We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Shelly Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Australis Shelly Bay Resort to your Saves list
Australis Shelly Bay Resort
466 Charlton Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A great family getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for 10 days after Christmas, so close to the beach, just what we needed. The main bedroom was quite large for suitcases luggage etc, one bathroom - fine for our family of four. Second bedroom two single beds adequate size too. Kitchen and utensils excellent, if anything the living area is small and balcony just fits family of four to dine, but we were more than happy with what we paid for - as described on the website. Reception were very helpful with booking tours, booking the tennis court, having visitors etc etc. Our children loved the pool. We could walk to various restaurants at night, however I wouldn't walk later than 10'ish, and dined at the in house Indian restaurant a couple of times. And bonus of undercover parking, and bike hire if needed.
We had a great holiday, low key and relaxing. Location and facilities were really good for a family with tweens or younger. Thanks Australis Shelly Beach Resort!

Room Tip: We were on a second floor, seaview at the end of the building. It was quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    24
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
46
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and we had a very enjoyable time. Location: 20 meters across the street you find the clean and long beach. shops, bars, restaurants all in convenient walking distance. staff: superb! a warm welcome you get and we booked both our day trips via them as they were very knowledgeable and gave us the right tips. both trips were amazing and worth the money (whale watching and 4wd tour fraser island). Appartment: quite large with full kitchen, i.e. cooking facilities and big fridge. All clean and in good condition, balcony heading towards the ocean. You have the street in front of you but the birds make the most noise. Free parking in the basement, which is always a big plus. Free but limited Wifi. Priced very competetively considering what you get for your money, hence would for sure book any time again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

And why wouldn't we. The views from each room a terrific. It's a close walk to shops restaurants and directly across the road from the beach, where it is easy to swim. The pool is clean and well maintained and so are the amenities.

We get good advice form the managers there and they are very helpful with recommendations.

The Tasman Venture whale watch tour will pick us up directly from the front and these guys can book anything you want anyway. Last year they organized a hummer tour of Frazer for us which was great.

We like this place because we can be very independent here. No hotels for us - too much noise and busyness. There is a lot of room to spread out with these apartments, and even though the kitchen is roomy we eat out most of the time.

If you're arriving at dinner time - don't bother shopping - just eat at the Indian onsite. Sensational food. Wish our local Indian restaurants were this good. We ate here twice in the same week and not from laziness :-).

Room Tip: We have stayed here for at least the last 3 (maybe 4) years and all the rooms we have had have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a Large 1 bedroom apartment with ocean views from balcony and lounge. Modern styled with all amenities, located right on Shelley Beach in the middle of Torquay. Tours to Fraser Island and whale wathing were brilliant and restaurant recommendations superb. Tandoori Taste restaurant is brilliant 10/10.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked this as a holiday for my husband and I to have a long overdue break. We stayed for four nights and had a lovely time in Hervey Bay. The resort was lovely. Very friendly staff who were smiling from the moment we arrived until the time we left. Very helpful with tours and what to do in the local area. They helped to book our whale watching tour which was part of our package and we had a lovely time. Rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. The fully self contained unit meant we were able to cook and prepare our own meals when we wanted but the resort is a short walking distance from an array of different cuisines, restaurants and pubs. We walked along the beach each day which was just across the road. Sat on our balcony each morning overlooking the water for breakfast. What a lovely spot. This is not five star and super modern. This is an excellent resort to stay in if you are looking for a homestyle, friendly resort. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay so there shouldnt be any issues with choosing a room. The rooms on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

On arrival we were told that $100 had already been deducted from our credit card - not sure if this procedure is legal, but more and more places seem to be doing it. We were then made to pay the balance before even seeing the room. The room we had was unfortunately opposite the lift, which I nearly got my leg caught in as it barely fits 2 small adults with a trolley. However, plenty of time to read all the signs of 'dos' and 'don'ts' on the way up as it took forever. The room was very dated - fluorescent lighting and 'power saving' bulbs made the dim atmosphere positively depressing. Kitchen cupboards and handles were sticky on the outside, and plastic wine glasses (?) not a good look. In the light of day, the array of signs relating to rules and regulations that were plastered on the walls was irritating and unnecessary. Bed very hard and hurt my back. Furniture the same, very uncomfortable and extremely dated. Bathroom tiles old, and wall had massive crack. TV reception poor. Found the Indian restaurant underneath a rather strange concept. Had it not been for a fortunate gap between the trees, the 'water view' would not have been visible, perhaps this place's one saving grace.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleby, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

As stated above we booked from an advert on the back of a shopper docket, & we have not been dissappointed, would recommend this resort/hotel, staff are lovely & helpful, views wonderful, very clean, easy to find nice places for eating out, but the rooms cater extremely well for own catering.
Enzo's on the Beach up the other end near the Scarness Caravan park, makes a fabulous breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Australis Shelly Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Shelly Bay Resort

Address: 466 Charlton Esplanade, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Australis Shelly Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelly Bay Hotel
Australis Shelly Bay Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Shelly Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.