We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Villas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Wanderer Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Wanderer Village to your Saves list
Happy Wanderer Village
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   105 Truro Street, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Villas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed in a Villa last week. The Villa was completely self contained. Very clean, comfortable beds and great value for money. Management was very nice and helpful. Happy Wanderer is hands down the best tourist park I have ever stayed in. If your heading to Hervey Bay, staying at this place will be an absolute treat to accompany your holiday!!

Room Tip: Consult with management before booking. They are very helpful to assist the best accommodation for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happywanderer105, Owner at Happy Wanderer Village, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you Tim for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed here with my partner in December 2013 for 2 nights. The toilet and shower facilities are the best we have ever seen in a campsite, extremely clean and well maintained. The other facilities, including kitchen and BBQ area are very nice too. We managed to fit two (small) campers on one powered site, there was plenty of room between them. Beautiful location and easy for pick ups for Fraser Island tour. I would thoroughly recommend this campsite.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happywanderer105, Owner at Happy Wanderer Village, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you Jellopp for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were booked in to a grassed powered site right near the camp kitchen. It had excellent facilities. Swimming pool and spa was good to beat the heat. Staff were very friendly. Would defiantly come again. Only downside is we purchased the wifi for $20 and it was never available and would always dropped out so it was a waste of our money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happywanderer105, Owner at Happy Wanderer Village, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Danielle for your comments and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am aware we have some problems with the ADSL link into the property, Telstra is also aware of this and is rectifying the issues along with the G3 issues in Hervey Bay. We were giving refunds to those effected, if you did not get a full refund for your Wi-Fi connection please let us know next time you visit and we will rectify this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Well....

We booked the super en-suite which had its own BBQ & washing machine etc.(site 66) what a disappointment it was. $51 per night. BBQ didn't work & was also right next to park bbq's which I feel rubs your face right in it paying extra for your own when your situated right next to the others!!!! Anyways the en-suite had a dead cockroach in there so I'm guessing this wasn't checked before we arrived,which I thought this would have been done? I noticed there was a lot of black dirt on the shower floor I tried to wash this away but as I done so more would appear from the hole at the bottom of the wall! Next morning we spoke with Sharon & asked to be moved sites which she kindly let us pick where we wanted to be... ( We did get $10per night back as we moved from the super en-suite to a normal en-suite site).(Site18) went into the en-suite on this site to find 3 dead cockroaches this time... 1 in the toilet? 1 in the middle of the floor? 1 on the drain in the shower? Why were these in here? And why are these not checked before guest move in? The swimming pool area was nice but had some sick at the steps where you get into the pool which wasn't pleasant. The pool it's self could do with a wee clean. Internet... Don't get this it doesn't work! Paid $40 for wifi didn't even get to use this for 20minutes as connection kept on cutting off & it's 2013 since when do you have to walk around the park to find a signal especially when website says 100% coverage? Anyways we did end up getting our money back for it which seemed a little grudged. Think Michael & Sharon are aimed at the older generation of people don't think they liked us as we actually complained about things. Did overhear a conversation..mostly Sharon, she was drinking with fellow guests talking bad about previous guests she had stay at the park which is quite unprofessional. Wouldn't come back here!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happywanderer105, Owner at Happy Wanderer Village, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I am sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, and do apologise for the cockroaches found in your ensuite. Cockroaches however are common problems in Australia which increase the further north you travel. Pest control is one of the many issues all businesses must address. At the Happy Wanderer Village we engage professional pest control who sprays every year and, as November is our quietest month, this is when it is done, as a result the frequency of dead insects increases dramatically the following week, and our vacancy inspections are done regularly especially after spraying, but some are missed.
At the Happy Wanderer Village we have 6 free gas BBQs strategically placed throughout the village, these are shared by 120 Tourist sites. For those people who book a super Ensuite site, which is only an additional $10/night extra, they get a site 50% lager (150M2) than a standard tourist site (100M2), a fully tiled Ensuite, superior Vanities, Superior lighting, Washing machine and their own BBQ with outdoor setting for their exclusive use. I am at a loss as to see how this “rubs your face right in it” as every guest is entitled to use the community BBQ if they feel inclined. I did check the BBQ in question and it is working, having said that there are instructions as to how to light it, as all our BBQs are equipped with flame failure, therefore lighting procedure must be followed otherwise they will not light. These procedures may be inconvenient but they are necessary for your added safety.
Sorry to hear you didn’t like our pool area also, however the pool is cleaned and tested daily, we have no record of anyone being ill in the pool area?
The Wi-Fi network at the Happy Wanderer Village is one of the most comprehensive in any tourist park in Australia, having 7 professionally installed Wi-Fi antennas covering 8 Acres. Unfortunately there have been cases of the link to Telstra dropping out, this problem has been reported to Telstra and they are dealing with the matter I do apologise for the inconvenience this caused you, however we are confident Telstra has resolved this problem.
I take note that the staff were relaxing with family and friends after work. There private conversations are just that and I respect their privacy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

