We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice I made” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Akama Resort to your Saves list
Akama Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AUD165 (AUD)
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Fylde
1 review
“The best choice I made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

After much deliberation as to where to stay (Hervey Bay vs Fraser Island), I opted for the Akama Resort in Hervey Bay. The price comparison to other hotels and resorts were minimal so I decided to look at the reviews. I could find no other place that had as excellent reviews as here.

When I arrived I can say I was not disappointed, the friendliness and help of Matt & Pia and Di was invaluable. The apartment and resort are exactly as you see it in the pictures on the web. The apartment was clean, modern with air con. and can cater for any type of guests, whether solo traveller, couples, family or group. Fully equipped kitchen, plus washing machine, iron, tumble dryer, etc.

On visiting the area and Fraser Island I passed the other resorts I considered and I can gladly say I made the best choice.

I would recommend the Akama Resort to anyone. It is well worth staying and after working all year, you deserve the best, why settle for less.

I'll be back again, next time with friends.

  • Liked — All of it - Reviews and photos matched the experience
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    55
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
151
143
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

As I travel a lot for business, I choose to stay at Akama and have done so for nearly a year, not long after it's opening. I choose to stay here 3 nights a month every month.
This is the first place I have found that the resort is BETTER than it's website.
You cannot call your room a room, but a spacious well appointed huge apartment. Fast Broadband well priced which helps with my business. Fully self contained with more than everything you could need.
Plasma TV in the main room and LCD in the bedroom.
It's great to sit on the balcony on the laptop to finish the day overlooking the huge pool. BBQ facility and security parking.
The hosts ensure your stay is totally enjoyable and as I usually flick an Email to book in, sometimes at short notice, are extremely accommodating. I'm sorry this site doesn't have a rating of 20 out of 10, because it is what I would have give Akama!
I enjoy recommending this resort to family and friends and never hesitate to, but I enjoy my own stays there more!

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

We've recently spent two nights at the Akama, although we would have happily stayed for longer. The apartment was immaculate, with up-to-date fixtures and fittings and lots of room. So large and well equipped I'd be happy if it was my flat.
We'd happily recommend it to others and if we are back in the area that's where we will stay.
If pushed to criticise something - I'd say that the reception looked more like a back office (which it is) than a reception of such a smart resort. But don't let that put you off - the owners were very helpful.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, space
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

It's not often that a property lives up to expectations created by its website. After booking several nights for our recent stay off the web, the Akama exceeded those expectations. Sparkling clean and tidy, with immaculate apartments fitted out with high quality furnishings and appliances. We would have happily stayed for months! The Akama is new which helps to explain its pristine state - but you get the sense the owners are very committed to maintaining the highest standards. The managers - Matt and Pia - were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. We loved their commitment to protecting the whales through the property's support for Greenpeace. You see a lot of businesses professing their corporate social responsibiity - here is one that puts it up front. We bought some great Greenpeace tshirts. Super convenient to the Urangan marina for trips to Fraser Island and whale watching. The only drawback is that it is a little bit out of the way from the main shopping and restaurant strip of Hervey Bay. The nearest supermarket was a bit too far to walk, especially with kids, although a walk to the Urangan pier is a nice trip. So, a car might be useful if you want to get out and about in Hervey Bay itself.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We had a lovely time staying at the Akama Apartments - that stay was made all the more wonderful by the fantastic service provided by the management which included recommending and booking tours, places to eat, things to do and organising taxi's, etc. They could not have been more helpful .. a big thumbs up to Matt and his lovely wife.

The apartments themselves are very new, spacious and modern with every amenity you would need. We ate breakfast in and visited restaurants and had take-away delivered for other meals. We can recommend a trip to The Boat Club for a very reasonably priced meal and the cafe's overlooking the nearby marina were great too. Take-away from Thai and Indian were very good too.

As far as location goes, it's only a few hundred metres walk to the Marina/Club where the boat tours leave from ... most other tours will pick you up from the front door. It is not central to the general shopping districts which are inland a bit although there are a few tourist type shops at the Marina area.

We had two apartments booked on the fifth floor, which had views out to the marina and the bay itself. There is a nice pool and spa but it was a touch too cold (August) when we were there for that. There is also a nice BBQ area if you want to self cater. A secure underground carpark is also provided.

The rooms are equipped with a large plasma TV and LCD in the main bedroom - DVD's can be hired from reception or BYO.

Getting around Hervey Bay itself is a bit more difficult without transport as the public transport is infrequent. Walking is easy but it's probably a 1.5km walk to the Urungan pier. The best part of the waterfront walks is probably another 2-3km further along the beachfront.

The taxi fare cost us about $17 from the airport - but service is not all that reliable so book ahead and allow for them to be up to 20 mins late on pickup.

Hervey Bay itself is quite spread out and a visit to the Centro shopping centre or any other stores is going to require a taxi, car or bike. We thought about hiring bikes but as there were 8 of us it was cheaper to hire a car for the day.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Everything about this hotel is 'cool'. The 2-bedroom apartment we stayed in was well-apponted, clean and spacious. We loved relaxing on the lounge with the huge flat screen TV after a day out sightseeing. We had breakfast in the balcony overlooking the pool. The kitchen is to die for. Very helpful and friendly reception. Quiet location - walking distance to the marina and the bus stop. A stone throw away is the Boat Club where we had dinner on our first night and went back again on our last night. The meal was simply delicious and reasonably priced. Would love to go back.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable beds, location
  • Disliked — if you don't have a car, have to walk a bit to the nearest supermarket.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

On our way to visit Fraser Island we decided to spend a couple of nights in Hervey Bay. Hervey bay itself is a quiet spot however is ideal as a launch pad for Fraser Island. We were a bit peeved to miss the whale watching because we were a month too early. Was'nt to be. When looking up the net for spots to stay there was very little choice for Hervey Bay. The Akama was one that seemed to stand out. We therefore rang directly only to talk to a very friendly owner. We booked in for 2 nights. It is situated in Urangan Harbour, which is a lovely spot and close to the boat club which is a nice spot for a cheap drink and a bite.
On arrival at this hotel we noticed how new it was. Reception was very friendly, however on arrival to the rooms we were amazed at the space and decoration of the rooms. It was the most modern hotel I have stayed in on my recent trip. Everything was spotlessly clean and of the highest standard. We had zero complaints. When booking a trip to fraser, the owner could not have helped us more. He was a great help and we had a super time.
All in all a great hotel. Hervey bay itself is not the wildest spot, but that suits a lot of people. The irish bar shut at 9.30 pm very strange. Maybe the time of year. The hotel made up for everything that the town lacked.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. Heated pool and spa, keyless entry, undercover secure car parking and Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akama Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.