Room Tip: A higher location gives you better views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    23
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
46
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Friendly staff. Very big clean apartment comfortable bed. A bit outdated and no dishwasher. Nice pool although needs more chairs and umbrellas. Great location opposite the beach and walking distance to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment over Easter and we all had a wonderful time. The kids made good use of the pool which was nice and warm (as was the ocean). The apartment layout was ideal with the bedrooms being towards the back so noise and morning sun were never a problem. All staff were very helpful and friendly, and lots of places were only a walk away. We were impressed by the quality of the food at the Indian Restaurant on site. A great holiday and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum Sands, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The staff were really friendly here and there is an Indian restaurant right underneath. We had dinner there and it was very nice. The pool was great for the kids, and you can watch them from your balcony. We were there for a surf carnival and it was a 5 min walk to the surfclub, as well as being within walking distance to restaurants. The only downside was our room was only 1 bedroom, as that was all we could get, and having the sofa bed and another trundle in the living area made it very cramped. Good size kitchen, good view of the beach, safe car parking and we were generally really happy with it. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We come back to Hervey bay and was looking for a place to stay that would give us peace and quiet so we could truly relax as we are a middle age working couple wanting some time out.
This place was everything we hoped for, clean spacious and also knowing that the managers were there should we need them.
Everything in the unit worked and was in good order.no noise or groups of people.
Restaurant was downstairs and great food but we also ate in our room
and at the local Italian two doors down
Lovely pool and well maintained grounds.

Room Tip: We had a room on third level with beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent 5 nights here and we were pleased with the friendliness of the reception staff and the cleanliness of the unit. We had a 1 bedroom unit on level 2 with a nice balcony with table and chairs overlooking the water. Good size lounge/dining with flatscreen TV and a well appointed kitchen. Good bathroom and laundry combined. Bedroom wasn't large but it was comfortable and all that we required. Air conditioning in the lounge and bedroom. Undercover car park, pool and a great Italian cuisine restaurant within 2 minutes walk. Only let down was the internet. Their website states 'FREE 24hr Wireless Internet Access to every apartment (conditions apply).' Unfortunately the condition is that you only get 48 hrs free or reach a pre-determined limit (which ever comes 1st) and that was no benefit to us when we were staying 5 nights and use the internet a lot. To make it worse we lost a portion of the 2nd day of internet due to them changing over a phone line. When booking in we were told that it was a $20.00 fee for each additional day of internet. (Or we could use the internet in the lobby for 15 minutes for $2). Apart from the internet issue, we enjoyed our stay and we thank the managers and staff for the friendly assistance they gave us with booking a tour and in general. There are a few signs about the place asking for people to be quiet, to dry off, to take rubbish out etc but this is to be expected because there some people out there who ruin it for others. I would rather see management keep on the ball in this regard rather than just let things go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for 10 days after Christmas, so close to the beach, just what we needed. The main bedroom was quite large for suitcases luggage etc, one bathroom - fine for our family of four. Second bedroom two single beds adequate size too. Kitchen and utensils excellent, if anything the living area is small and balcony just fits family of four to dine, but we were more than happy with what we paid for - as described on the website. Reception were very helpful with booking tours, booking the tennis court, having visitors etc etc. Our children loved the pool. We could walk to various restaurants at night, however I wouldn't walk later than 10'ish, and dined at the in house Indian restaurant a couple of times. And bonus of undercover parking, and bike hire if needed.
We had a great holiday, low key and relaxing. Location and facilities were really good for a family with tweens or younger. Thanks Australis Shelly Beach Resort!

Room Tip: We were on a second floor, seaview at the end of the building. It was quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Australis Shelly Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Shelly Bay Resort

Address: 466 Charlton Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Australis Shelly Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelly Bay Hotel
Australis Shelly Bay Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Shelly Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.