On arrival i walked into reception to check in and i was instantly made welcomed.
We got to our cabin and was nicely surprised it exceeded all my expectations, big enough for two, fully equipped kitchen, nice and bright, tasteful decor , and most importantly spotlessly clean.
The grounds and all the surrounding cabins are very well maintained.
Great job guys. Keep up the good work.
We will defiantly be coming back here.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happywanderer105, Owner at Happy Wanderer Village, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi David,
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us at the Happy Wanderer Village. All the staff prides themselves with creating a pleasant holiday environment. John our Gardner has recently completed refurnishing some 80 garden beds. Patti has just finished the spring cleans of all the accommodation, and the management team have some major upgrades planned in the New Year. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Clean cabins with plenty if room for bigger families. The lark is well maintained and close to the beaches for a day on the sand. Tested out the pool and spa very nice and clean our child loved it. Was a relaxing stay and very quiet at night. Fantastic that you can cook & has a full sized fridge if u wish to shop for a long stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happywanderer105, Owner at Happy Wanderer Village, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi Tash,
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on the team at the Happy Wanderer Village. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa, 4 adults and 2 kids, the cabin was lovely and clean, my kids loved the pool and feeding the ducks at the creek behind the villa. Lovely verandah, good kitchen with all the facilities we needed. A couple of blocks walk to the waterfront, restaurants, parks etc. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Wanderer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Wanderer Village

Address: 105 Truro Street, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Happy Wanderer Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Multi Award winning Happy Wanderer ideally located along side the Torquay lakes, your ideal location to base your stay white visiting Hervey Bay, World Heritage listed Fraser Island, and Australia's premier Whale Watching location. With direct access to Shelly beach (400M) and the Esplanade, being half way between Boat Harbour drive and The Esplanade you have easy access to Hervey Bay without the road noise when you return. One phone call or Email we can book your total holiday, with the most comprehensive range, and the largest selection, of accommodation (from 3 Bedroom superior cabins, 2 Bedroom Villas to our budget cabin range) all set in beautifully land scarped sub tropical gardens, and the most diverse range of sites (from the super en-suite site to grassed site, unpowered option also available) to choose from you can be assured we have the style to suit your needs and budget. Our fully accredited tour desk also has a great range of activities; World heritage listed Fraser Island, Whale watching, coral viewing, fishing to name a few, and you can store of your vehicle and caravan when booking one of our multi day tours. We also have bike, canoe or fishing rods available from our onsite hire shed. With great purpose built bike paths traversing the bay, and relative flat terrain, it's a great way for the whole Family to explore our City. Or you may choose sit back and relax at the Happy Wanderer village, the sites are spacious, the amenities clean, modern and well maintained, the accommodation clean and comfortable and all set on 8 acres of sub tropical gardens, what you would expect from a 4 1/2 star rated property. There is a play ground, TV room, Giant Chess/Checkers/Bocce games and new pools incorporating a toddler's pool. 3 BBQ areas and 2 camp kitchens for your convenience. Your communication needs are covered; Wi-Fi internet covering the entire park, lap top hire, fax service and coverage by all the mobile phone companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Happy Wanderer Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Wanderer Village Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Wanderer Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.