We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth considering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aalbany Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aalbany Motel to your Saves list
Aalbany Motel
38 Cooma Road, Narrabri, New South Wales 2390, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Narrabri
Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Well worth considering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was a very good motel, with well equipped and very comfortable rooms. It appeared that all rooms had recently been refurbished to a high level and provided excellent modernised accommodation. The whole motel was very clean and tidy and was well managed. The owners were friendly and helpful. Just a tip the web site says it’s a 10 minute walk from pubs etc but is more like 30.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Friendly owner. The rooms were spotless and modern as was the bathroom.

Just little things....milk provided....proper stuff not UHT. sweets on each towel. cold water jug and glasses in fridge.

the bed was so comfortable with clean white sheets.

Great value...highly recommend as a stay over when travelling as its on the Newell. highway south End of town.

only fault...mosquitos but bug spray was provided.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My daughter and I stopped here overnight on our way from Cairns to Sydney. When we realised how late we were going to be, the owners were all to happy to wait up for us to welcome us in! Not like some other places I have visited over the years. There was only a small number of rooms at the back of the resident owners house, but the layout and the rooms were very good, and the owners were so helpful, it was wonderful! There was a small pool and a neat bbq area that obviously wasn't used much, but it was very clean large enough for a couple of families to make use of the facilities at the same time. Just on the southern side of the town and on the highway, but because of the layout, you hear absolutely nothing! Would highly reccomend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We recently stayed in this property for one night. We have travelled between Queensland and Victoria dozens of times and have stayed in this property on and off since it was built in the late 90's. This property always provides very clean and comfortable rooms. The bed was very nice which makes a change from the rock hard slabs of concrete you get in some motels these days......I had a great nights sleep. The room was immaculately clean and there was plenty of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits provided. The motel is in a great location and we didn't notice any road noise from the highway. The host was very friendly and they even have a pool. My only complaint is it took a while to regulate the temperature in the shower and the water pressure was a bit low but that was only a very minor niggle. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone travelling through Narrabri.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Not a bad little motel if you're on the road.

Pretty basic but no complaints, bed was comfortable and the shower was great after a long exhausting drive, with good water pressure and heat.

Rooms are a comfortable size and mine had a double and a single bed.

There was a strange 'dumb waiter' looking hole in the wall that I never really figured out the purpose of, but I assume they use it to serve breakfast.

I stay in a lot of these types of motels for work and this one didn't leave a huge impression on me, which probably means it was good.

As the other reviewer mentioned, town is about 3 minute drive and a bit far to walk for a meal. Narrabri is becoming a boutique town slowly, so some nice cafes and bookstores are around but night time meal options are still very limited.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

A basic motel good for an overnight stop. No cafe or restaurant and none nearby so need to drive about a mile into town where evening eating out is basic.

Room Tip: All rooms look identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aalbany Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalbany Motel

Address: 38 Cooma Road, Narrabri, New South Wales 2390, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Narrabri
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Narrabri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aalbany Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalbany Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.