We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayswater

The Bayswater
569 Esplanade Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland QLD 4655, Australia
(07) 4194 6444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 112 Restaurants in Hervey Bay
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I took friends for lunch. We all ordered the same meal (Salt and Pepper Squid and Salad ) when the meals arrived three had 4 large pieces of Squid and the forth had three small pieces of squid and was what you would expect as a childs meal . My wife took the meal back to the reception counter to a staff member who returned it to the kitchen and then returned the meal and advised that all meals were done by weight and it was correct. It was very embarrassing as we had been to the restaurant previously and had told these friends how good it was. Then meal the friends received was very small.
We will not be returning again as their scales do not work and they were not very friendly about the matter.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    38
    18
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro and bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Was a little taken a back by the bistro pre ordering of meals on arriving at The Bayswater however the food is excellent and staff are really helpful and friendly. Place was very busy on the two nights we went which obviously shows just how good the place it. Bar area has pool tables and Keno which give it a nice local atmosphere. Bands play on selected nights and Thursday is $12 steak night. All round a really nice place to eat with great views across the bay and pier.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“LOVELY VIEW FROM THE DECK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Great place to sit outside on a lovely warm evening. The place was busy. My husband had the salmon for his main which was very dry and disappointing and I had the beef cheek which was a little over cooked but I can say the sticky date pudding was fabulous. I feel that having a restaurant so big it can take away the quality of the food with so many people to cater for.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

Really good food at a great price. Lots of variety on the menu, including specials board. Beautiful atmosphere, overlooking the pier and beach.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Childers
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Bayswater Hotel is attached to Peppers Pier resort.
Fabulous meal with great views and sea breeze, Started with a dozen Coffin Bay oysters on shell. Fresh, plump and delicious. Slow cooked beef cheeks with braised cabbage, mashed potato and tomato jam. Hubby spent his previous working life as butcher, then meat inspector..really knows his beef. Is still telling everyone who will listen that it was the best meal he has had for years.
My Caesar salad with warm prawns was the ultimate Caesar (alas only one anchovy, but forgiven for that).
Will definitely viisit next time we travel to Hervey Bay.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bayswater also viewed

 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Scarness, Hervey Bay
 

Been to The Bayswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayswater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.