We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST IN HERVEY BAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Akama Resort to your Saves list
Akama Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TOUR & SAVE $
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Gold Coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN HERVEY BAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I absolutely love the apartments at Akama, the bedrooms are large, nice size bathrooms and kitchen/lounge dining area is large and spacious. Very rarely do you find new apartments this size (most new apartments seem to be shoe box size). Large balcony with wooden outdoor setting as well as a wooden lounger, we overlooked the pool/boat club as well as glimpses of the sea. Bad weather kept us away from the pool, but the kids looked like they had some fun in the pool area. Underground parking for one car. The only downfall was that our apartment lacked serving bowls, there was enough knives/forks plates etc but no serving bowls for salads etc. Definately recommend it to families/couples and generally anyone wanting something a little upmarket in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Skozzie, NOT YET POSTED
Thanks for the great review.
We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the family managed to still enjoy themselves even though the weather was not too good. The heated pool is definitely the place to be on a miserable day.
We were disappointed to read that you didn’t have serving bowls in your apartment – we do have large salad bowls, a glass casserole dish with lid, 3 stainless mixing/serving bowls and an assortment of plastic microwave dishes and storage containers – we can’t understand how these were all missing from your apartment – we will speak to the housekeeping staff and have this investigated. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this caused you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama Resort in the future and thank you again for the excellent review.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    47
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
143
136
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great reception with very helpful information and knowledge about Hervey Bay. The apartment was spacious, clean, comfortable and had great views. They made booking a tour so easy and quick. Would love to go their again the next time I'm in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi PhillipJT
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour and it was our pleasure to assist you with the best options available. Your stay was long enough that you were able to take advantage of our facilities and it was great to see you and your friends ‘cooking up a storm’ on the BBQ.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you plan your next visit to Hervey Bay.
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Reg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We managed to get through the floods and were so delighted with the quality and cleanliness of the resort.Matt and Pia, the hosts, are the most friendly people you could ask for. The lady on reception, Reg was amazing and had so much great advise for us regarding the best places to visit with the flooding going on. Amazing views views from our balcony, and so clean and quiet. Matt was so helpful when we delayed our holiday by a couple of days as we were unable to reach Hervey Bay even offering us a refund. I cant imagine why anyone would give this amazing place a bad review. All we can say is that my 8 year old daughter and my senior parents couldnt find fault in this place. I guess there is always a whinger and you cant please everyone. All we can say as a family is FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: All the rooms were exceptional but we found that the 5th floor had an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello Mike G
Thank you so much for the great review.
We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us – what a lovely family! You were always so friendly and eager to experience what Hervey Bay has to offer. You had such a terrific time on Fraser Island – wow, what an adventure it turned out to be. We hope your parents enjoy the rest of their time in Queensland and have a safe return home.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama in the future - we have apartment 22 waiting for you.
Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Reg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked for two nights over the Australia Day long weekend. Needless to say we got stuck in Hervey Bay as all roads south were cut off. The service we got from Matt and Pia was first class.
Early on Sunday when it became obvious that we could not get back home to Brisbane and we were due to check out at 10am, we received a phone call from Matt at 8.30 am inviting us to remain in the apartment for an extra night at no cost. This was welcome news and much appreciated as we had my 89yr old Mum with us and to contemplate a shift to more economical accommodation would have caused her much anxiety. We ended up staying 5 nights and Matt negotiated a reduced rate for us to remain in our very comfortable apartment undisturbed. The experience was frustrating for everyone but was made all the more bearable because of Matt and Pia. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Akama Resort and in fact have already done so to our friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Eric N
Thank you for the review – much appreciated.
It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and even though circumstances meant you were stranded here for a few extra days, you were so understanding. We hope you didn’t arrive home to any damage – we know you were a little concerned.
Please pass on our best wishes to your mother.
We hope you have the chance to visit us again and we thank you for your recommendations.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were absolutely thrilled with our stay at Akama Resort. We rented a 3 bed apartment with wonderful views over the Great Sandy Straits and Frazer Island for 2 weeks. Due to the cyclone we stayed 3 weeks - we loved every day of it. The apartment was first class: spacious, well equipped, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Matt, Pia and Reg were wonderful hosts who provided us great advice on which trips to do and what to see. They also looked after us incredibly well after the weather turned and we could not return to Sydney. They continued to provide updates on the roads and the flights to ensure we were able to complete our trip at the earliest possible time. I could not recommend Matt, Pia, Reg and the Akama Resorts enough. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the penthouse suites, these have the best views of Fraser Island. It costs a bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello Richard F
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You were such a great family – so warm and friendly and so keen to enjoy all that this region has to offer. You fortunately, had some beautiful weather for the majority of your stay and your understanding and cooperative attitude when the storms hit, was very much appreciated.
It was such a pleasure to hear all about your experiences on the day tours – you all looked so exhausted but at the same time so happy when you arrived back from the day tour to the Great Barrier Reef – your enthusiasm made us feel like we wanted to head back out ourselves.
