We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pool, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ramada Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ramada Resort to your Saves list
The Ramada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   627 Charlton Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland Qld 4655, Australia   |  
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic pool, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for one night in October before heading over to Fraser for a few days. We had a ground floor studio. It was spacious, clean and modern, with direct access to the large pool and spa which we really enjoyed using for the afternoon. The pool is overlooked by most rooms in the resort so if you are shy it might not be for you, but we loved it. The spa was huge, too, which meant plenty of people could use it at a time.

All staff were friendly and helpful, including the breakfast staff. Breakfast was a sound option before heading off early for the day. Location good for getting to River Heads.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear MoniT76,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is fantastic to read that your enjoyed your stay with us and you found all our staff friendly. We are only a small team and all the staff take great pride in providing excellent customer service.

Our 42 metre pool is the feature of the resort and provides a great place to unwind and soak up the sun. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    116
    33
    12
    15
See reviews for
47
140
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked a luxury suite for two nights...only booking condition was no meals included in the rate..thats ok. Fantastic service by reception team throughout the stay. After a wonderful day on Fraser Island we returned to room to find that it had not been serviced...only to find on checking with reception that we were on 'eco rate' ..so your room doesn't get serviced..so no milk restocked for coffee, no cups washed, nothing...all in the name of the environment! I don't think so...you are encouraged to take fresh towels whenever from reception, are told that you can always ask for new crockery any time from reception..it just seems to me to be a cheap way to cut costs. A nice hotel but this left a sour taste. Meanwhile ..a drink from the bar was good..tho you had to go to reception to buy a packet of crisps to go with the drink! Clumsy. And the gym is a room with 3 pieces of equipment and a coffee table...amateur, don't bother..go for a great run along the Esplanade instead. I asked whether 'eco rate' (that we hadn't booked for but got) was economy or environmental in nature? Was advised that the hotel was 'an eco resort'...shame..could be so good if they just stuck to doing what you expect to happen when you book a 4star hotel room..service it swiftly and provide regular bar snacks at the bar rather than expecting your customer to harvest everything together! A strange experience.

Room Tip: Beware the eco rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Grimstar,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is great to hear you found our reception team fantastic as they all pride themselves on providing excellent customer service.

We have just recently opened our bar and there was a slight oversight in regards to bar snacks, we did offer cooked items from the kitchen however unfortunately we did fail to recognise guests would like to enjoy some crisps or nuts with their drink which through your feedback has been rectified so thank you for taking the time and letting us know.

We do offer two rate types at the resort which is Deluxe and Eco. The deluxe rate includes daily housekeeping services where the eco rate does not. We recognised that some guests would like their rooms made every day however others don’t so for those who do not require housekeeping services are rewarded with a discounted rate. We also recognise that guest don’t want to use their towels for multiple days so they are welcome to come to reception and change them over. We should have explained that for an extra $20 per night you could upgrade to the deluxe rate which would include daily housekeeping.

I am sorry you felt we were “taking the mickey” we are just trying to cater for different guests requirements.

Kind Regards
David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is nice. I would say it's overpriced though.
Pool is fine, spa works. Restaurant does good food. The breakfast was just OK. Daughter was hoping to find potato gems, or danishes, or croissants in the breakky smorgasboard.
A walk to the mariner if you are heading off whale watching.
The area around it though is absolutely desolate.
I wouldn't pay that much to stay there again, I'd rather go along the esplanade so at least you have something to see when you step out the front door.

Room Tip: one down near the pool would be better than one with an 'ocean view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Rosyjo11,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
The Ramada Hervey Bay is located in Urangan and is one street away from the marina which is great for those wanting to go whale watching.

As Hervey Bay is quite spread out the main centre of Hervey Bay is a 5-10 minute drive from the marina. There is a future master plan for this part of Hervey Bay with a large water park hopefully opening soon just a few minutes’ walk from our resort.

