We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb price for what you get” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge to your Saves list
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
94 Cypress Street | Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Superb price for what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is on the one side a "typical" motel with standard facilities, but its clean, huge, has a modern bathroom, the Location is good and the Price is more then fair. Two bedroom for 105 AUD! Very good for a Night or two.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
39
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Best lodge I stayed at in Australia, and certainly the best value for money. Clean, big and flawless apartment. New and comfortable linen on beds, nice bathroom and living room, kitchen full of appliances and all kinds of utilities. My only regret was not staying there longer. Excellent wifi included in price. Service was absolutely outstanding. Peter (owner and receptionist) were extremely kind from start to end. He thoroughly explained the different tours available, explained us the way to our next destination (Agnes Water) and always had a great smile and friendly advice to offer. My wife and I became his fan. We hoped other businesses would be inspired by his example.
Guest laundry available. Nice breakfast restaurant is 15 min walking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

From the moment we drove down the driveway, the lodge looked lovely, we had driven from cairns to Hervey Bay over the period of 3 days and had stayed at three different places along the way and couldn't believe that we were only paying $30pp for what we saw in front of us. From the moment of check in, the gentleman at the desk was so friendly, greeted us with a smile and enquired about our journey. He asked what we planned for the next day and helped us book Fraser Island & didn't just say yeah this is a leaflet, he explained everything aBout the day tour. He gave us a a4 sheet of places to eat and explained where the shops were, so helpful. The apartment was immaculate and the beds so comfortable.
The lodge is situated in a nice quiet area but if you turn the corner you have the beach and the esplanade. Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a very big room, in fact it was like a little apartment, the owner will go out of his way to help, very clean place,everything functional, good location, clean and nice pool, free wifi a rare thing in Australia and worked very good. I would return , if i went back to Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place is really great, and so much better than what I expected for a motel at the price we were paying. It must be one of the cleanest motelrooms I've ever seen and the bathroom and kitchen were practically shining! The location is really quiet, but the beach and everything you need (shops,restaurants) is only a short walk away. Unfortunately the weather wasn't too great in Queensland during our trip, but we still enjoyed our time, much because of a couple of great nights sleep at this motel.
Service was good and very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a larger group of friends.
The lodge is set one block back from the beach in a quiet street. Fittings and furnishings were clean, comfortable and in good condition and we felt the accommodation offered excellent value for money. I can't write highly enough of Peter at reception who was friendly and helpful, his service turned good accommodation into a very enjoyable place to stay.
There are quite a few cafes along the esplanade, all within 5-15 minutes walk and a convenience store a stones throw away.
I wouldn't hesitate to return here. It worked very well for a group of friends who wanted some communal outdoor areas to be sociable but also some privacy.

Room Tip: Rooms are set in an "L" shape around the pool, but room 1 is set away from other rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My trip got off to a bad start .... I booked a room a week prior to the visit knowing that there had been a problem with gas supplies to Hervey Bay after recent weather issues. The media reports had been saying their was problems with some commercial cooking, but no other impact. I received a call from this lodge on the day I was due to check in saying there was no hot water .... And many of the other accommodation providers in the area were in exactly the same situation. It angers me that they were aware of this problem when I booked, but said nothing - perhaps hoping it was going to be fixed before I arrived.

There were no other options that were better at that late stage, and as I had to stay somewhere, I did not really get much of a choice in taking the room. The manager did try to find somewhere that had hot water, but the one option they came up with was unsuitable. There was no offer to reduce the room rate even though they could not provide what they had promised when I signed up. The whole situation worries me a little .... It is more than just missing out n a hot shower ... There is the washing up in the self contained units and the hygiene issues associated with all the cleaning. It just would have been vice if they had been honest right from the start - I was prepared to give them a go anyway ... But I do hope they and others in the area get the message to be more open!

The pool was good but chlorine very strong. The three kids had a ball in this. There is no front fence on the property, and it does front a reasonably busy road, so beware of this if you have a "runner" in the family.

We were in room 3 - there is a driveway at the end of the building which you have to park in - out the front of the building - not secure parking. The room has some strange quirks ... The main door has frosted class, with blind on each side. The frosted glass allows lots of light into the living room - including all night long because the lights outside in the walkways are left on all night! The curtains have that annoying gap between them and the window, which also allows lots of light in. Small thing but annoying!

Beds are comfortable enough and the entire room is reasonably modern and well kept .... It is a small-ish units, but adequate for four people. Kitchen area is cramped - no stove or oven available because of the lack of gas. Tea and coffee provided and a couple of little cartons of milk. There is also free wi-fi which can connect a number of devices, and signal is okay.

I would probably stay again .... When there is gas! The price was reasonable by Hervey Bay standards (where accommodation continues to be massively over-priced for what they offer ... Even though the place is like a ghost town at the moment!!) and it does the job. The rating may have been higher if there had been honesty up front and everything worked, but based on what we experienced, it is hard to give it more than average.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
# We did not lie - As commercial businesses and food outlets were taken off the Gas supply line 1 week prior to us, we were informed by the gas company that the problem would likely be fixed and people in accommodation would not be affected by the outage. 1 week later the repair to the gas pipeline near Bundaberg failed and they then decided to put a new pipeline in which is when we were notified we would then be taken off the grid for an unknown period (hopefully resuming around the 15th February).
# We phoned you twice before you arrived, asking if you would like to cancel due to gas outage - You declined
# We obtained replacement accommodation with hot water for you, but you declined to take it prior to arriving
# We were clear about what we did and did not have operational prior to arrival; In regard Hygiene - the Electric jug provides ample hot water for the kitchen sink. The microwave, electric stainless steel banquet fry pan, and microwave containers, Bottle Gas BBQ which we have available and many local restaurants nearby all suitable for food
# Our Pool is a salt water pool it is not a chlorine pool and is checked independently by a pool specialist regularly
# We do not provide secure parking but all parking is off the street
# We do not front a busy road in fact most people comment how it is one of the quietest locations and streets - and that is why they prefer to stay here
# Pricing- thank you for recognising that our pricing is "reasonable by Hervey Bay standards", i can assure you that - as we are a family business, this is the only reason why we can keep the prices down - sometimes i feel people lack understanding of the high overheads in running such a business and that the profitability is minimal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge

Address: 94 Cypress Street | Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hervey Bay's best value Holiday Units" We have 9 fully renovated modern Units (November 2011). All Units are self contained and serviced weekly, they consist of: separate bedrooms, full kitchens including oven & microwave, air-conditioning, flat screen TV, DVD & Free Wi-Fi Internet. Shared facilities include BBQ area, Pool, Onsite Laundry and ample space for children to play, all located just 100 metres from the best beach in Hervey Bay (Shelly Beach). Our 2 bedroom units are perfect for families or couples sharing. Located just one street from the busy Esplanade, our units offer a quiet tropical & peaceful setting. All apartments have easy access to our pool and BBQ area. Corporate guests are very welcome, with after hours check in available to accommodate (by prior arrangement). We provide tour information & bookings for Whale Watching, Fraser Island / Lady Elliot Island and many other activities in the area as well as Bushwalking/ Scuba Diving packages. We are located in Torquay, the most centrally located, Beach side suburb of Hervey Bay. The Esplanade shops, restaurants and takeaways are all within a minutes walk. RSL and Boat Club provide Free Courtesy buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.