We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner is rude, un-helpful & un-friendly.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296 Esplanade | Pialba, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Hervey Bay
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Owner is rude, un-helpful & un-friendly.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room had a mouldy shower curtain and there were animal droppings on the window sill. On our first day, we enquired about the Reef Aquarium. The owner told us that we need to look up info ourselves (even though he was in front of a computer). On our second morning, the room was not serviced. The cleaning person just left clean towels on the toilet seat. We were located next to a bunch of people that decided the car park was the place to drink and smoke all day and all night. All whilst their baby was left crying in the room. Their car boot became a drinking table. By the second morning and after our room wasn't serviced, we'd had enough. Luckily the owner was out and his partner was there. She apologised and accepted our request to change rooms so that we'd have at least 1 good night's sleep. She also thought it was ridiculous that those people were permantly drinking and smoking in the car park. So we wasted over an hour with all this. On the morning of our departure, we took our time before checking out (we'd lost over an hour with having to move rooms). The owner said it was fine as long as we paid. So whilst we paid we told him how terrible our stay had been. He didn't careless. Wasn't phased that the room wasn't cleaned and he said those people in the car park were doing nothing wrong. And besides he could do nothing about it he said. Then he became rude and told us to hurry up and pack our things. We will never stay there again and this owner really gives Best Western's a bad name.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear holiday_traveller14,
I am sorry you had a bad stay. However, I should point out that your visit was some months ago and was when the former owner was in charge. I have since bought this business and have fixed up the housekeeping problems that I inherited. I can also guarantee that we aim to provide the very best of friendly, helpful and professional service to our valued guests. I do hope you will consider staying again; I can guarantee you will see a massive improvement.
Regards,
Darlene Lothian
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I had a lovely stay at the Motor Lodge. The new manager was keen to find out if any menu changes should be made and was very open to suggestions on making my stay just right. The room was very clean and tidy. Hervey Bay is a nice spot. Cheers :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Not acceptable with no eating facilities in room not mentioned staff unhelpful not good eating places around to compensate If staying more than a few days this is needed Most places were closed at night when we were there so hard to find a decent place to eat at night

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge

Address: 296 Esplanade | Pialba, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.