We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wow Factor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akama Resort

Save Saved
You added Akama Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akama Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
THE WHALES ARE HERE!
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Hervey Bay
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Wow Factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We travelled with friends and as none of us had been to Hervey Bay before we really did not know what to expect. We booked a Penthouse on the 6th floor as one of our requirements is always 2 separate bathrooms. We did a toss for the best bedroom as it really was hands down much larger and offered a walk in wardrobe with gorgeous spa bath. I lost the toss and although I was happy with my room it defnitely lacked some of the luxury of the main bedrm. The apartment was modern and the decor was lovely. The views from the very large patio were just gorgeous. We ate regularly on the patio and just took in all that the Marina had to offer. We were very grateful for the fabulous customer service and recommendations for eateries, tours, etc from Reg, her tips were great and made our travels/adventures so much easier. Everyone was really so helpful and friendly. The AKAMA apartments are very close to the Marina and we ate well at the boat club and one of the adjoining restaurants....the trip to Kingfisher Resort for the evening seafood buffet is also worth the trip.
We found a co-op for fresh seafood which was very handy and so so fresh. We would recommend you hire a car as the Akama Apartments are at the quieter end of the Bay which is just wonderful if you are escaping traffic noise but a bit of a walk to supermarkets, etc. We all enjoyed our stay so much it is definitely going to be a more regular holiday destination. Thanks again Reg for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 23 is the Penthouse I recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi pamlSydney_Australia

Thanks for the great review.
It was so good to read that you enjoyed all the activities on offer in this beautiful part of Queensland – and you’re right, the location is ideal for a relaxing break.
Next time you come for a visit remember that it’s your turn to have the master suite. The balcony off the 2nd bedroom does give it a more private feel but the master is lovely.
It is handy having the co-op over the road – nothing better than fresh seafood on your balcony looking out over the marina. The Kingfisher Seafood Buffet is a very popular alternative and with the trip across the Great Sandy Strait it’s a great night out.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Akama in the future – try early Spring next time and you can add Whale Watching to your list of Fraser Coast adventures.
We sincerely appreciate our experienced reviewers and your comments are very much appreciated..
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    39
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
132
126
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Could not find a fault here ....it I did have to say some ...perhaps a spa in the penthouse would be nice ...we stayed in the Penthouse and it only had a small bath...other then this perfect...try to get a room facing the beach for a better view ....

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the beach ...we had the Penthouse but we were around the side ...a better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Judith-68

Thank for taking the time to post a review.

So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You stayed in the Standard 3 bedroom Penthouse and yes, you are right – no spa bath HOWEVER the Deluxe Penthouses do have a good sized spa bath in the ensuite. If you stay with us again, don’t forget to ask for the Deluxe Penthouse.
The Standard Penthouse is situated on the top floor and does have ocean views over the bay to the north but if you want to be on the east side of the complex then the pool view, ocean view and Deluxe Penthouses would be a nice alternative.
Thanks again for your review it was very much appreciated.
We hope you get a chance to come back and stay again…..don’t forget the Deluxe Penthouse next time.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney. Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Akama is a great place to stay with modern and luxurious apartments and situated in a quiet area with fantastic views from the Penthouse (6th Floor). From our arrival to departure Akarma really makes a great holiday experience. Regina was so helpful and every sugestion offered to us really delived and met all our expectations. What an asset for this resort she is. The boat club is a 5 min walk with the Marina next door with restaurants and a few shops. There is a Co op for fresh seafood within a short walk as well. We hired a car for a couples of days but Taxi's were readily available .
Thank you to all the staff at Akama and we look forward to our return.

Room Tip: The penthouse apartments have great views and very roomy. Looked at the other apartments and all loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi ChrisJTourist

Thanks for the ‘fantastic’ review.

You were such a nice group of friends - it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

You all seemed to have a great time on your excursions and I know the Seafood Buffet over at the Kingfish Resort
was one of your favourites – it’s a great night out with the scenic transfer across the bay and lots and lots of seafood
on offer. With the Urangan Fisheries Co op opposite you must have been in Seafood Heaven by the time you left.

