We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, handy to mariner. Dead area though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ramada Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Ramada Resort to your Saves list
The Ramada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   627 Charlton Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland Qld 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, handy to mariner. Dead area though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is nice. I would say it's overpriced though.
Pool is fine, spa works. Restaurant does good food. The breakfast was just OK. Daughter was hoping to find potato gems, or danishes, or croissants in the breakky smorgasboard.
A walk to the mariner if you are heading off whale watching.
The area around it though is absolutely desolate.
I wouldn't pay that much to stay there again, I'd rather go along the esplanade so at least you have something to see when you step out the front door.

Room Tip: one down near the pool would be better than one with an 'ocean view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosyjo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Rosyjo11,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
The Ramada Hervey Bay is located in Urangan and is one street away from the marina which is great for those wanting to go whale watching.

As Hervey Bay is quite spread out the main centre of Hervey Bay is a 5-10 minute drive from the marina. There is a future master plan for this part of Hervey Bay with a large water park hopefully opening soon just a few minutes’ walk from our resort.

I am sorry your young daughter did not find potato gems or croissants on our breakfast buffet; however we do have hash browns and a selection of muffins available.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards
David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I booked into the Ramada Resort for two nights on our first trip to Hervey Bay, when we arrived we where treated very well and shown around the complex and found the rooms to be very clean and also quite large, very nice. On our first night we ate at the in house restaurant and found the food to be very good and the service was great. After our second day both my wife and I decided we would like to stay longer so went to reception who could not be more helpful and we booked for a further 5 nights.
We found the resort and staff exceeded our expectations and if we return to the Fraser coast will definatly be staying at the Ramada. Great value for money.
Ron Newsome
Christchurch New Zealand

Room Tip: we had end room which was very quiet and over looked the pool and complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnewsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Ron,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is fantastic to hear you found all our staff helpful and they exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birtinya, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Use to live in the Bay so we are aware of good and not so good areas. Whilst the Esplanade is picturesque, it can be noisy which is why we chose to stay at the Ramada. Clean and generous sized rooms. Staff are friendly. Breakfast on the first day was great but the second day they were not prepared well enough and ran out of hot food quickly. Thankfully we had been the lucky couple that had already eaten. Excellent location if you are undertaking activities at the boat harbour, Urangan or want a quiet relax. The pool area is beautifully lit at night. A reliable, clean, affordable and friendly hotel. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakesideDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Lakesidedaisy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you would be happy to return.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, room excellent, very clean and well presented. Location ideal for access to the harbour or the Harvey Bay boat club, as these are across the road. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet pool side reasonable...although expect to wait if you want eggs to order. Hotel has undercover parking, on a first serve basis, if the hotel is well booked you might find yourself parked out on the street.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bosskunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear bosskunga,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found all our staff friendly and helpful. I have shared your kind comments with them as they all pride themselves on providing excellent customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently as we were planning a trip to Fraser Island and a whale watching tour. Chose it due to reviews on Trip Advisor, we were not disappointed.

We had a 1 bedroom unit on the ground floor. I was impressed with the overall size of the unit, it was big! Open concept with kitchen, living and dining all in same room. Kitchen had all the cutlery/dishes etc...my only complaint with the kitchen would be the location of the microwave (which I've seen others mention on here - its over the fridge) and also, to me, the lighting was inadequate in the evening, it didn't give off enough light in the kitchen area.

Sofa was a pull out sofa bed, which our daughter slept on and was comfortable. What we liked was that even with the bed pulled out, there was LOTS of room to still move around.

The bedroom was big, had a tv and a king size bed. It has sliding doors to close it off from the rest of the unit.

Laundry was in the bathroom. My only complaint was the shower screen didn't go full length of the tub, it was small and therefore water would end up on the floor.

Patio - loved the patio...table and chairs and had its own gate which led into the pool. All the ground floor units had their own access to the pool from their patios. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to go for a swim, just not enough time. We wish we would have had an extra day to just spend on the patio and in the pool.

Parking is underground and on a first come first served basis.

Within walking distance to the marina for whale watching tours.

On site restaurant Smokey Joe's, which we had a lovely dinner at. We also had breakfast for the 2 mornings we were there...first morning, we were there right when it opened because we had a tour to catch - 7am on weekend - we found the food at room temperature to cool. Following morning, we had a little more time and it opened at 6:30, by the time we got there, the food had had a chance to warm up, so was better. On offer was hot and cold breakfast foods. If breakfast wasn't included in our stay, we wouldn't have paid for it.

Without a doubt and without hesitation, we would recommend Ramada Hervey Bay and would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wifeofanaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear wifeofanaussie,

Thank you for taking the time to provided such a great and highly detailed review of our resort.

I am happy to hear you were impressed with our resort and would be happy to return. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nice modern hotel in a good location convenient to the boat harbour and the various marina's, cafe's, walkways, and apartment of the more recently developed Urangan area. There is a smart pool complex with spa, heated and unheated pools and a small gym. The on-site restaurant is well managed and they do a fantastic buffet breakfast that will set you up for the day's activities.Parking is secure underneath the main building with internal access.The Hervey Bay Boat Club is with restaurant. bars and entertainment is just a few minutes walk. A special mention to the friendly frontline staff in reception and restaurant. It's nice to meet people who enjoy what they are doing and interact well with their guests... without being intrusive. Maybe it's good training, good selection or just great people in Hervey Bay but I rate you highly! Our modern 1 bedroom apartment was well appointed, clean and sunny, overlooking the pools. The hotel's website photos tell the story and are accurate representations of the property. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear paul2009,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

It is fantastic to hear your kind comments regarding our staff who all pride themselves on their customer service. I have shared your comments with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is new and very clean. Nicely decorated throughout and rooms are very comfortable. The shower was excellent and the bed was very comfortable!The hotel is a little bit out of town. You can rent bikes though at the hotel to make it easier! The staff are very helpful! We were going to go into town to book a Fraser Island day trip. However we mentioned to the receptionist how tired we were and she book a tour for us from the hotel. Perfect!
The swimming pool is lovely!
The restaurant on site is very good. Had a good 3 course meal and enjoyed it. Usually I don't eat in hotel but enjoyed the convenience of not leaving the hotel on this occasion.

Only negative I can mention is the is no wifi and the internet on the hotel tv is so slow!

We got an excellent deal on Hotwire for this hotel. 100 dollars with free internet and room movie.

Very much enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear ann468,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found all the staff helpful. We have just ordered some new T.Vs for the resort which will emit its own WiFi signal in each room. Once they arrive the resort will have free WiFi through out as well as in-house movies.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope we can welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#17 of 24 in Hervey Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#4 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa
Oceans Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Urangan
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shelly Bay Resort
Shelly Bay Resort
#7 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ramada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ramada Resort

Address: 627 Charlton Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland Qld 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ramada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish resort and hotel is ideally positioned in the vibrant yet laid-back town of Hervey Bay. Choose from studio rooms, one bedroom suite or enjoy with the family a two bedroom apartment. The property is ideal for business or pleasure. Features include a heated spa,two pools including a 42 metre pool oasis. Enjoy a massage around the pool in our poolside gazebo, enjoy a bike hire along the waterfront to Enzo or Aquavue, a seaplane over Fraser Island and return to live music in Smokey Joe's Cafe bar and grill with our signature Taste of the Bay Seafood Platter. This is the perfect launch pad to experience the natural wonders of World Heritage listed Fraser Island, whale watching (August to October) and the coloured sands of Rainbow Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Ramada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ramada Hotel Hervey Bay
The Ramada Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing