We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious well equipped apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akama Resort

Save Saved
You added Akama Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akama Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WHALE WATCH DEAL
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
midnorthcoast
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Spacious well equipped apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The apartment we had at the Akama resort was very bright and spacious and the kitchen well equipped. We had distant water views across the treetops to Frazer Island from our bedroom, sitting room and balcony. Breakfast on the balcony is a great way to start the day. It is a short walk to the marina and restaurants. My bed was comfortable and the apartment was very clean. Akama is a very well located resort at Urangan in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the review travelcool1
The good size balcony overlooking the pool and out to the Great Sandy Strait is just the spot for a relaxing breakfast and a comfortable bed is always high on everyone’s list – the new king beds have been very well received. It was nice to read that you took advantage of the location – the marina opposite is always very popular – especially the Boat Club. We hope you get the chance to visit us again.
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    40
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
133
130
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a way to wake up with views of Fraser Island. Great spot to sit back and relax with the great view. The kitchen and apartment is well equipped. The pool even had some kids toys for them to play and it was heated which was great as being the only place we stayed that we could have a good swim without freezing. Thanks for the advice about Fraser and booking the trip. Everyone had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello aussiechucka
It was a pleasure to have such a lovely family staying with us and it was great to see you all enjoying the heated pool. It was a relief the weather stayed nice and fine for the trip to Fraser. We hope you get the chance to come back and visit us again.
Kind regards
Matt, Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the Akama for one night. Everything is there and clean etc. However, the overall feeling is one of sterility, blandness and over-organisation. Bed and pillows not very comfortable, fair bit of noise from outside. Overall somewhat grim.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Longtom333
We were a little disappointed to read that you felt our property sterile and grim – we present clean and very well appointed apartments and generally enjoy positive feedback from our many satisfied guests. We respect your right to an opinion and would encourage you to visit us again for a longer stay as one night would not have given you the opportunity to experience all that this lovely property has to offer.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review – your positive comments were very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our first impressions of Akama resort are very similar to that expressed by Margie K in her review. Ease of checking in (we had pre booked) and the beautiful open space feeling of the unit particularly with the folding doors to the balcony being wide open. The unit and its contents were scrupulously clean, the one thing we check at every place we stay and we never compromise on that. If the place has not been cleaned properly, we never return. Akama Resort is one place we would love to visit again. The secured underbuilding car parking was a boon and access from that to the apartment was very easy via the lift. We had occasion to use the BBQ facility by the pool, two nights in a row, and not only was it very clean, there were utensils etc. on hand for our use. Even down to the BBQ sauce!
One word of caution though. After a couple of days there, an extended family with children occupied the two units next to us. They were fairly noisy (not naughty) as all kids are but we are in our late 60's and love peace and quiet now. Not too sure what the answer is to that one. Anyway, try the Akama, you'll love it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi adslekkr72
Wow, thanks for the great review. You were such a lovely couple and it was our pleasure to welcome you to Akama. We would love to have you back to stay – let’s hope next time we won’t be fully booked for the weekend – why not try an even higher floor for your next visit.
Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our recent long weekend at Akama was a delight. We were warmly welcomed by Regina at Reception who gave us a local map and great suggestions about places to experience in the area. On opening the door of the apartment we were impressed by the spacious layout and tasteful furnishings and with the folding doors pulled right back, the living room extended seamlessly into the balcony beyond. There has been no stinting here in the construction and fit-out, with high quality finishes throughout. The apartment was immaculately clean, very comfortable and enjoyable. We were glad to have hired a car to enable us to explore Hervey Bay (more extensive than expected) and the Fraser Coast and places further afield such as Maryborough with its interesting heritage, Tin Can Bay and Rainbow Beach (the nearby sand blow is well worth the brief bushwalk to see this marvel). Thank you to all at Akama - we'd love to come back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Margie K
Thanks for the lovely review and your kind words. It was such a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Your enthusiasm for the region was very encouraging and it is so nice to see guests taking advantage of all that this area has to offer.
We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again – 519 will be waiting for you.
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I travel to Hervey Bay quite often, and have stayed at so many different Hotels. This one I now frequent, but not because its dirt cheap , but because its well situated ....Well maintained... realistically priced . And over and above, Matt & Pia are great hosts . I recommend you make a group booking & spend some quality time in one of their 3 bedroom Penthouse suites on the 6th floor.

Dan O

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Chop A
Great to read that you enjoy your time here at Akama and that you appreciate the amount of room you have – plenty of space for you and the crew. It’s always our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Thanks for taking the time to post a review – much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a lovely time we had at Akama. Everything was perfect. The clean, well set up, spacious apartment had everything we needed.
The beautiful view was a pleasure and how lovely to sit on the wide balcony and look out toward the harbour.
Our hosts were friendly and helpful - they even called us 4 hours before check-in time to say our room was ready and we could check in any time we pleased.
The pool area was lovely and spotlessly clean. Everything looked clean and well-maintained.
We will be back again. One of the best places we have stayed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the pool view room which was the cheaper one, and it still blew us away. The view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi MerylF
We were so pleased to read that you had such a good time at Akama and that you took advantage of the beautiful views from the balcony. Next time you visit you might want to go even higher and try our ocean view apartment.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akama Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.