I am sorry your young daughter did not find potato gems or croissants on our breakfast buffet; however we do have hash browns and a selection of muffins available.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards
David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I booked into the Ramada Resort for two nights on our first trip to Hervey Bay, when we arrived we where treated very well and shown around the complex and found the rooms to be very clean and also quite large, very nice. On our first night we ate at the in house restaurant and found the food to be very good and the service was great. After our second day both my wife and I decided we would like to stay longer so went to reception who could not be more helpful and we booked for a further 5 nights.
We found the resort and staff exceeded our expectations and if we return to the Fraser coast will definatly be staying at the Ramada. Great value for money.
Ron Newsome
Christchurch New Zealand

Room Tip: we had end room which was very quiet and over looked the pool and complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Ron,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is fantastic to hear you found all our staff helpful and they exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birtinya, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Use to live in the Bay so we are aware of good and not so good areas. Whilst the Esplanade is picturesque, it can be noisy which is why we chose to stay at the Ramada. Clean and generous sized rooms. Staff are friendly. Breakfast on the first day was great but the second day they were not prepared well enough and ran out of hot food quickly. Thankfully we had been the lucky couple that had already eaten. Excellent location if you are undertaking activities at the boat harbour, Urangan or want a quiet relax. The pool area is beautifully lit at night. A reliable, clean, affordable and friendly hotel. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Lakesidedaisy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you would be happy to return.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, room excellent, very clean and well presented. Location ideal for access to the harbour or the Harvey Bay boat club, as these are across the road. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet pool side reasonable...although expect to wait if you want eggs to order. Hotel has undercover parking, on a first serve basis, if the hotel is well booked you might find yourself parked out on the street.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear bosskunga,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found all our staff friendly and helpful. I have shared your kind comments with them as they all pride themselves on providing excellent customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently as we were planning a trip to Fraser Island and a whale watching tour. Chose it due to reviews on Trip Advisor, we were not disappointed.

We had a 1 bedroom unit on the ground floor. I was impressed with the overall size of the unit, it was big! Open concept with kitchen, living and dining all in same room. Kitchen had all the cutlery/dishes etc...my only complaint with the kitchen would be the location of the microwave (which I've seen others mention on here - its over the fridge) and also, to me, the lighting was inadequate in the evening, it didn't give off enough light in the kitchen area.

Sofa was a pull out sofa bed, which our daughter slept on and was comfortable. What we liked was that even with the bed pulled out, there was LOTS of room to still move around.

The bedroom was big, had a tv and a king size bed. It has sliding doors to close it off from the rest of the unit.

Laundry was in the bathroom. My only complaint was the shower screen didn't go full length of the tub, it was small and therefore water would end up on the floor.

Patio - loved the patio...table and chairs and had its own gate which led into the pool. All the ground floor units had their own access to the pool from their patios. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to go for a swim, just not enough time. We wish we would have had an extra day to just spend on the patio and in the pool.

Parking is underground and on a first come first served basis.

Within walking distance to the marina for whale watching tours.

On site restaurant Smokey Joe's, which we had a lovely dinner at. We also had breakfast for the 2 mornings we were there...first morning, we were there right when it opened because we had a tour to catch - 7am on weekend - we found the food at room temperature to cool. Following morning, we had a little more time and it opened at 6:30, by the time we got there, the food had had a chance to warm up, so was better. On offer was hot and cold breakfast foods. If breakfast wasn't included in our stay, we wouldn't have paid for it.

Without a doubt and without hesitation, we would recommend Ramada Hervey Bay and would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear wifeofanaussie,

Thank you for taking the time to provided such a great and highly detailed review of our resort.

I am happy to hear you were impressed with our resort and would be happy to return. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ramada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ramada Resort

Address: 627 Charlton Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland Qld 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ramada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish resort and hotel is ideally positioned in the vibrant yet laid-back town of Hervey Bay. Choose from studio rooms, one bedroom suite or enjoy with the family a two bedroom apartment. The property is ideal for business or pleasure. Features include a heated spa,two pools including a 42 metre pool oasis. Enjoy a massage around the pool in our poolside gazebo, enjoy a bike hire along the waterfront to Enzo or Aquavue, a seaplane over Fraser Island and return to live music in Smokey Joe's Cafe bar and grill with our signature Taste of the Bay Seafood Platter. This is the perfect launch pad to experience the natural wonders of World Heritage listed Fraser Island, whale watching (August to October) and the coloured sands of Rainbow Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ramada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ramada Hotel Hervey Bay
The Ramada Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ramada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.