We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta & pizza cooked with love with great staff to boot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paolo's Pizza Bar

Paolo's Pizza Bar
2/446 The Esplanade Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
07 4125 3100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 112 Restaurants in Hervey Bay
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pizza napoletana
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great pasta & pizza cooked with love with great staff to boot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife & I were up from Melbourne to Hervey Bay in mid August 2012 & really loved our experience at Paolo's. The food was just great, my wife & I had over the 5 nights from memory we went there, gnocchi, lasagne, bruschetta, caprese, pizza & tiramisu. I seriously would have to say the lasagne I had on my 1st night there would have to have been close to the best lasagne I have ever had, it was so rich & full of flavour & I had a few lasagnes over the years. I also cannot speak high enough of the hardworking & very friendly staff as well, nothing was to much trouble for them & even several nights the owner & cook himself came out & had a great chat with us towards the end of the night too. Just a great experience here, loved it

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    24
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gold coast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best authentic pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This place just keeps getting better, not only the food but the staff have really got their act together. Dined at paolos Wed night. Very busy, however nothing seemed to phase the staff, we were politely greeted, seated and had menus and drinks within a few minuits. Great to see teamwork with the waiters they really had things cranking! Food came out perfectly on time. The rustic gourmet pizzas here are in my opinion, the best I anywhere. The cosy atmosphere, consistency with food and the sevice is what it's all about.
Great work guys!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband had lasagna and I had a pizza. Everything looked like it was from scratch. The crust was wonderful and the atmosphere was very laid back. Great music too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good pizza with friendly staff to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We got takeaway pizza on a Sunday night, when it wasn't busy. Staff were friendly as we waited for our takeaway by the bar. Was offered full carafe of chilled water without asking. Margarita pizza was traditional Naples style, uncut with lovely tomato sauce and fresh mozzarella. Pizzas were a little trouble some to cut, but they were good. Good quality ham was used for the Hawaiian style pizza, which also had whole sliced pineapple. Worth trying if you're after Italian style pizza.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too expensive. No entre sized meals. Service was unhelpful.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Small eaters get charged full price for child's portion. Locals that are known to staff get their meals whilst other patrons wait. Takeaway got preference.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paolo's Pizza Bar also viewed

 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Paolo's Pizza Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paolo's Pizza Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.