We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Great Winter Escape"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Akama Resort to your Saves list
Akama Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TOUR & SAVE $
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“"The Great Winter Escape"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

My first thoughts were WOW. Matthew & Pia gave us a spectacular entrance to our Deluxe Penthouse with bi-fold doors open and downlights on overlooking the Boat Harbour at night.
The walking track along the beachfront between the boat harbour and Torquay is ideal at night or day with great lighting. You may wish to hire a bike and ride the path! Dining at the boat club is cheap and good and for the more intimate nightout head down to Urangan on the beach where you will find a number of great restaurants. Don't forget Pavillions for that morning coffee!!!
We took the Day Away cruise across to Fraser Island and did plenty more walking. Excellent place to relax and get away from the winter colds of Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
Hi Palmsonduke
Thanks for your review. It’s nice to hear you found Akama and Hervey Bay a place to relax. I agree Hervey Bay has some excellent eateries within walking distance or a short drive from our resort. Our beaches and walking tracks are wonderful and safe for all ages. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your day on Fraser Island. We hope to see you back here one day.
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    47
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
143
136
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

My husband and I went and stayed at Akama Resort for our honeymoon. We had the most relaxing time, were left to our own devices but also had the most friendly help and assistance when needed. We were lent a bag to take on Lady Elliott island, given sunscreen and many other little extra's that big chains will not do. Absolutely recommend over and over again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
Hi Tinkerbelle3
Thanks for your lovely review and choosing to stay at Akama for your honeymoon. It’s great to hear that you had the most relaxing time, and it’s people like you that make our job most enjoyable. We were only too happy to assist with the little extras so you could enjoy your trip to Lady Elliott.
Hope to see you back again one day.
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeppoon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

I opened the door to the unit and "wow". The pics on the web just didn't do the room justice. At $240 you expect something nice and this is what you get. We were more than happy to use the room during the day to relax in as it was so inviting. The location is great just near the boat club and the cruises leave from just across the road. To sum up. If you want to pay $60 where you throw your bags in the room and go out all day then go down the road. If you want to relax in style and comfort then Akama Resort is the place to stay. Great value for money and hosts are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
Hi MarkYappon,
Thank you for a lovely review. Wow is a work that we love to hear and sound like you enjoy the apartment immensely. Good to hear you managed to relax on your holiday and took some time out for yourself.
Hope to see you back again soon and will make sure you stay in the same apartment next time.
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed in a Deluxe Penthouse, 2 couples with teh intention of relaxing in the room. It was stunning. Everything about the appartment was absolutely first class from the view to the furniture and fittings. We relaxed on the huge balcony and cooked dinner in the beautiful kitchen. The place is actually far nicer than the photos which looked great but just can't do the place justice. We felt sorry for the people staying in the resort next door as it looked shabby in comparison. The Deluxe Penthouse is real luxuary. We will be going again for short getaways.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Hi Gina,
Thank you for a gorgeous review and taking the time to review our resort. We are glad you had a great time with your parents and they enjoyed the views and apartment. Photos don’t do the apartment justice as you know, but we do have a good virtual tour on our website.
Hope you can stay a little longer next time, the Whale watching season starts in August!!
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed 2 nights here. The rooms are superb. Really designed as timeshare apartments with kitchen areas, they are very well equipped and designed. Helpful managers. The nearest restaurant is the boat club, 5 minutes walk away. You need a car to get to a shop. The only thing slightly taking the shine off were the dire warnings about leaving the apartment exactly as you found it. Maybe necessary, but ...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Hi Brabb,
Thank you for your review. Nice to hear you enjoyed your time here at Akama and in Hervey Bay. The Boat Club over the road is also one of our favourite spots to eat. Sorry to hear the signs were a little off putting, but unfortunately these have become essential due to a small minority of people. All we ask of guests is to take out your rubbish and turn on the dishwasher before departure and have respect for the apartment. We work extremely hard to keep our apartments up to 5 star standard so they are able to be enjoyed by everyone just as you did.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of Australia.
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

great position, and great facillities.
penthouse has a magnificent view, and is top end luxury.
very accomodating and special
great for inclement weather if it turns out that way.

preference to book direct with the managers

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Hi Coops,
Thankyou for taking the time to review our resort, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the views.
Hope to see you again.
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We spend three nights in Easter in this resort. The resort is new and the room we got – a penthouse on the 6th floor – was very spacious with three good sized bed rooms’ two bathrooms, a very large meal and living, good size balcony and a very good kitchen.

Mat, the resident manager was very friendly (overt the phone as well as in person) and we got a better rate by talking to him over the phone. We were impressed by all the thought he has put to in preparing the apartment for us.

Resort was very clean overall. The appliances were modern and in great working order. Toilets too were clean and well kept.

There was a barbeque on the balcony. We are not too sure if this is there in all room. The large bi-fold door to the balcony was great.

Sadly the orientation of this penthouse was such that the view was not worth writing home about. However there seem to be other rooms and penthouses that face directly to the boat harbour and thus should have better views. We are not too sure about the views from the lower levels thought.

The pool was great. Solar heated and nice and reasonably warm on a good day. The hot spa next to it was the best. It could easily hold about 8 people and was one of the highlights of our stay. There is a communal barbeque area next to the pool.

There was no gym on site. However, the area offers lots of activities and walking and cycling tracks are just around the corner. So are the restaurants in the esplanade and the Boat Harbour.

Resort has underground car parking which is very tight to say the least. So if you arrive in a large vehicle take care in parking.

Overall, this is one very good proposition for accommodation if you are in the area. It is away from the hub of activities yet not too remote from it at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Hi OZ- Family,
Thank you so much for your informative review On Akama. We certainly appreciate the time and effort you have taken to provide such detailed feedback. Penthouse 21 is north facing and the views are not as spectacular as the east facing Penthouses thus the reduced nightly tariff. You may take a virtual tour on our website of the deluxe penthouse this gives you a great feeling of the apartment, BBQ’s are in all penthouses. We take great pride in the presentation of the apartments and was nice to see it appreciated.
We would love to see you back here in the near future, let’s talk a deal on the Deluxe next time.
Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akama Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.