We hope your parents have had a good break and enjoyed their time in Australia – we wish them safe travels for their return to Europe.
We are looking forward to your return visit – the Penthouse is waiting for you!
Best wishes and kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Reg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had booked for the long weekend of Australia Day. We had weather warnings on the Thursday before we left so I emailed the resort about canceling. The next day I received a phone call from the resorts receptionist. I explained to her about the weather warning and said we did not want to travel incase we couldn't get back as we had work to get back to. She said she had spoken to the manager(he was on his way back from the sunshine coast after a camping holiday) and he had said the only people who could cancell where the people from the north. She said people where trying to cancel because it was raining. I explained to her the rain did not bother us it was the weather warning that was bothering us. . I said can't we just get a credit she informed me that the boss had said no to this and if you don't come you loose your deposit. She said they had had no weather warnings and I promise you, you will be fine. We made the trip on the Saturday and we were supposed to be back home on the Monday. That did not happen we were stuck there due to a storm. Monday morn I went to reception asked the manager could we get home, no he said. I asked how much for another night and he said $200. I informed him on wot if site it was advertised 3 nights or more $189. He said I don't know about that deal. I said I would speak to my husband and see what he wanted to do. We had to stay really as we couldn't get out so I rang reception, I spoke to the managers wife. I told her how disappointed in them I was for not letting us get a credit as we wouldn't be in this situation. She said we have people who have spent thousands buying these units and we have to answer to them. I said I understand that but all we had wanted was a credit we still would of come there at another time and spent money. I said we were told we would be fine she said we can't predict the weather(they had though). I said we will loose our wage and you should think of people's safety. She said we are always getting weather warnings and most of the time nothing comes of it. I said well can you give me a price for the night, she said I will let you know. Her husband rang back with the price $189. I then went down to reception told the manager we would stay the night and was that $189 for the three nights he saud no you booked two and then wanted an extra night, he said I am doing you a favour. Tuesday morning we woke to the same thing we couldn't get out of Hervey Bay. We did not give these people anymore money we went elsewhere to stay. We found Akama management and reception staff rude, unhelpful, uncompassionist, and unAustralian. So very disappointed. We lost two days pay and the trip cost us a lot more as we needed two more nights accomadation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Notice255068
UnAustralian, uncompassionate, rude - we find these comments to be incredibly offensive and unjustified.
You rang to cancel on the Thursday morning because it was raining. We had no indication (from Bureau of Meteorology) at that time that we were in for the type of severe conditions that we eventually encountered on the Saturday night.
Let us make ourselves clear – we have had 11 cancellations since Friday 25th – all were asked if they would like to re book or if they would like a refund – every single person asked to be moved down in the booking grid until they could get back to us with confirmed dates. Some guests that were in-house at the time of the storm were forced to extend and we offered them a free night (these guests were all very understanding) and when they needed to extend further we offered a discounted overnight rate. Guests that were staying with us during this period have been friendly, cooperative and appreciative of the efforts we have made on their behalf to ascertain road conditions, travelling alternatives and road closures. The beautiful gift and card we received from a family that were stranded and needed to extend for a further 4 days was testament to how we dealt with the situation.
We have been distressed by the amount of damage done to some parts of our town and we are friendly with some accommodation providers in nearby areas that have been forced to close their doors until they can rebuild and start again. There are numerous people suffering and facing considerable stress over the next few months and we think we all need to take a moment to consider everybody affected by this crisis and offer as much support and understanding as possible.
We have been through this situation before, as have all Queenslanders and we have always offered guests, who were unable to travel, full refunds or alternative dates – that is because we care and that is the Australian way. To be labeled unAustralian and uncompassionate is an insult and we are confident that our many guests who have submitted reviews in the past will be shocked by your comments.
We hope you have not been affected by the floods like thousands of other.
Regards,
Matt, Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Impressed from the very start. Akama is beautiful from the outside and in. We were greeted very warmly by ? Pia, who gave us a great run down on the facilities and the surrounding area. We were then introduced to Matt, who also made us felt welcome and who gave us advice on restraunts and things to see and do.

We stayed in room 14 which is a 2 bedroom unit on the fourth floor. It's everything a family with 2 kids would want, with a high quality of fixtures. The kids were straight in the pool, which also has a large spa, BBQ area showers and toilets. Ps BBQ comes with everything you need, even salt and pepper.

A five min walk to the marina and the boat club, which does fantastic family meals at reasonable prices, with really fast and friendly service. The marina has a small selection of shops. We did try cafe balaena and it is good for coffee, but the meals were disappointing. Five min drive to woolworths and petrol.

Large selection of restraunts on water front, which is five min drive away. We went to Coast, which had delicious food designed around the concept of sharing. We took a one day tour to Fraser island with Fraser Island tours. Again very friendly and our tour guide graig was fantastic. Dispite the rain we had great day.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Rickandjennsw
Thank you for the great review. You really sound like you managed to fill in your time with us despite the weather being a bit ordinary. Fraser Island is a fascinating place and it is quite an adventure made even more enjoyable by the experienced and enthusiastic tour guides – glad you had such a good time.
We are so fortunate with our location – the Hervey Bay Boat Club is very popular with our guests especially families travelling with children as they do offer a reasonably priced menu that caters for the whole family.
We hope you get the opportunity to visit us again – room 14 will be waiting from you.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akama Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.