We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of little let downs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   296 Esplanade | Pialba, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 24 hotels in Hervey Bay
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lots of little let downs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife did like the comfort level of the bed.
The remote for the Soniq tv did not work too well. (This is because Soniq is worst brand of anything you could buy) A little bit annoying
There was no soap in the bathroom sink. Hello! people like to wash their hands with soap after using the toilet.
One tiny bottle of bodywash, shampoo and conditioner was not enough for 2 salty sandy guests.
No cutlery for our breakfast
Light glared
through our curtains and door,
and loud air conditioner right next to the bed is not good.
The beachside motor inn next door was heaps better.

Room Tip: The beachside motor inn next door was heaps better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
5
8
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed at the best western for two nights, and I was a little disappointed.there are no high chairs available...which isn't a biggie, but can be a little tricky with a bub. When we first arrived, the managers were friendly, and welcoming. We were given our room key, and off we went. It was strange that our room door was opened, but as we walked in the pungent smell of vomit, or sour milk, lurked within the corner of the tea and coffee making area. The man was kind enough to come up and spray it down with spray and wipe, but lateron I had to go out and buy some glen 20. It was NYE and no other rooms were available. There were 2 towels in the room, and there's 3 of us....and we went for a swim after we checked in, and used one of the towels with the baby, and when I went to ask for more towels, he was really quite rude, and did not want to hand over any spare towels. It was rather bizarre. Door and fly screen tracks need to be vacuumed or even scrubbed out, and air cons could do with a clean. Nice clean big room. Tv was fantastic, with lots of channels. Good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Didnt use this hotel during my visit in Hervey bay (found a great place lateron) but did pay for my room which got refunded lateron.
I asked for a room nearby the pool and thought it was a bit strange all motel doors where open and there was only 1 other car from customers over there.
Room looked great when only be on the doorstep, i will never enter without permission.
After looking at the rooms went to the reception and got a very friendly old men over there.
Asked for the room nearby the pool and offered us room 4 which was next to the pool so sounds great. Price was a bit too steep for us, but he was willing to give us a discount to 99 aussie dollars. When we arrived in the room we saw some mold in the carpet and when opening some drawers the mold smelling was too extreme to be able to sleep in that room (maybe the reason to have open doors)
When arriving back at the reception the old man was in a "click"not friendly anymore and said mold was impossible and said it was smell of painting. I know the difference between those to and the drawers where not even painted. He got quite mad and even said we did something in his room. After a fast check he didnt offer us another room, which I asked. We wanted a room but without mold. It was room number 4 or nothing. But lucky enough he offered a refund which I gladly accepted. I think it is strange someone not offering another room and even said i wanted number 4, which is not true. I wanted a room closeby the pool which leaves 3 other rooms within those guidelines.
He was still saying it was no mold and extremly not nice even a bit agressove but after mentioning I would write a review about this experience on tripadvisor he stopped talking.


So with this experience I understand why people say he is polite, but do not say something is not great then he starts..

Room Tip: do not take room number 4 due to mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We based out decision to stay here because it’s part of the Best Western chain. However, we were disappointed by what we received for the amount we paid. Better values probably exist in Hervey Bay.

Pros:
- The people we met at the front desk were very nice.
- Room was big
- Room and bathroom were clean

Cons:
- Room was sparsely decorated
- Bed and pillows were worn and not very comfortable
- Bathroom waste basket was so small, I even checked to see if it had a “Playskool logo (it didn’t, but it certainly could have)
- The nighttime temperature dropped and there were NO instructions on how to operate the room heater (which was not like anything we’d seen before). After many attempts, we gave up trying. Extra blankets were insufficient and we ended up huddling together trying to stay warm.
- Only one room key was provided and it doubled as a conduit for the room’s electricity (key had to be placed in a slot for the electricity in the room to work). So, as one person was taking a shower and the other person stepped outside the hotel room (taking the room key with him), all electricity was shut “off” thereby leaving the person in the shower in the dark and left to fend for themselves. [Note: We encountered a similar room key in Airle Beach but, that hotel had the foresight to connect 2 lamps to a separate electrical socket; thus, even without the key in the wall slot, light still existed in the room]

During our vacation to Australia, we stayed at six Best Western brand hotels. This was, by far, the worst value we received for the amount we spent. It’s not a terrible hotel, just very overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

Very nice friendly people, rooms are kept very tidy and clean. The restaurant has great meals at reasonable prices. I use this motel often for my business trips and I enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

This hotel is located at Pialba at the northern end of Hervey Bay. The marina and boats for whale watching and Fraser Island are located at the other (southern) end. However, most tours pick-up from all hotels so this is not too much of an issue except that you are one of the first to be picked up and amongst the last to be dropped off at the end. You can simply walk across the street in front of the hotel and across some grass to get to the beach where there are plenty of shells for the kids to collect and the camel rides go past.

Reception was friendly, with a fridge full of cold drinks for sale. They are also able to book tours for you and have a supply of pamphlets and brochures for local attractions and tours.

The room we had was on the second floor with a view across a park. The room itself was quite big although we noticed during out stay that they rooms on the ground level appeared to be somewhat smaller. Our room had a queen bed and a single bed, a table and two chairs, two armchairs, a flat screen TV, a bar fridge, tea and coffee facilities, large bathtub with shower. The hotel had a small, unheated outdoor pool including a spa seat.

A small gripe I had was that I dropped some potato chips on the floor one night and the crumbs were still there two days later. I thought that they would be vacuumed up during the daily service. Also, on the first day our room wasn't serviced at all.

Overall, the hotel seemed OK but I felt it was slightly overpriced for what it offered, as was other accommodation in the area.

Other points
Personally, I did not care for any of the beaches at Hervey Bay as they are on tidal flats, which I do not enjoy walking on and at low tide you have to walk out quite a way and at high tide it still isn’t very deep. Additionally, there are no waves. This would probably be good for people who like their beaches calm and shallow, people with small children or possibly fishermen.

A day trip to Fraser Island is well worth it especially if you get to float down Eli Creek and swim at Lake McKenzie. The rainforest and tall trees are also a sight to behold. The lunch at Eurong Beach Resort was plentiful and better than the previous time I visited there 18 years ago.

Whale watching is another trip you may want to go on. We saw several whales although they were mainly floating, swimming, or diving and coming up for air. No jumping or breaching so not all that exciting. Most of the kids enjoyed themselves just running around the boat. Don’t forget to take sunblock, a hat and a jumper/sweater/jacket even when it is hot on shore. Most people on our boat got extremely cold in the wind out of the sun as they forgot to bring something warm with them.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

A simple motel with very helpful and friendly staff. Dinner is the small restaurant was good and the overall atmosphere was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge

Also Known As:
Best Western Hervey Bay
Hervey Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Address: 296 Esplanade | Pialba, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 hotels in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.