We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in the bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ramada Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ramada Resort to your Saves list
The Ramada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   627 Charlton Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland Qld 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Kingaroy, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in the bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, room excellent, very clean and well presented. Location ideal for access to the harbour or the Harvey Bay boat club, as these are across the road. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet pool side reasonable...although expect to wait if you want eggs to order. Hotel has undercover parking, on a first serve basis, if the hotel is well booked you might find yourself parked out on the street.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear bosskunga,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found all our staff friendly and helpful. I have shared your kind comments with them as they all pride themselves on providing excellent customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    111
    33
    12
    15
See reviews for
44
138
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently as we were planning a trip to Fraser Island and a whale watching tour. Chose it due to reviews on Trip Advisor, we were not disappointed.

We had a 1 bedroom unit on the ground floor. I was impressed with the overall size of the unit, it was big! Open concept with kitchen, living and dining all in same room. Kitchen had all the cutlery/dishes etc...my only complaint with the kitchen would be the location of the microwave (which I've seen others mention on here - its over the fridge) and also, to me, the lighting was inadequate in the evening, it didn't give off enough light in the kitchen area.

Sofa was a pull out sofa bed, which our daughter slept on and was comfortable. What we liked was that even with the bed pulled out, there was LOTS of room to still move around.

The bedroom was big, had a tv and a king size bed. It has sliding doors to close it off from the rest of the unit.

Laundry was in the bathroom. My only complaint was the shower screen didn't go full length of the tub, it was small and therefore water would end up on the floor.

Patio - loved the patio...table and chairs and had its own gate which led into the pool. All the ground floor units had their own access to the pool from their patios. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to go for a swim, just not enough time. We wish we would have had an extra day to just spend on the patio and in the pool.

Parking is underground and on a first come first served basis.

Within walking distance to the marina for whale watching tours.

On site restaurant Smokey Joe's, which we had a lovely dinner at. We also had breakfast for the 2 mornings we were there...first morning, we were there right when it opened because we had a tour to catch - 7am on weekend - we found the food at room temperature to cool. Following morning, we had a little more time and it opened at 6:30, by the time we got there, the food had had a chance to warm up, so was better. On offer was hot and cold breakfast foods. If breakfast wasn't included in our stay, we wouldn't have paid for it.

Without a doubt and without hesitation, we would recommend Ramada Hervey Bay and would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear wifeofanaussie,

Thank you for taking the time to provided such a great and highly detailed review of our resort.

I am happy to hear you were impressed with our resort and would be happy to return. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nice modern hotel in a good location convenient to the boat harbour and the various marina's, cafe's, walkways, and apartment of the more recently developed Urangan area. There is a smart pool complex with spa, heated and unheated pools and a small gym. The on-site restaurant is well managed and they do a fantastic buffet breakfast that will set you up for the day's activities.Parking is secure underneath the main building with internal access.The Hervey Bay Boat Club is with restaurant. bars and entertainment is just a few minutes walk. A special mention to the friendly frontline staff in reception and restaurant. It's nice to meet people who enjoy what they are doing and interact well with their guests... without being intrusive. Maybe it's good training, good selection or just great people in Hervey Bay but I rate you highly! Our modern 1 bedroom apartment was well appointed, clean and sunny, overlooking the pools. The hotel's website photos tell the story and are accurate representations of the property. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear paul2009,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

It is fantastic to hear your kind comments regarding our staff who all pride themselves on their customer service. I have shared your comments with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is new and very clean. Nicely decorated throughout and rooms are very comfortable. The shower was excellent and the bed was very comfortable!The hotel is a little bit out of town. You can rent bikes though at the hotel to make it easier! The staff are very helpful! We were going to go into town to book a Fraser Island day trip. However we mentioned to the receptionist how tired we were and she book a tour for us from the hotel. Perfect!
The swimming pool is lovely!
The restaurant on site is very good. Had a good 3 course meal and enjoyed it. Usually I don't eat in hotel but enjoyed the convenience of not leaving the hotel on this occasion.

Only negative I can mention is the is no wifi and the internet on the hotel tv is so slow!

We got an excellent deal on Hotwire for this hotel. 100 dollars with free internet and room movie.

Very much enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear ann468,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found all the staff helpful. We have just ordered some new T.Vs for the resort which will emit its own WiFi signal in each room. Once they arrive the resort will have free WiFi through out as well as in-house movies.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope we can welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Everything about this resort irritated me. Maybe I'm a bit precious, a tad spoilt, but when I see it's a resort with great luxurious looking photos, I expect a resort, with a natural high standard and what you'd normally expect from a resort right on beautiful hervey bay.

