We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive penthouse with great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Akama Resort to your Saves list
Akama Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TOUR & SAVE $
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Hitchin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Massive penthouse with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in a top floor apartment and had great views and plenty of space. Decoration and rooms were good - all modern and clean but perhaps a little too anonymous - and despite it being quite busy we heard little of other visitors. The reception feels more like a booking office for the local tours but I guess that is why most people are there anyway and they really seem to know their stuff. The pool was great for the kids and we liked the location for the whale watch departures but its on the marina side of town and not so near the beaches. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would stay again.

Room Tip: I would stay high up in a side room for balcony privacy and to get away from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hi JW1965Hitchin,
Thank you for taking the time to review Akama. The ocean views from the Deluxe Penthouse sure speak for themselves and Akama faces east so we are one of only a couple resorts in Hervey Bay that look out over the Marina to Fraser Island. We often joke about the reception desk when guests are checking in - we decided to keep all the space for your apartment instead of the office. We also like to keep the apartments clutter free giving them a clean crisp feel.
Hervey Bay stretches for 18 km - we are at the marina precinct and the beach is situated only 300m down the road. We have been on all tours and are happy to assist guests with any enquires and bookings, we like to make sure that the guests book the right tour to suit their individual needs.
Kind regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    47
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
143
136
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Akama resort on a recent holiday. This was a spacious, stylish, modern, clean and comfortable venue. The staff were very helpful and courteous and had very good attention to detail for our stay.
We had everything booked before we arrived but the staff offered all these services.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Hi LondonWizard
Thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and to read that you appreciated our attention to detail is very encouraging as we always aim to offer our guests a true ‘home away from home’ experience.
We would love to have you visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while pursuing whales. We arrived tired and irritable from (hire car) travelling, both of which conditions disappeared when we checked in. The apartment was spacious, stylish and delightfully functionally designed. Everything was at hand, and most importantly, everything worked. Our hosts were immediately and continuously helpful and they, and big mobs of whales, made our stay in Hervey Bay delightfully memorable. I must add that the location is perfect for whale watchers because it is but a 10-minute and pleasant walk to the departure wharf.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hi GreyNomad40,

Thanks for taking the time to review Akama. Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay Our aim is to fulfil all guest expectations and leave our region happy and relaxed., so great to hear you had a memorable time. The whales are an amazing experience and we love seeing guests faces when whale watching for the first time, no one can really appreciate the whales until you’ve experienced it in Hervey Bay, when you come home smelling of Krill you know it has been a close encounter. Hope to see you back again sometime.
Kind Regards
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

First, positive things - I liked the room. Spacious with nice interior design. If that is your main priority, or your family needs lots of space, then great. But if you will spend most of your day out on trips (which start early at 7am!) and only sleep in the room, my recommendation is if you want the same location and more value for money, try Ramadan (which is located directly beside Akama Resort), or Mantra, which is actually AT the marina itself, overlooking the boats, with walk-down access to all the restaurants. (From Akama you still have to walk about 10 min to the marina.)

During the same Australian trip, I stayed at no less than 6 different properties up and down the east coast, including Sydney, the Gold Coast and Brisbane. As such, I gained a pretty good idea of the value and service that could be expected at various price levels. What I encountered at Akama, as a luxury property which charged the highest price in its area, was unexpected.

It's a nice place to stay if you can be sure you will never need any real help. If you do... I am just going to describe some of my experiences and you judge for yourself.

A good summation was this incident. After I had returned from my trip to Australia, I mysteriously received an e-mail with late check-in reception instructions - for another guest! Oh my goodness - that poor guest.

At every turn in the room, you will see signs telling you if you want anything, you need to pay money. Or if you don't do something Akama Resort requires, you could be penalised with money. Just a few examples (amongst many). If you want your room to be serviced (i.e. new sheets and towels), you will need to pay $66 for a 3-bedroom; $44 for a 2-bedroom; $22 for a 1-bedroom; $2.50 for each towel. By the way, no servicing also means no replacement of amenities.

Checkout time is the very early 10am. After that, 10 - 11 am will cost you $20; 11 - 12 noon will cost you $45; and 12 - 2pm will cost you a full half-day.

Note that reception hours are 8.30 to 5.30pm and that "any non-emergency call out will incur a charge of $66!" The exclamation mark is Akama's - the general tone of the resort is they really do not want to be disturbed by their paying guests except in an emergency or unless you are willing to pay. Is proclaiming that they are "self-contained apartments" (contradicting "resort", by the way) really justification enough?

But what disturbed me the most was the sign asking guests to please clear out ALL rubbish BEFORE checkout (again, emphasis is Akama's), because if the room is not found in an acceptable state, they could be charged an additional $50. In order to be fair to Akama, I tried my hardest to remember another place I had stayed at which asked paying guests to clean out their own rooms, and after going through my memories of all types of paid accommodations in 30 countries, I really could not remember even one. Not even a youth hostel I stayed in in India.

