We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, good food, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ramada Resort

Save Saved
You added The Ramada Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ramada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   627 Charlton Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland Qld 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Hervey Bay
Wahpeton, North Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, good food, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We traveled to Hervey Bay on a whim and stopped at the Ramada to inquire about a room. They had a basic suite or 1 bedroom available for the night. Prices were very reasonable and included a hot/cold breakfast buffet in the morning.
We chose the 1 bedroom and it was very nicely appointed. It had a kitchen facility, verandah that opened to the pool area and laundry in the bathroom.
The pool area was beautifully appointed.
We chose to order room service from their restaurant and it arrived within 30 minutes. Everything ordered was good, although a bit cold but we heated it up in the microwave.
The main pool was not heated, too cold for swimming. The spa overlapped into a smaller pool section and was not too warm but was heated so we relaxed in it for a bit.
The location was right across from the boat marina, wish we would have had time to explore it more.

Room Tip: Loved the ground floor 1 bedroom suite that opened up to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    108
    32
    12
    15
See reviews for
43
135
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here as we were doing a Fraser Island tour. Our room was large clean and comfortable except for the bed. There was a ridge where the twin beds join which was most uncomfortable and not conducive to a romantic night. Undercover parking was a plus! We were not impressed with the restaurant. To start with there was video of Amy Winehouse wailing and this was so loud we could not hear eachother so I asked for it to be turned down and the waiter did turn it down. I ordered chicken breast which was inedible (burned to a crisp).. another chicken "breast" was presented which was almost as bad and certainly did not look or taste like chicken. We were refunded for this meal. The next night I ordered fish and chips and this was very nice. Loud music prevailed again.
When we went to breakfast on both mornings loud music prevailed again so it appears that this is the norm. I must be oldfashioned but I thought that meal times were for eating and conversation!!
The swimming pools and spa looked great with good water quality.
The service was excellent and all staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff are very helpful and the rooms well appointed and modern. You are in close proximity to the marina if you want to go for a stroll or head over to the Hervey Bay Boat Club. The food at the restaurant is fairly average. We ordered salt and pepper squid and it was the variety you buy out of the supermarket. Given this hotel is close by to fisheries and is well positioned in terms of local seafood the restaurant was a real disappointment on both occasions. Breakfast was much the same in terms of quality. They do have local music band playing which was great during dinner.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have now stayed twice at the Ramada , and the second time was just as good as the first . Staff are pleasant , service excellent , and the added bonus of breakfast included - great .
Food was good , presented well , and plenty of it . Have also eaten dinner there , the menu offered a variety of choices , so something for everyone . Rooms are comfortable and clean , coudn't ask for any more than that . You will also get a laugh if you take the time to read the posters on the walls in the dining areas . Overall - good value for money .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

spent 3 nights at this hotel/resort last weekend. Resort was built in 2009 so is still quite new and very modern. Plenty of undercover parking on site and the location is just a couple of minutes walk from the wharf and yacht club etc. Our room was on the ground floor but was quiet, big and well appointed. Unit has a high tech TV entertainment system and fires up as soon as you put your card in the slot at the door. Tried their onsite restaurant - Smokey Joe's and found the food and service to be good. The absolute highlight though was the live music which is on a Thursday, Friday and Saturday night. I gather most of the deals include breakfast and this was quite adequate - a mix of hot and cold foods. What else - free daily newspapers, tourist info at the reception, good lift. It has a sort of gym on site, but this is limited to 3 x pieces of equipment in a small room - so for the desperate only. There is a good large swimming pool and spa on site. Was planning on a spa but it didn't feel heated, so that killed that idea. Quite happy with the standards etc. of the hotel and would be more than happy to stay there again

Room Tip: It is a quiet location so probably doesn't matter much. Hotel does have 3 separate accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

we only live half hour from Hervey Bay but sometimes we go to the Ramada for a night away, we always get a 1 bedroom appartment & its so clean & has a great view of the pool, the boat club is a 2 min walk away and the staff are great. I love how breakfast is included in the room price.

Room Tip: ask for a poolside appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to this hotel for New Year's Eve 2012 after a visit to Fraser Island. We were only there for 2 nights and wanted to do the best tour we could for my 6 year old nephew's first trip to Australia.

The swimming pool had one corner that was filled with phlegm, and debris that we didn't see until we'd been swimming for an hour - it turns my stomach to think of it even now! We immediately got out the pool and never used it again - also, not only did they give us the WORST recommendation of who to tour Fraser Island with, that tour company forgot to pick us up and then proceeded to deliver the worst tour in history (which the entire bus agreed upon!) The hotel has enlarged photos all over the lobby of their famous seafood platter - we ordered it our first night and were told we couldn't have it because it has to be pre ordered the day before (and this place is ON the ocean!!) So the next morning at 7am we ordered it for that night - guess what - they forgot to put the order in - then they all blamed a different department for the error. We agreed to a credit for our meal because it was without doubt the worst New Year's Eve on record - and they over charged us for the dinner to boot. They never credited us the meal back to our card probably because we live in England and Los Angeles?

We paid in advance for a day bed in the family room, and then we were charged both nights for the same day bed by the hotel! Double dipping anyone?

I hope if you are considering this hotel for your vacation - that this review changes your mind!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ramada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ramada Resort

Address: 627 Charlton Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland Qld 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ramada Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish resort and hotel is ideally positioned in the vibrant yet laid-back town of Hervey Bay. Choose from studio rooms, one bedroom suite or enjoy with the family a two bedroom apartment. The property is ideal for business or pleasure. Features include a heated spa,two pools including a 42 metre pool oasis. Enjoy a massage around the pool in our poolside gazebo, enjoy a bike hire along the waterfront to Enzo or Aquavue, a seaplane over Fraser Island and return to live music in Smokey Joe’s Café bar and grill with our signature Taste of the Bay Seafood Platter. This is the perfect launch pad to experience the natural wonders of World Heritage listed Fraser Island, whale watching (July to November) and the coloured sands of Rainbow Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotel.de, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ramada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ramada Hotel Hervey Bay
The Ramada Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ramada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.