My sister won three nights in a "studio" room in a competition. We saw the gorgeous pool shots and clean looking sexy rooms on the web, so we were really excited about a weekend away whale watching, Her "studio" was merey a bog standard hotel room, a double bed in motel style room with a shower and toilet. It did have a small balcony right on the road which lacked privacy. Since we are both independent sisters,and she unfortunately snores like a truck, (sorry sis!) and we couldn't trade the value of the room to put towards a suite which could accommodate two beds, I paid for a room "next door". Mine appeared to be an identical room, new, basic, but fresh, a kettle only and tiny fridge with no freezer compartment, and NO minibar, there's a paltry display at reception with assorted chocolate bars, cans of pop. There is aTV which is smaller than most PC monitors,and no movies, no foxtel,no Austar, No ice, or ability to get ice. Just white sheets on the bed, no duvet. Heres the real killer though, "for the benefit of the clients" they say,there is NO room service whatsoever. While this might work for a one nighter, it doesn't work for a three nighter, since there's no cleaning facilities, such as to wash your coffee cups or the floor.

Also wierd and client unfriendly is the design if the building. As you alight from your car out the front, you are faced with a massive set of steep stairs. There is a sign telling you if you have heavy luggage, haul it down the back of the hotel Under the stairs, find the minuscule lift, and catch it up to reception. alternatively, park downstairs, where there's no where near enough parks for all the guests, and no allocated car parks, then put your luggage on a trolley (ours had a bung wheel which made it impossible to steer and it only JUST made in into the lift if we stood alongside side).

We anxiously went to check out the pool which photographed so well. To get there you go along this "corridor" at the back of reception,which is also the way to get to other apartment blocks. Unfortunately,the corridor has a huge upward mound, right in the middle of it, as if someone got the building wrong, it is marked with striped tape,but you still fall over it, because it is so unexpected. also sharing the corridor is a narrow, open restaurant, Smoky Joes. it's a wierd design, when you dine in the "restaurant" there are people continuously walking past you to get to pool, apartments etc.

the pool is also long and narrow, In the centre of the two other buildings, and there is a heated spa pool, a heated small square section and a longer cooler section. Like everything else,it looks very new,but is totally devoid of any decoration, no plants, no features, just tiles and Pool and the hot sun, there are metal and mesh chairs some small tables and only a handful of lounges, not nearly enough for the number of guests. the wind and dust blow through and it's not a very comfortable or zen type of experience.

Everything In this resort is bare,basic, new but devoid of any character or service. The staff try hard but they are really young and untrained in customer service.

irritatingly, while my sister's room was "next" to mine, they were both part of two separate "dual key" rooms where there is an outer door and an inner door and you need electronic keys for both. Therefore we couldn't access each others rooms, because the outer keys were different and if you knock,the inner door is too far away to hear, We tried to explain this to the reception, who looked at us blankly. We took the to the rooms and showed them, then they gave us new electronic keys which still didn't work. On the second attempt we got it right.

We dined in smoky joes, and the service was barely adequate, slow, the two on staff chatting with each other while guests looked around and called for someone to take their order. Both Our meals, no frill menus (I had burger and she had carbonara) were delicious but small servings.

The smoky BBQ sauce in my burger, which was supposed to be the highlight, was a tiny drop of sauce no bigger than a small coin, but the home made burger was flavour some and delicious.

My sister raved about the carbonara,

The positives, the hotel is really ideally situated if you are going whale watching, since it is accross the road from the boat Harbour. However there is no view, you are on the apposite side,

The verdict, well it's not for me, andI would never stay again, but for budget conscious people who want a bed from the night, it's very clean and adequate,

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, preferably by the pool and a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Aussie_ Professional,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and I am sorry it was not up to your standard. I would like to address some of the issues you have raised in your review.

Our Hotel rooms or Studio rooms are a traditional hotel room fitted with modern finishing’s, king size bed, bar fridge, ensuite and furnished balcony. The photos displayed on trip advisor are a true representation of the rooms and can be seen as a King bed in a room with ensuite. Our Hotel rooms are 40sqm which is slightly larger then the industry average of 25-35sqm.

Should you require a larger room with more in room facilities we do have fantastic 1 bedroom suites which have full size kitchen, living and dining area spacious bathroom, washer machine and dryer, smart T.V and furnished balcony.