What troubled me was that Akama had to rely on its paying guests for something as minor as clearing the rubbish bins in their rooms, on the pain of penalty. While the rooms LOOKED clean, cleanliness is in what you CANNOT see. Regardless of what they say, they must be facing some sort of operational constraint in cleaning and servicing their rooms, which is not what one expects from a luxury property/price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hello qua9
Thank you for the positive comments in your review. We do pride ourselves on the interior design, spaciousness and high level of luxury in our apartments - as you have stated.
We don’t feel it necessary to respond to all negative comments however, we would like to stress that there are some inaccuracies in your review.
We are situated 200 metres from the marina – a 3 minute walk.
We offer a very competitive rate against all other Self Contained AAA rated 5 Star properties in Hervey Bay. We do not aim to compete with hotel or motel style accommodation.
We are available for our guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week when needed – we have provided an external phone outside reception with a direct line to the managers’ residence. The ‘call out fee’ you have referred to is noted in the compendium and as stated applies to calls made during the night for issues that are not considered emergencies.
The email with the ‘late arrival procedure’ attached was sent to you in error – this error was corrected immediately and the guest in question was not stranded as you have incorrectly and unnecessarily implied.
There are no self catering properties in Hervey Bay that offer ‘daily servicing’ at no additional charge.
We do free servicing on all stays of 7 days or more. To clarify for you as you may not be aware, ‘self catering’ properties are an alternative offered for guests wanting a holiday apartment that gives them the freedom and privacy to provide for themselves and this choice of accommodation is very popular with all visitors to this region.
We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service and we enjoy dealing directly with all our guests. We encourage you to read our other reviews where it is quite evident that contact and communication with our guests is our main priority at all times.
Lastly, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for mentioning the requirement for rubbish removal from the apartments. We do not expect our guests to clean their apartments prior to their departure but we do ask them to please remove the rubbish from the apartment (food scraps, empty bottles, dirty nappies etc.) before they vacate by using the garbage disposal shutes on all levels. We feel sure most people appreciate this request as this then reduces the risks of insect infestation and lingering odours in the apartments therefore ensuring all guests enjoy a fresh, clean, ordour free apartment upon arrival.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, and couldn't have been happier. The room, a one bedroom, was huge and exceptionally clean. The staff was great and arranged the whale watching for us before we even got there.

Defiently going to go back if we're up in that area again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi SoySoyBen
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
It was a pleasure organizing your Whale Watching trip – it’s an unbelievable experience isn’t it?
We hope you get the chance to visit us again. Call us direct and we’ll look after you.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Me and my mother spent three fantastic nights in Akama resort. I booked last minute after office hours but my call went straight through and Pia and Matt organised late pick up of keys and emailed me all the required information. The apartment was modern, incredibly spacious and beautifully decorated with lovely views over the marina out to Fraser Island. Pia and Matt were the friendliest of hosts and booked all of our excursions (Whale Watching and Fraser Island Tour, both amazing!!) through reception in 5minutes. The apartments were fantastically appointed close to the marina and a short drive to Woolworths to stock up on food in order to make use of the fantastic kitchen. All the appliances were brand new high quality with plenty of space. The two bedrooms at either end increased privacy and the bi-fold doors in the living room transformed the balcony into an extension of the apartment making for a fantastic space to chill out in. My only regret was that we didn’t stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi Lilyb88
Thankyou for the terrific review.
It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and it was great to hear that you enjoyed your tours. The Fraser Island tours are such fun – a real adventure and the whale watching in this region is second to none.
We would love to have you back again - maybe next time you could stay longer.
Kind regards
Matt & pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and 2 kids stayed in the penthouse for a week and have to say it was an amazing holiday - As per usual your holiday is made by the people that assist you and Matt and his team could not do enough for us.

Everything that was recommended to us (whales, Fraser Island) were perfect days and run very professionally.

If you plan to stay in Hervey Bay I cant speak highly enough of the resort and the team.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi Adam W
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
It was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us. It’s so refreshing to meet such a young family so eager to experience all the tour options available in this region. We know you all loved the whales and just talking to you about your trip to Fraser Island made us want to hop on a barge and head over for another visit.
Best wishes to you and your lovely wife and say Hi to the children from us. We really hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akama offers a dress circle location for anyone wanting to experience the very best of Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Akama Resort is right across the road from Hervey Bay Marina - clubs, shopping, restaurants and Whale Watching vessels.The apartments are luxuriously spacious with high ceilings and a flow through design to very generous balconies - push back the concertina doors and open your apartment up to the views and tropical breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akama Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.