We love the Hervey Bay Boat Club and so do our guests – just a short stroll across the road and the bistro is
is always a popular option for a meal.

We really hope you all get the chance to come back and visit us again – we might get an invite to share some of those prawns with you next time.

Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.

Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A great friendly stay for the whole family. Huge 2 bedroom unit overlooking the pool, big balcony and heaps of room. Pool area was great for our 8 and 10 year old. Location is great, near the marina and some good eating options without getting the car out. Regina on front desk a real character and very helpful on all local attractions. Couldn't have asked for anything more,great value i thought.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Andrew C

Thanks for posting a review.
You were such a lovely family and it was great to hear that you took advantage of all that this location has to offer.
The pool view and pool side apartments are ideal for families wanting some space and for Mum & Dad to have some privacy and the heated pool has been very popular over the past few cooler months.
We hope you get the opportunity to visit Hervey Bay again in the future – we look forward to welcoming you back to Akama.
Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards,
Matt, Pia and Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had 3 nights in one of the 6th floor penthouses. Although the property is not waterfront,the views over the marina and Fraser Island were still spectacular. The unit was huge,luxurious and very well equipped. The boat club and whale watching tour boats were just a 100 metre walk away and a delightful walking track linked the main restaurant area along the foreshore. Staff were charming and helpful and the pool and gardens were well maintained. Altogether a relaxing, comfortable,enjoyable place to stay.Only detracting feature was traffic noise outside particularly on the weekend when the local youth is out and about in their noisy cars.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi chris528934

Thanks for the excellent review.
Our Penthouse Apartments do offer fantastic views and with the large living areas opening on to the balcony it feels like you are part of the Great Sandy Straits.
The walking/cycle path is very popular with our guests – it’s an easy stroll around to the Urangan Jetty – hope you got a chance to take in the amazing sunset across the water.
We are so fortunate to have some lovely restaurants all within easy walking distance and with the Hervey Bay Boat Club opposite, our guests have a variety of dining experiences to choose from.
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.
We would love to have you back to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gin gin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at Akama Resort. We often visit Hervey Bay for a break, and have stayed at a few establishments. However we were totally blown away with the management, service and apartment style of this resort. They were clean, spacious, modern and inviting. It was a change to actually stay somewhere where the price matched the service we received. We are getting married next year and have already booked the penthouse suite and will highly recommend this resort to our out of town guests.

Myself and my partner cannot rate this resort high enough. I was greeted upon check in with a friendly smile and hello, and upon leaving I received the same.

When visiting Hervey Bay do yourself a favour and stay at this resort, you will not be disappointed!!.

Room Tip: Well if you stay on level 5 it has a beautifiul view which overlooks the boat club and hervey bay ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Lousie P

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
It was a pleasure to assist you with the arrangements for your wedding next year – we look forward to sharing this special time with you and your family.
It was nice to hear that you appreciated the balcony and the views – great place to sit back and relax in the beautiful spring weather we’ve been having.
Thank you again for the great review.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

My reaction when opening the door to our apartment was Wow!! My husband and I just loved it. I would give it a 5+. It was very spacious with new decor, luxurious. We were on the ground floor. The huge doors opened onto our deck, a few steps and we were in the pool and spa area. The location was great, quiet and a short walk to the Marina where the whale sighting boats leave, the boat club is also there for great cheap meals and the aquarium where you can feed the turtles, all worth doing. We would highly recommend the Akama and will stay there next time we are in Hervey Bay. Also the receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hi TassidorDunedin
Thank you so much for the lovely review.
Our 2 bedroom poolside apartments are so popular, especially for young families, the extra space with the courtyard combined with the direct access to the pool makes the stay so relaxing for the mums and dads. So nice to read that you took advantage of the walking paths adjacent to Akama and even did a bit of turtle feeding – the Whale Watching has been perfect this season with so many whales in the bay and with the convenience of the Marina just over the road our guests are able to take full advantage of our great location.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you have the opportunity to visit again.
Thank you again, for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards,
Matt and Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akama Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.