We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ramada Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ramada Resort to your Saves list
The Ramada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   627 Charlton Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland Qld 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were staying here the night before a flight to Lady Eliot Island, but it would be perfect for visitors to Fraser Island too.

The layout of the hotel is a bit like a motel--to get to our room we walked out through the hotel, past the pool to a block. We were on the second floor but there were lifts.

Parking was easy, but we stayed in July, somnot peak season. It appeared that they had bikes for rent too which would be good if you were staying longer than we were.

The hotel was close to ferry terminal and a 10 minute drive to the airport.

I'd stay there again if I was in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    139
    43
    13
    16
See reviews for
60
179
7
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pleasant building but poorly designed access from garage to rooms - includes walking through several doors and the restaurant with luggage! All staff lacked interest in clients, the 3-person room was only prepared for 2 people, response on request for third bed to be made and towel was surly.
Restaurant food was very basic, lacked flavour and service was disorganised.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Ricn Orange,

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't enjoyable.
Guests have the option of enjoyable a studio or suite in the main building (where reception, the car park and Smokey Joes Cafe is located) which makes up 43 of our studio or suites are or guests can go to Poppy's or Lilly's building (48 studio/suites) where you do have to walk past the cafe; however each of these studio's or suite does benefit from overlook a wonderful 42 metre pool. Please have a look at our web site.
Did we know when you make the reservation that you had a total of three guests in the room?
I do encourage any guest who is unhappy to give feedback at the time to our team members and if they are not happy with the outcome please contact me directly on 0432 068 079.

I would really like to have you back as our guest again to show we can get it right. We do appreciate your feedback. Please contact me on andrew@ramadaherveybay.com.au or call 0432 068 079. I would prefer to contact you directly but are unable with the Tripadvisor system.

With best wishes
Andrew

Andrew Dearle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for one night, with a swim meet in the morning and it was lovely and quiet! Service was fantastic and the dual apartment huge! Very glad of the hand rail in the spa bath so my eight months pregnant self could indulge. My daughter loved the pool. The location suited as as it was five minutes to the aquatic centre in the morning. Boat club practically across the street for a reasonably priced dinner. My mother was impressed and would go back, so would I.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were fortunate to get a one bedroom non-serviced apartment overlooking the lovely pool at the last minute. Our spacious apartment was very clean and had a kitchenette including a microwave, refrigerator and cooktop. It worked well for breakfast, but we didn't try preparing dinners. It looked like there would be adequate dishware, cutlery, pots/pans, etc., however. The comfortable bed had very nice linens, and there was a washer and dryer in the bathroom with washing powder provided. Although non-serviced, we were able to get extra towels and bath supplies as needed.

We had free WiFi and even a guest computer near the lobby. Gated, underground parking was included. The staff was always friendly, efficient and helpful. Desk is not staffed after 7 or 8 p.m., but fresh towels and bath amenties were left on the counter, which was an unexpected and very nice courtesy. We found the Ramada to be one of the best values and well-run properties during 6 weeks in Australia -- a surprise since Ramada often isn't a great brand in the U.S.

The location was great for us because it was near the marina and not far from a few good restaurants, but the lcoation might not be the best for someone wishing to be closer to some of the other Hervey Bay amenities. Check your satellite maps.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Checked in and was greeted with a smile. The room was a little hard to find but was amazing when we did get there. Overlooked the pool and had everything you needed. Was nice and close to the beaches and the bay. Will be back :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for one night, we were placed down the back of the Hotel which is quite a long walk away from the entrance (Spinal condition), the room was definitely very basic, the shower had mould all around the bottom which made it very slippery. The comforter on the bed smelt like BO. The balcony was quite dirty, bird poo all over the brick railing, used cigarettes in the ashtray (non smoker). The bed was comfortable. I don't think the room was worth the money to be honest it was very modest and small for what we paid. The staff were absolutely lovely though and the entrance of the hotel is quite large and well presented. I probably wouldn't stay here again as it was over priced for what we received.

Room Tip: *Free Undercover parking! *Large heated pool *Back of hotel rooms are not that great, maybe reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at The Ramada Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Innika_angel,

Thank you for your feedback and your comments about the friendly team here.
I am sorry however that you your room wasn't enjoyable.

Please could I suggest when you experience this issues in future you contact reception and we will allocate you a new room. It looks like the room hadn't been fully serviced.
Since then we have done a spring clean and have created an new role of Executive Housekeeper; who is doing a wonderful job.

Our prices are very competitive and a number of our guests have commented how well priced we are starting from just $149 for 2 nights per person including a Tastes of the Bay Seafood Package worth $110.

We have two type of rooms a studio which is very much like a hotel room and suites which are considerably larger with a lounge, sofa, bath spa, washing machine and dryer and full kitchen. All have their own balconies.
Combined they are between 92-96 square metres. Our Suites are just another $29 per night.

Thank you once again for your feedback which we do appreciate. Please contact me on andrew@ramadaherveybay.com.au or call 0432 068 079.

With best wishes
Andrew

Andrew Dearle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

On our first arrival in Australia from South Africa we spent a month at the Ramada, the management and staff went out their way to accommodate us, provide us with information and assistance, thanks to the Ramada it was a great experience.
They booked a trip on the must see whale watch day trip.
Not far from entertainment, good food, the beach- lovely
Getting acquainted with our new surroundings in a new town, new country is stressful and tiring, but being able to sit in the spa relax and enjoy!
We would highly recomend any one how needs a long term accomodation to use the Ramada.

Room Tip: Room just outside the spa is lovely, but that is where most people will want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#15 of 23 in Hervey Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#3 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#2 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa
Oceans Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Urangan
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shelly Bay Resort
Shelly Bay Resort
#8 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ramada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ramada Resort

Address: 627 Charlton Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland Qld 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ramada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish resort and hotel is ideally positioned in the vibrant yet laid-back town of Hervey Bay. Choose from studio rooms, one bedroom suite or enjoy with the family a two bedroom apartment. The property is ideal for business or pleasure. Features include a heated spa,two pools including a 42 metre pool oasis. Enjoy a massage around the pool in our poolside gazebo, enjoy a bike hire along the waterfront to Enzo or Aquavue, a seaplane over Fraser Island and return to live music in Smokey Joe's Cafe bar and grill with our signature Taste of the Bay Seafood Platter. This is the perfect launch pad to experience the natural wonders of World Heritage listed Fraser Island, whale watching (August to October) and the coloured sands of Rainbow Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ramada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ramada Hotel Hervey Bay
The Ramada Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ramada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.