We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and relaxing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat to your Saves list
Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Shell Street | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Sanctuary Lakes Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful and relaxing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights this August with my wife, daughter and her boyfriend. We all enjoyed our stay immensely. Waking up to birdsong was a joy and we spent ages just enjoying the grounds and feeding the birds. The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. The villa was clean, spacious and adequately equipped. It was very good value for money and I'd love to stay there again. The swimming pool was tiny, but the sea is only a walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The place is so tranquil with so many different birds, including black swans. We were given bird food and took full advantage of feeding them. The birds sounds were incredible but the first night we were there the birds kept us awake so the second night we ran the fan on the cooler. It helped alot. I would stay here again because the owners were so attentive and the place is beautiful. It is a no nonsense hotel but very clean.

Room Tip: All the cabins are on the lake so there is not a bad room or location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

ok im going to rave about this place too!!!familyof 5 adults and only $120 a night!!! our bungalow was perfect!! the owners i have to say are the most friendly and easy going people ive ever stayed with.nothing was a drama.they work hard to make this place very special.this little gem is situated about 300 metre walk from the beach,and a nice easy to stroll to urangan pier and cafes.its location is also next to the kondari resort and hotel,so no driving if you want to go out for dinner and have a few drinks.if your a family looking for room for the kids to run around and feed ducks,turtles,swans,and the friendly old dog,there is also a pool!!,this is it.we cooked bacon and eggs on the bbq for breaky and had the dog,magpies,and ducks sitting with us,so funny.loved our break away even if we only came from maryborough to get mum out of the house.big thumbs up from us.thanks sanctuary lakes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolstadt
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights end of July and we really loved it. In the middle of Urangan, in walking distance to the waterfront (there is no real beach) and to the harbor for whale watching boats and the boat house, also some restaurants not too far away you will find a real oasis. Nice wooden villas in an awesome environment; it is more a botanical garden atmosphere (palm trees, nice flower trees and a lake with turtles) then a retreat. In the morning lots of ducks and birds made the area around the villas very busy. And you do not feel that you are in the middle of the Hervey Bay sttlement.
Also the owners are very friendly and commited, big compliment and please go ahead.
Price-value-ratio is excellent, finally we can say, it is 100% recommended and we should come in that area again, we will stay here again, for sure !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Lodge style accomodation. Staff/owners were unbelievably friendly, kind and helpful. Excellent value for money, superb, quaint, peaceful surroundings. A great base for Fraser Island and Whale Watching tours too.

Would not hesitate it recommending this to friends, family and anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The chalets are spacious and all have a view of the lakes. There's plenty of wildlife about and enough trees and grass to live up to the name. The kitchenette is well equipped and there are bbqs dotted about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bribie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Do not hesitate - you will love it. I cannot fault it. Loved the location on the lake, loved hand feeding the birds, loved Dozer the dog - happy 10th birthday dozer! Loved the owners. Can't wait to go back. Excellent value for money, best weekend ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat

Address: 1 Shell Street | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Sanctuary Lakes Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat is a unique holiday destination like no other in Hervey Bay. The 36 private, individual lakefront villas are surrounded by 10 acres of lush nature reserve, teeming with wildlife. Each villa is self-contained with a balcony overlookig our lake, providing the perfect setting for your family holiday or quiet getaway.Just 300 metres from the best beach in Hervey Bay, it's pricless. For your meals you can either cook in your villa, on our array of barbeques near every villa or dine out at a fantastic variety of restuarants close to the retreat. For your supplies, Urangan Shopping Centre is only minutes away, or stroll down to the fish co-op in the morning and select seafood that has been caught fresh daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Lakes Fauna Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.