We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour..shame the whales didn't play ball!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin Marine Tours

Blue Dolphin Marine Tours
Berth B7, Great Sandy Straights Marina | Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
07 4124 9600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 activities in Hervey Bay
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Whales, Dolphins and Champagne! Be one of the few, not the many to experience our Exclusive Full Day Whale Watching Tours. For an up close and personal experience that you will never forget, see the magnificent humpback whale from the uncrowded deck of Blue Dolphin. As one of the smallest vessels and a luxury sailing catamaran, you will experience the trip of a lifetime. See the whales eye to eye and listen as your skipper shares his 27+ years experience working with marine mammals.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour..shame the whales didn't play ball!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Took this one day tour while traveling in Australia. Due to the boat being small it is easy to make your way around and cover all sides trying to spot the whales. The crew was very professional, knowledgeable and friendly. The weather was fantastic. And we did see whales for most of that day, but they were feeling lazy, so more than some breaches and blows and the occasional tail slap wasn't on show. But that's out of the tour's control of course.

Would definitely recommend!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

We holiday in Hervey Bay every year and this was our first time to go out on a boat tour It was such a beautiful relaxing trip I now can't wait to make the Blue Dolphin Champagne Sunset Cruise a must do every year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This trip was incredible - Peter is very knowledgeable about the area and right out of the harbour the first thing we saw was a group of turtles. It just got better and better as the trip went on and the highlight was seeing a pod of 7 or 8 humpback dolphins who let us get close enough to watch them feed and interact with each other. It was a great morning on the water and I would high recommend this tour! Well done!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Already planning for next year's trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We've been out with Peter three times now in as many years and every trip has been fabulous. Always lovely people on board, always something new to see, always something to learn, yet we still get surprised by the close encounter at lunchtime! How do the whales know when you've put your camera down? Looking forward to next year already.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You can't get any closer to the whales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Well the whales in Hervey Bay can be seen so up close and personal with Blue Dolphin. A nice family friendly crew, the new vessel is spacious and there is room for all! No elbows/heads etc in pictures its wonderful. As you are low to the water in this vessel you get a whales eye view :-D It almost feels like you are in the water with them!
The full day tour is great to get out see the whales and then take a leisurely sail back to the Bay, all the excitement and then the chill out before you land ashore and head out fro dinner what better way than to spend a day! and great value for money too. Pete the captain/owner is very knowledgeable, has a great sense of humour and knows his stuff!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dolphin Marine Tours also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Blue Dolphin Marine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin Marine Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Dolphin Marine Tours to your Saves list