We do not have in-room mini bars however at reception we have an extensive range of soft drinks, beer, wine a range of pre mixed spirits and a large assortment of chips and chocolate. These are all at very reasonable pricing starting from $4.5 for a beer to $12 for a bottle of wine. Unfortunately we do not have foxtel however our rooms are fitted with smart T.V’s which offer complimentary access to in-house movies and internet.

Ice is readily available and can be requested at reception or from the restaurant. All our beds are fitted with a duvet; we do use a technique called triple sheeting which is where we place a sheet on the mattress then a second sheet on top then the duvet with the 3rd sheet on top, all of which are white which ensures that they are crisp and clean.

In regards to housekeeping we do offer two rates being “eco” and the other being “deluxe” and this is for the benefits of our customers as those who do not require housekeeping service receive a discounted rate.

The entrance to the hotel is up some stairs I understand at first it may seem strange to have the elevator underneath the stairs however once you park your car and remove your luggage you will then notice having the elevator located in the centre of the carpark is much more convenient than if the elevator was located right at the entrance. For those who struggle with stairs the walkway from the entrance to the elevator is roughly 15 metres.

There is unfortunately a slight raise close to where the public bathrooms are located, this is so guests that are in wheelchairs are able to access the bathroom. The area has hi-visible tape on the slight raise and a sign hanging from the roof warning of the raise.

Our fabulous 42 meter swimming pool is the showcase of our property with tables, chairs and sun loungers available. There is also a number umbrellas located around the pool to keep the sun off you when you are not in the pool. I am surprised at your remarks regarding no plants around the pool area as they are number of garden beds lining both sides of the swimming pool.

I am sorry to hear that the prize you had won was not up to your standards and we will review the issues you have raised for future improvement.

Kind Regards
David Hutcheon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent two nights here planning to go whale watching. Perfectly located, if whale watching is the intent of your trip. The first room we were given was not made up and had a poor (actually no) view out the window. When we went back to reception we requested a room with a better view and were given one. Staff were very friendly and receptive to all our needs. The room does not come with housekeeping but this was not a problem for us as we only stayed two nights and were aware of this beforehand. The room had all the usual basic amenities and we could easily replenish anything we needed through reception or the housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I travelled from Brisbane to Hervey Bay for 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Not knowing much about the area, we selected the Ramada as it seemed pretty good. Overall, our stay was up to standard.

Here's some pros and cons.

Pros:
- Fairly modern resort with all the facilities you need. It was good having a one bedroom with a kitchen, saving us some money on eating out.
- Pool - large and partly heated.
- Resort was fairly quiet most of the time, despite being school holidays.
- Good to have heavy block-out curtains which help with any noise or light issues while trying to sleep

Cons:
- Bathroom is quite dated - shower over bath? Water went all over the floor because of the small screen.
- Pool - a child pooed in one of the pools and this was not cleaned up for hours. Although not the fault of the resort staff, it really was quite disgusting and put me off swimming. Disappointing considering there's no where else to go swimming in Hervey Bay really.
- Air conditioning - would be better if it was ducted so that if you wanted to close off the bedroom from the living room you could still cool down. Alternatively, they should have ceiling fans in the bedrooms.
- Location - the resort is on the Marina side where there really isn't much to do. Granted, it is close to the information desk and where all the boat tours leave from, but if you're not doing any of that then I suggest you stay in Torquay or Scarness which have larger range of restaurants.
- Bed - really hard!

We didn't eat at the resort's restaurant, Smokey Joe's, but instead decided to eat at a variety of places along the Esplanade in Torquay. Some recommendations - Bayorama, Salt Cafe at Peppers Resort, and Maddigans Seafood for the best takeaway fish ever!

Overall, our stay at the Ramada and in Hervey Bay was fairly enjoyable and a nice relaxing break which is what we were after.

Room Tip: Ask for a top-floor pool-view apartment if you are a couple - preferrably down the end of the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ramada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ramada Resort

Address: 627 Charlton Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland Qld 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ramada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish resort and hotel is ideally positioned in the vibrant yet laid-back town of Hervey Bay. Choose from studio rooms, one bedroom suite or enjoy with the family a two bedroom apartment. The property is ideal for business or pleasure. Features include a heated spa,two pools including a 42 metre pool oasis. Enjoy a massage around the pool in our poolside gazebo, enjoy a bike hire along the waterfront to Enzo or Aquavue, a seaplane over Fraser Island and return to live music in Smokey Joe's Cafe bar and grill with our signature Taste of the Bay Seafood Platter. This is the perfect launch pad to experience the natural wonders of World Heritage listed Fraser Island, whale watching (August to October) and the coloured sands of Rainbow Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ramada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ramada Hotel Hervey Bay
The Ramada Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ramada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;